Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Heritage Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 716 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 31, 2013

This school is horrible. The staff is very cold and they let the kids run around the school at all times of day. I even had a situation where my child was walking to the daycare that was close by without my notice. VERY BAD SCHOOL DO NOT ENROLL YOUR CHILD HERE>>>>> YOU WILL REGRET IT, BIG TIME!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

My daughter started this school in February 2013. The facility is nice and the staff is ok. It needs a little fine tuning and some of the teachers need to understand they are there for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

My daughter's teachers have devoted a lot of time to her over the years. She is an extremely smart little girl and they took notice of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

I have 2 children at this school, one of which has been here for two years. All I have to say is this school needs a whole new staff from administration down to the teachers. They need to start all over again with people who have a passion for teaching and a passion for safety and discipline. There are too many unruly children here and not enough adults who care about keeping them in check. I will be sending my children to a new school for the 2010-2011 school year. Academically, I think this school is behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

This school needs new management and needs a system in place for the students that need extra help(disruptive students)What about the students that are really there to learn?Very happy with the option to transfer out this year.NEW MANAGEMENT and MORE TEACHER THAT LOVE TO TEACH.I am grateful for all the good teachers out there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

I agree with the teacher who wrote the previous review. I am a substitute teacher who took on a mutiple day assignment at Heritage Elementary School and every thing she said I experienced, including the administrations blatant lack of support or respect.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 28, 2008

This school is filled with violent and disruptive students that are given little to no consequences for their actions. The administration does not support teachers who have disruptive students in their classroom. The teachers are blamed for the students' actions. They are told they have no classroom management skills. Some of the behaviors students display are assualting teachers, destroying school property, fighting, throwing chairs and books, and emotional meltdowns. If you want your child to learn in a safe environment, this is not the place.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 23, 2008

This is great! The class sizes are small. The teacher is very involoved with the students. They send home wekkly progess reports so I always know how my daughter is doing in school. I even have her teachers cell phone number! Mrs. Wilcox is an excellent teacher! I'm going to miss this school. We're moving to Buford so my daughter will start 1st grade at Fort Daniel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

This school could be a great place to learn if the administration would be more visible. Students are not held accountable for their actions. There is too much sugar coating going on with students as far as the administrative team is concerned. This is so sad! The quality of academic programs at this school is almost hhopless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2007

My children have attended Heritage Elementary since Pre-K. They are happy with the activities, but my husband and I are not with several aspects of the school. There is an excellent step team and drama club, which have helped our children since their participation. The school has only one academic activity (Technology Club)that is limited due to staff. There is very little parent involvement in the PTA, yet very active when involving extracurricular activities. My husband and I do not feel many (not all)teachers show a passion for teaching or the school. Mrs. Sharron McIntyre has been one of our children's teachers and she surpassed all of our expectations of an excellent teacher. The principal is accessible, however, needs to work more towards raising the caliber of the school (i.e., discipline, academics, programming, parental involvement, and retention of good teachers).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2007

My son has been at the school since pre-k. We enjoy the schools activites. (Plays, Step-Team). If it was not for the step team we would leave the school. It is well organized. The principal could be more supportive. We are not returning after this year. And the only thing we will miss is the STEP TEAM and the coach.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

154 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

154 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

154 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

114 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

114 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

114 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
43%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
44%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
40%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

100 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
59%

2009

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 96% 37%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
White 0% 44%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Cheree Turner
Fax number
  • (404) 669-8148

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2600 Jolly Rd
Atlanta, GA 30349
Phone: (404) 669-8144

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Little Schola Academy
College Park, GA



Bethune Elementary School
College Park, GA



Liveoak Christian Academy
College Park, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT