Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Neighborhood Charter School

Charter | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

105 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2009

NCS promotes strong community and instills a sense of inclusion, confidence and peace within the children...the elements necessary for a sustainable, peaceful society. It is unlike any school I've ever been apart of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

NCS is great because the staff and parents create a loving environment to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I love this community school that takes a whole child and hands on learning approach
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Because NCS is a wonderful, nurturing caring environment in which my child can learn. The teachers and staff are amazing. The school has helped our neighborhood so much. We are extremely lucky to have NCS in Grant Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

It's the Best! We have a PTCA meeting every morning. Kids perform, teachers love it, kids love it, parents love it...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The constuctivist curriculum, caring teachers who consistently go the extra mile for their students' success, and an involved parent network.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

NCS is an amazing place - the teachers and staff are wonderful! My child loves going to school everyday and our family loves being a part of a community school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I love NCS because they have a great team of staff that absolutely love working with children. Awesome school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I couldn't have wished for a better community for my children than NCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2009

I love this school! More importantly my son loves this school. The quality of the teaching staff and the care that they give is off any chart. This is a diverse school that like it's diversity, it allows children to be individuals and encourages acceptance. The only negative if this is one is that because it is a charter school it does not get the same funding as a regular public school, so fundraising is very important. Through parent involvement and a great staff ,funding is never a problem with the care and quality given to our children. This is a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

Great teachers, great classroom ratios, beautifully integrated into the community with field trips/science trips to the Park and Zoo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2009

Our son has been in the school for years and we also have a younger child enrolled. Overall the school is fabulous at teaching language arts and teaching the kids to love learning. The math program is, at best, adequate. If you want your child to excel in math you'll have to work with them extensively at home. There are internal politics that are unpleasant and occasionally exclusionary but mostly avoidable. The teaching staff can't be beat. It's worth the experience to see your children LOVE school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2009

We've been very pleased with the community of education at the Neighborhood Charter School. Parent involvement is VERY high, children are honored - each for their unique contributions to this amazing learning environment. And our family - two moms and two children have always been treated with genuine love and respect!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

Amazing school! Teachers care about the students and the lessons are built upon the needs and interest of the students. I would love to teach there!


Posted March 15, 2009

Couldn't be happier!! The sense of community, the parent involvement, the staff...all incredible!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2009

As a parent of a third grade child at NCS, I couldn't disagree with the preceding poster more. Day to day and administrative decisions are made by the principal, staff, and teachers who are extremely knowlegeable of constructivism as well as education in general. There is a board of directors comprised of teachers, parents, and community members as described in the charter approved years ago. They are responsible for the direction and mission of the school (i.e., budget, strategic planning, fund development, etc.). I also completely disagree with the poster's comments about the teachers treating parents as outsiders. Our experience has been the opposite and we have always felt welcome in the classroom and have been treated as a partner in our child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2008

The Neighborhood Charter School of 688 Grant Street, SE Atlanta, GA is as a whole a very good school, but the weakness of this school is that it is public school acting like a private school. The reason why I say this is that the school is controlled too much by internal politics from parent groups that base their decisions for the school and its students on their own collective philosophy and friends which boarder on cronyism. I agree that parents should be involved in the decisions of a school and be involved in general, but the amount of decision making of parents is beyond that of the charter and comprises the overall mandate of a public school. The other concern is that teachers treat parents as outsiders and don t treat them as a part of the overall teaching philosophy of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

Excellent program. My grandson loves this school. Maximum parent participation. Superior teachers and staff.


Posted September 18, 2008

I am in love with NCS, the satff and the students. My daughter is in Kindergarten. I love the constructivist learning approach. The parent involvement is what we were looking for, the attention to education is similiar to my 3rd grade daughter who attends a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2007

My daughter attends NCS and we love it. After a disappointing kindergarten through 2nd grade at another public school here in Atlanta, NCS is a breath of fresh air. The teachers are loving and genuine, the parents are highly involved and the administration stays on top of all the other important things. One of the most important elements of the school though is that the curriculum teaches our children how to think! I can see my daughter using newly aquired skills to navigate the world around her in imaginative and innovative ways. She's no longer getting just enough to do well on standardized tests. This school is properly preparing her to be the global citizen that she needs to be to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

59 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

59 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

59 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

60 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

60 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

60 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 44%
Black 16% 37%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 53%N/A51%
Female 47%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

688 Grant St SE
Atlanta, GA 30315
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 624-6226

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Nur Academy
Atlanta, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT