Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cliff Valley School

Private | PK-8 | 290 students

Our school is best known for our staffing model and student teacher ratio.
 
 

 
 

Living in Atlanta

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $186,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 15, 2014

Cliff Valley School is one of the best schools around. They care about every student there, and treat them all differently because they're different. The teachers are phenomenal, and I couldn't imagine myself anywhere else. The student in each classroom are like a family. they help each other when they're down, and the is definitely no bullying or cliques.


Posted July 10, 2012

CV has fantastic teachers and small class sizes. In addition to academics, the arts and music programs are great. I would just warn potential families of the pressure to contribute funds above and beyond the tuition. This year (2011-2012) the school experienced growing pains due to the addition of new facilities, going from a Pre-K - 5 to a Pre-K -8 school. In addition to the regular tuition, families were aggressively pursued and encouraged to contribute several thousands of dollars above and beyond for the "More Cliff Valley" campaign. Fund raising is indeed a part of independent school culture, but there is a growing concern among Cliff Valley parents that the school is getting a little too aggressive and making a very obvious effort at bringing in higher income families for the sole purpose of raising funds to expand, rather than concentrating on keeping good families and good students. Again, we get that a private school needs wealthy benefactors, but you certainly get snubbed from the upper admins of the school if you cannot contribute what is expected. We are staying for the 12-13 school year, but we might be looking at other options for our daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

This is our first year at Cliff Valley and we couldn't be more pleased. While our daughter very much enjoyed her previous school and she had some great teachers, we felt that her education was lacking in terms of the fundamentals as well as opportunities for creative thinking. She is getting all of that and more at Cliff Valley. Most importantly, she is being challenged and broadening her horizons. Switching schools is not easy but the transition to Cliff Valley has not only been a smooth one, but our daughter feels accepted and is happy and proud to call Cliff Valley her school. It's as if she's been here since Kindergartent. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2011

Cliff Valley School: A caring community of professionals and parents invested in each child's intellectual, artistic, and emotional growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2010

I have a child in elementary school and one about to start preschool. Our goal for them is to instill in them a love for learning in a caring yet academically challenging environment. Cliff Valley meets those expectations. There's low teacher turnover and you can tell the teachers love what they do. All the kids receive individualized attention and are never held back. The head of school and administrative staff are excellent. Children are respected and are taught to be respectful, resourceful and responsible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Cliff Valley had been the perfect environment for our son. The small class sizes and teacher to student ratio has greatly contributed to his growth and development. My wife and I could not be more pleased with the curriculum and sense of community provided by Cliff Valley. The Spanish, music and art programs and the outdoor classroom are excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

We started our shy just-turned-two-year old at Cliff Valley 9 months ago. This was her first experience being away from family and her adjustment, at first, was cautious. The teachers were warm, engaging, and remarkably adapt at figuring her out. They encouraged us to stay with her until just the perfect point, than told us she was ready. And-- she was! She adores school! Astonishingly, the teachers did this for all of the kids, not just ours. The rest of the year has mirrored the start with each child benefitting from a joyful, warm, challenging, personalized learning environment. What a perfect start to a lifetime of loving to learn! We couldn't be more pleased as this was exactly what we had hoped for in a preschool experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

Our child went to Cliff Valley School from 1st grade to 5th.We are so pleased with the way they look at the whole child's strength's and weakness and help them work through that awkwardness.It is recognized by the school children are just little humans that need to be nurtured into who they will become as adults not just little learning robots,but kid's that are sometimes confused,shy,or angry at times.I must say Cliff Valley kids grow and thrive with excellent teachers and staff that absolutely have a true love of teaching,and make our children love learning.Our child graduates from fifth grade this year very well adjusted and confident.We will surely miss Cliff Valley School and would recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

This is a school at which teachers and staff are likely to know not only your child's name, but yours as well. A gem of a school, which really focuses on respect, responsibility and resourcefulness in kids. The teachers are excellent on the whole and are trained to respond to kids with a variety of learning styles. The kids are encouraged to express themselves and can impressively (and fearlessly) stand up in a room full of adults and talk about an interest or activity. It's just a wonderful, inclusive community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

My children have been part of the Cliff Valley community for over 5 years, both of them in preschool. In the fantastic preschool, the children are really learning, not sitting in daycare. Their interests direct the content of the class, but the teachers direct the curriculum. This year, for example, my 4-year old's class has explored volcanos, maps, and measurements in great depth . The staff and teachers at Cliff Valley are outstanding and take the time to get to know every child as an individual. They 'get' the kids and enjoy their quirks and individuality (as opposed to tolerating or discouraging it). Each child is challenged according to his or her strengths and needs. The beloved Head of School is outstanding as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Read the many reviews and you'll get feel for the kind of place Cliff Valley is. What you also should know is what Cliff Valley prepares your kids for; namely, to walk into any one of the top independent schools in Atlanta and to thrive. Paideia, Galloway, Atlanta Girls, International School, etc. all have CVS graduates in their middle and high schools currently and all offer spots to CVS kids every year. The kids walk into their new schools' accelerated math programs, orchestras and bands - you name it, they are ready.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

My children have been at Cliff Valley for 5 years, in both preschool and elementary grades. Their experiences have been fantastic. They are different kids, but each one has been able to find what they need at Cliff Valley. Their teachers truly know them, academically, and personally. Due to small student/teacher ratios, instruction is individualized. Thus my kids are doing what they are ready for, regardless of classmates. In preschool they were loved, nurtured and very well prepared for Kindergarten. In elementary they feel safe, are academically challenged, are learning fascinating things, and are comfortable in their own skin. Parents are extremely involved and teachers encourage parent participation. The school community is like a family; very warm and welcoming. We have friends at other private/public schools and know that we are best served here. If you want your children in a place where everybody knows their name, Cliff Valley is it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2010

My children s academic experience has been outstanding from the preschool age through the elementary grades. The Science program incorporates hands on learning and exploration with core concepts. For example the children worked together across the school to create a nature trail, identifying the types of habitats and plants, learning how to taking care of the existing natural environment. The schools rich music program teaches rhythm, reading music, dance, and performing through singing and percussion instruments while exploring different music cultures and styles. I have the regular opportunity to compare the academic program to other top Atlanta private school curriculum's and Cliff Valley is right on target! The school size and passion of the teachers, administration and families inpires kids to want to learn more. The fifth grade is preparing to graduate 20 students, we are thrilled that the school is expand to include middle school starting with our 4th grade class!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

My children have been at Cliff Valley School since preschool. The preschool program was exactly what we were looking for and the elementary program has exceeded our highest expectations. I have friends with children at other Atlanta private schools, the academics are comparable with the best of them. Science is a particular strength at Cliff Valley, the fourth grade recently dissected frogs and the environmental focus of the Outdoor Classroom program is exceptional. The enrichments, in general, are terrific, yet the music program stands out in a class by itself. Elementary age children are not only taught recorder, but guitar and percussion as well. They write music and gain experience in choreography as well as performance . The school is small, allowing the teachers and administration the opportunity to really know each and every student. An amazing school with amazing teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

This school is not strong on academics. Any parent who says the school is, has not attended any of the other private schools or public schools in Atlanta and compared curriculum and the material that is covered in a school year. Cliff Valley doesn't have a strong science curriculmn at all. My child attended Cliff Valley for a few years and was bored. They have no resources (small music, foreign language and arts program). There is only one class for each grade so your child will be with the same 23 kids for the next six years. The upper grades (3-5) tend to thin out. One year's fifth grade graduating class had 8 students. The Head of School and faculty are amazing, but for the cost of tuition there are other schools that just as good with more resources.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2009

My Daughter has been at the school for two years and is thriving. We just started 4th grade and we are already impressed. Wonderful school with extremely talented teachers and faculty, Michael Edwards, the Headmaster is an amazing role model for the children. Parents are active and involved. Chess Club is very successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2009

My child is now in 4th grade at Cliff Valley and loves everything about it. He comes home excited every day about what he has learned!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2009

This school is very focussed on social skills and less on individual (academic) excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

My daughter started Cliff Valley this school year for kindergarten, and absolutely loves it. We are completely thrilled with the expert staff, attentive and knowledgeable teachers, and wonderful activities available to each child. Spanish, art, music, PE, Outdoor Classroom + Library are all part of the school day, plus numerous after school clubs. There are lots of involved parents, and parents are always welcome here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Black 2% 37%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Michael Edwards
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Independent
Fax number
  • (678) 302-1300

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Bus is used for field trips.
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Chess club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Robotics club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

February 01, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $16000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Galloway
Atlanta Girls' School
Paideia
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2426 Clairmont Rd.
Atlanta, GA 30329
Website: Click here
Phone: (678) 302-1302

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT