Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sandy Springs Charter Middle School

Charter | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 24, 2010

Very disaapointed with the lack of communication between teacher and parent. My child received a 65 in Math and I was told she missed six homework assignments and I was never notified by any means. I come from NY; Long Island to be exact and this kind of behavior is not acceptable there. I would of been notified if my child was on going to fail a class. Her teacher was very nonchalant when I spoke with her about my child. Overall poor school. Don't send your child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2009

I am a student at the new Sandy Springs Charter Middle School and this is my first year here starting in 7th grade. The students especially TAG students are very welcoming on the first day I had so many friends. I also love the fine arts department, the TAG teachers, and the language department. This school is really good in academics and socially. It is the best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2009

My child has excelled academically and socially at SSMS. The charter will help to improve the school. The mandatory uniform requirement has helped with discipline. I feel that my child is ready for an academically challenging high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2009

my child moved to that school because of the disrict and his grade average went from a C to an A.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2009

My child went to sandy spring middle, but had t leave because of bulling issues. what's amazing is that the school never notify the parents. This school isn't bad for academic but the behavior of some students & teachers do give the school a bad rep. Alot of parents don't go to conferences , or hold their child accountable for their action. I don't think becoming a charter is going to change the behavior of some of these students but holding these parents accountable might do the trick. I just felt as a parent this school wasn't safe for my child due to bullying. I have met great teachers who care about the kids , but they too feel putting a charter name on the building isn't going to change anything
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

I feel that this school isn't challenging for my daughter. i don't see any critical thinking when it comes to the homeworks i don't feel that this school is preparring these kids for a challenging high school. the teachers are very young , an i feel that they not upholding the amount of discipline that is required to push these kids to the next level
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

I agree that the school is very diverse and that is a great thing. If your child can handle the liberty that is allowed in the school verses structure then yes this is an excellent place for your child. But if your child buckles to peer pressure or is experiencing some level of difficulty due to lack of structure then I would not recommend that your child attends this school. The support system is not united, you have faculty such as social workers, teachers and counselors who desire to assist with achievement and then there's a lot of the administrative faculty that just come to work just to take up space and say that they attended work that day. They will annoy you if they need to contact you regarding issues that are only important to them. But you have a concern you may ignored or even belittled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

I am very dissappointed with this school. SSMS claims to provide the guidance that your child needs, but this school is nothing more than a daycare for middle schoolers. Sending my child here was a huge mistake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2008

i like this school. some people are exaggerating on the fighting situation. Somebody mentioned that there are fight at this school everyday and thats not true. We have fights every once in a while, but not everyday. And yes some of the teachers are kind of bad. but i don't think this school is bad at all
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2008

i dont like this school at all. i feel unsafe there because of all the fights and other dangerous acts. even with the TAG program, its gard to learn. i do not like the teachers and very few seem to care about the students. the school has made a very bad impression on me. i am most likely going to a private high school because of the limited education and bad environment this school has provided me. the only good thing about this school is the orchstra and chorus teachers. plus, i have made a few good friends.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2008

i love this school its the best to learn and make friends
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2008

This is certainly a school of excellence. My granddaughter has been on the honor roll for 7&8 grade. I love the principal and all of her teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

My kids have had a great experience at SSMS! They have made some great friends and have been challenged and inspired by their teachers. The school has a very diverse student body which makes it challenging for the teachers and administration, but I have been encouraged that the principal is very accessible and responsive to parent concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

I have been very disappointed in SSMS. Upon first meeting the principal, she was very antagonistic and defensive. The shool does not seem very safe for kids as there are fights almost daily. The teachers are wonderful for those that come to learn but are otherwise not to be bothered with motivating those that have other agendas. Unfortunately, this appears to be a great number of the kids. The horror of it all is that in the end, the kids lose. I think this will get worse before it gets better. I'm just glad we won't be around this sinking ship. Something needs to be done immediately! This was the biggest mistake I've made sending my child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

We are very happy with overall cirriculum for my son, he is in advanced math and will have high school credit going into 9th grade. Teachers have been great at responding to e-mails.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

This school has a lot to be desired. The children are never challenged, the principal is very defensive and always on guard. There are more fights on a daily basis than there needs to be. Those in charge need to find a different approach to get this school in order. My child will not attend this school next year and I am very sorry I allowed her to go this far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2007

Teachers here are unmotivated which results in students being unmotivated to learn and excel. Homework seems to be too much of a burden for the teachers to assign, therefore kids aren't learning. They're just showing up for school and being baby-sat. The student body is quite clique-ish, and borders on self-segregation. The faculty and staff are, at best, apathetic to this. All in all, a bad situation which will only get worse. Our kids got all A's and B's; but a motivated 5th grader could have gotten the same grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

School discipline is out of control, bullies, violence. Terrible atmosphere for education, biggest mistake we ever made letting our child go here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

I've been very pleased with Sandy Springs Middle School. However, I wish there were more extra-curricular activities available. Also, more enforcement of a dress code.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2006

I love this school, the teachers are caring, and very informative, the sports program there is great
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

304 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
58%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

279 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

254 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 53% 37%
Hispanic 20% 12%
White 20% 44%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 53%N/A51%
Female 47%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Emily Massey
Fax number
  • (404) 763-5529

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8750 Pride Place
Atlanta, GA 30350
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 552-4970

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Atlanta Country Day School
Sandy Springs, GA


The Cottage School
Roswell, GA


Davis Academy
Atlanta, GA


The Swift School
Roswell, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT