Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sue Reynolds Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 788 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2011

My son and I LOVE this school. We are military and are moving soon that makes us very sad. Best school we have ever been to. The Principal, Teacher and staff are amazing, warm and kind. They truely do what ever it takes to help your child reach thier goals and potential. Class rooms are small, they have PE and recess everyday and parties and field trips. They identified a learning disablity with my son and worked with me, and in a timely manner to get the extra help and attention he needed. He has improvered tremendously and brings home only A's and B's every report card and no longer complains about going to school. Thank you from the bottom of my heart SRE!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

I have nothing but excellent memories of working with this school. The principal and Nancy majors were wonderful. My previous experience of schools in Georgia was Bequi Coar's let me slam my opinion down your throat. this school works with parents and I never saw so many parents and students engaged. My child is now in high school and on the Honor Roll and I know it is because of the greqat foundation built here!!!! And Nancy Majors-every Christmas I think of you with that ornament you made for my son!!! Thanks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2010

As a military family, we have our own set of challenges. My daughter received all the help and support she needed especially given the fact that she had an IEP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2010

My son is currently in the ABA program. I absolutely love this school. All the teachers are focused and determined to accomplish the goals we all have setforth for my Autistic child. He has improved since he's been attending this school and I am so grateful. Thus far I have no complaints. My son will be attending this school until the 5th grade. My Fiancee' and I are considered enrolling his son in this school as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2010

I went to Sue Reynolds for 5 years and I loved it most of the time. The teachers are encouraging and try their best to keep the peace. It wasn't the greatest school I could have gone to, but I will say it's my favorite school of all!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2007

My daughter has attended Sue Reynold's for almost 2 years. In the time, I have had an opportunity to sit in on classes and attend PTA meetings. The school faculty and administrators are focused on helping your child do their best. And they strongly encourage parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2006

I have 2 children at this school and have dealt with 5 very different teachers. Three of them were 'Excellent', one was 'Very Good', and one had an 'I don't care/mean' attitude but was 'Ok' as a teacher. The physical environment of the school is very neat, clean, and well kept. The school overall has to rated as 'well above average to excellent' as compared to all elementary schools in the CSRA. I'm sure they have a few 'bad apple' teachers like all schools do. The difference is that it has lots of working parents that step up to the plate to help correct these issues instead of just placing blame. Kids respond well to involved parents !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2006

I do not have anything good to say about this school.My son is on his 2nd year here and in kindergarden he had a very unhappy teacher who never smiled.When you spoke to her you could tell she didn't care about her job.My son was very unhappy.The principal was no help telling us that his teacher was over worked because she had so many kids.The only good thing is the new principal.She seems like she does like and care about the kids.My sons 1st grade teacher has him scared of her because shes always yelling at them.Now he hates school and thats not like him.He begs us to let him go to a nice school where adults like kids.Also the office administration are lazy and don't want to be bothered.I feel like I let my son down so please talk to other parents before sending them there.I wish I had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

My daughter has been at this school for 3 years now. We love the principal (2002-2005), the teachers and the environment. I would say Sue Reynolds is the best elementary school in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2005

This is my children's first year at Sue Reynolds. I have a kindergartner, 2nd grader and 4th grader. My children learned so much here. Just my son was kind of unlucky and got a mean teacher. Other than that, the children love the school and advanced so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2003

This is my sons first year at Sue Reynolds and it has been great! All the staff are great and the school is beautiful. They work very hard to teach your children and that is what it is all about. I have meet the assistant principal and he is great always with a smile on his face and a have a great day. I could not have found a better school for my son to attend. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

107 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

107 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

107 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

124 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

124 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

123 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

127 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
52%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 64% 37%
White 20% 44%
Hispanic 9% 12%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Melissa Shepard
Fax number
  • (706) 855-2545

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3840 Wrightsboro Rd
Augusta, GA 30909
Website: Click here
Phone: (706) 855-2540

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Augusta SDA School
Augusta, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT