Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carrollton Elementary School

Public | PK-3 | 1622 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 10, 2014

We have two children at CES. We are moving to a better school district at the end of the school year. There are great teachers and not so great teachers. I think that is the case everywhere. I teach my children that in life we will have to deal with many different personalities and as long as a teacher isn't singling them out or bullying them they must adapt. It has been my experience that there is very little parental involvement and this puts a burden on the school academically speaking. I don't feel that my children will be prepared for college if we stay in this school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2013

My son is in the second grade and was so proud that he taught himself how to write in cursive. Well he wrote his name in cursive on a drawing he did and put it in his homework folder to show his teacher the next morning. When she got his homework folder she looked at him and said "I know you can draw" and threw the paper in the trash right in front of him. BROKE HIS HEART!! What does the administration do about this and many other forms of bullying by my son's teacher? Side with the teacher and threaten to kick my son out of the school. This school is supposed to be one of the best schools and I actually PAID TUITION! But now after having my son degraded and no one doing anything about it I am moving him to Central!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2008

My son attened last year and will attend again this year. He loves school, and the teachers are so kind and caring. One of the things that I love is that there are no temporary trailers ever behind any of the city schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

My son is in kinderarden here. I love this system and so does he. He has mrs. Bennett and she is what a teacher should be and dreams of becoming. I only wish i could donate the $7500.00 I paid to oak mtn. Acad. To this school. This school truly is an example to all. Job well done!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2008

My child attends Kindergarten at Carrollton Elementary School, and we love it. I am welcome to attend class at any time, even encouraged, and I have done so often. My child's class of 20 students has a teacher and a parapro in the room at all times, and they are energetic and caring instructors. My child has had some difficutly, and his teacher has been very open and communicated with me during these times giving me the opportunity to work with him in the problem arease more closely at home. Going into Kindergarten my child only knew the alphabet , but now reads. My expectations have been exceeded with this school, its teachers and its adminstrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2008

My kids both attended Carollton Elementary but I moved them to a County school because the teacher my Kindergartner had was clueless and the administration did nothing to address my concerns. They should also offer foreign languages here too becuase a large percentage of the student body does not speak fluent English as their first language .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2005

Carrollton Elementary is an excellent school. The principal is hands on and very approachable. The teachers are dedicated and personable. This school provides an education, yet takes a personal approach to education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2005

Carrollton City Schools offer such a wide range of activities from violin, art, musical productions, and sports. The school system is run by administrators who put the students first. The teachers are outstanding, and the environment is open and friendly. It is a beautiful campus, and convenient having all 4 schools located side by side. I am priviledged to have my children attend Carrollton City Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2004

It is the best school ever. They care about kids and how they are doing in school. It is the best school my kids have ever went to.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

386 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

386 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

386 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

342 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

342 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

342 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

343 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

342 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

355 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

355 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 44%
Black 31% 37%
Hispanic 20% 12%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Anna Clifton
Fax number
  • (770) 214-2079

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 Ben Scott Blvd
Carrollton, GA 30117
Phone: (770) 832-2120

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Oak Mountain Academy
Carrollton, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT