Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westside Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 622 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 30, 2013

The teacher are great. The secretaries are impolite and very unpleasant The new principal, Mr. Hammentt, well I spoke to him about the office staff and he was not helpful at all .The Secretaries is rude to the student also. My kids say they do not like going to office for anything because of the Anger secretaries.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2010

This school is the best the teachers re great nad the staff are wonderfull this is the best school yet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

I went to Westside as a child and so do my three girls.I live the new principal Mr.McElwee.I believe he is very friendly and has put forth some good ideas. My children also love it.The only problem I have there is with the some of the office staff.The one lady who i usually the one a parent has to talk to is very rude and acts as if she owns the place and the children.When I went there Molly was the main lady in the office and she was the sweetest,kindest,helpful lady to ever grace those halls.I wish someome could have a talk with the lady(who seems to be) in charge of office now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2006

Westside is a wonderful learning atmosphere with only the best for teachers. However, this school is ran very poorly. Beth Hitchcock needs to be a real principal. When I was in school, my principal was a friend. At this school, the students, if they even know who she is (she never leaves her office) are scared of her. And her poor teachers live in misery. That is obvious from an outsiders point of view. I have seen this principal SCREAM at a teacher - in her face - in front of both students and parents. This is uncalled for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

I have 2 children that attend westside, and for the most part they both love it. From what I have seen I am very pleased with the teachers. They go the extra mile. As for the office staff that leaves a lot to be desired. The secretaries are rude and very unhelpful, as for the new principal, Mrs. Hitchcock well lets just face facts, she is running a school not a boot camp. She is rude not only to the parents but also to the students. I can only imagine the huge responsibility that it must be to run an elementary school, but I also remember when i was in elementary school and how much of an influence my principal was.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

I think westside is a good school. I went there when I was younger and me kids go there also.I think the teachers are wonderful at their job. If I could change their pay scale, I would because they deserve much more then what they are getting. Dawn Youngblood
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2005

Personnally I think that westside school is the greatest. i went there as a student and my son also went there in the past. They seem to care about the students more,listen to what they have to say with real interest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2004

Westside has been ruff for my child this year. The teachers seem like they don't know what their doing. They haven't been enough parent, children involvement. Like on the holidays. The school seems that all their worried about is weather the child is there are not. Not if there is something really wrong with them. They just want to know when will they be back. The office staff is very rude to you when you call or go in there. The principle and the vice principle never has time to speak with you. The lunch food is not what I call healthy eating. You need to feed them something they will eat. And when the child don't feel well they don't call you and let you know they wait until they get ready, because they don't want to miss any money if your child is not there at school. Especially since they get paid everytime our children are at school. They need to find at what is more important. And start treating everyone better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2003

My children love westside and I can not thank the faculty and staff enough for the wonderful things they have done for my children & the time & effort they have put forth to make sure they receive the best instruction & know all that is required that year. I attended Westiside when I was a child under Mr. Starnes & loved it. It is now under Mr. Thaxton, which we also appreciate very much. He is great...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

WestSide Elementary has the best group of teachers at any school I have seen, The school has had the most and best parent involvement in years that I've seen. They should have more extracurricular activites that strengthen the mind as well as the body. The overall quality of the shcool is great and I only hope it contiues to get better.....
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

158 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

158 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

158 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

137 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

137 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

137 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

88 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 44%
Hispanic 22% 12%
Black 20% 37%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Greg McElwee
Fax number
  • (770) 748-5859

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

51 Frank Lott Dr
Cedartown, GA 30125
Phone: (770) 748-0831

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Harpst Academy
Cedartown, GA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT