Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Centerville Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 20, 2016
- a community member
Dr. Seals you are a blessing in every form. You care about your students as if they are your own. You educate in ways every child can relate to.The way you make sure your students know right from wrong and you hold them to higher standards. i am thankful that you are my sons teacher every day. He struggles with being picked on and you have gone above and beyond to care and help him feel comfortable. THANK YOU for your hard work!!

Centerville Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted February 20, 2016
- a community member
I find that most do not care, except for my child's teacher this year who is fantastic!


Centerville Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted February 20, 2016
- a community member
my son spends about 1 - 2 hours a day on homework leaves him little time for exercise outside with friends

Centerville Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted February 20, 2016
- a community member
not at all, students that excel and parents that do not get overly involved fair well other than that students are not pushed to achieve more.

Centerville Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted February 20, 2016
- a community member
again children will be children however in this school often a blind eye is turned to the children that consistently disrespect others.


Centerville Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 20, 2016
- a community member
not at all, my child's teacher this year and the school nurse are the only two people that have ever truly showed concern or compassion o any issue's

Centerville Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 20, 2016
- a community member
The school is discriminatory. They lack any realistic values on dealing with issues. It is as if they sweep bullying issues under the carpet and do not address the bully. They focus on making the child that is bullied to change. They gave my child a paper with a picture of a fish on it with writing on the inside. The writing was something like (them refers to the bully) agree with them laugh with them do nothing walk away and so on... it does nothing to address the issue other than teach the children that they have something wrong with them and that the bully is correct. I have addressed my concerns with this method and I am quickly shut down every time. It is appalling!

Centerville Elementary School 1

Posted February 20, 2016
- a community member
my child has attended this school for 4 years now. Bullying has always been a problem and the school does little to nothing to control it. Often they focus on changing the child that is picked on and rarely address the bully or the parents of the bully. If I was able to I would pull my child but I can not travel to other schools. His teacher this year is awesome however the teachers in past years were nightmares. they care little to nothing of your child's well being. when you have meetings about bullying issues in a sense they bully you, they tell you it will be you an A.P. and the teacher and when you show up their is five people in the meeting and they all try to convince you that they are handling it accordingly. I moved to Gwinnett because this school had high ratings and Dekalb schools had become over crowded and trashy, I had high hopes that were quickly crushed. They need a new principle and Assistant Principles and certainly a new way of dealing with bullying. Horrible I would never recommend this school I know several people that have pulled student and with good reason. Lets not forget academics my child never learned cursive writing in fourth grade therefore scored horribly on one of the state required tests. Has had to have a tutor for the last two years ( my son is smart beyond his years he scored above average on all state tests in prior years and has several honor role awards from previous schools) they do not do a good job at making sure the children learn what they need too. Yes I know teachers have it hard with all the standardized testing lesson plans but his teacher this year actually cares and is teaching the previous years this has not been the case. It is time to re vamp the school. I purchased my home 4 years ago to make my sons education a priority and now I find myself looking into selling again.


Centerville Elementary School 5

Posted January 06, 2016
- a community member
Teachers and administrators are amazing and very understanding when dealing with children who are a little different! My son's teacher compliments him every time I talk to her and had nothing negative to say about him even though I know he won't work independently. She knows i worry about that, so instead of stressing me out by bringing it up when we talk, she simply informs me of how much he's improved and goes on to tell me how polite he is and how thoughtful he is. She really knows how to make a worried mom's stress go away!

Centerville Elementary School 1

Posted November 18, 2013
- a parent
Centerville Elementary is a great school unless you have to deal with a certain councilor. My child was being physically and emotionally bullied and it was up to her to decide how to handle it. She called me and told me it was my child's fault because she can be irritating. When I disagreed with how she handled the situation she told the vice principal I was yelling at her when I had not raised my tone even once. Now that that situation has been handled she keeps questioning my children and asking them inappropriate questions.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Centerville Elementary School
450 North Houston Lake Blvd, Centerville, GA  31028
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (478) 953-0400
Last modified Centerville Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top