Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Luke School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Columbus

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $111,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

My children were at this school for a few years until I realized they were way behind the power curve. They are now at Calvary Christian School and we could not be happier. The staff and principal are so far behind the times. The children are walked around like zombies in single file lines all over campus. There is no room for individuality, nor do they encourage it. There is no stimulation and my kids often complained about how boring school was. There is not much communication from teachers unless something is wrong. I felt that there is no positive reinforcement at this school. There are a lot of awards that my children never received while at the school, but if you are a big donor or a teachers child you were for sure getting awards and accolades. There is too much nepotism going on at this school. I feel as though its archaic in its policies, teaching techniques and awards system. I feel as though the headmaster has been in place so long and is stuck in the dark ages with her teaching techniques. Unfortunately the only place SLS can go is down. Its sad, it could be such an awesome school and an affordable alternative to other private schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2014

I have had my children at St. Luke for many years. This school has too many teachers and staff who have children that attend the school. The academics are OK, but not up to par to most public schools. The downtown area is very dangerous and there are a large amount of homeless people roaming the campus. The teacher's children are shown favoritism in the classroom and are chosen for teams and awards way more than children who do not have a parent who works at the school. I have been disappointed in the quality of education as well as the treatment my children have received. A Christian school should nurturing a child's academics and well a their confidence and self-esteem. This does not happen at St. Luke. I do not recommend this school to anyone who wants a Christian education that nurtures a child's academics and confidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2013

This school is for parents who don't want their kids to go to school with black children. Not very Christ like. I moved here with my husband and 2 sons we are military/biracial family. We wanted our children in private school so we choose St. Luke as they had such great reviews, well after 6 months and losing our tuition we changed their school and now they are happily attending Brookstone. My sons said they felt unwelcome at St Luke. Please when deciding on a private school, don't make the same mistake we did look deeper into the private school and their dynamics. I agree with the above review you MOST fit what their idea of a perfect family looks like!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

I never thought I would have anything negative to say about St Luke Preschool....but if you are not a perfect cookie cutter family they will drop you. My son's spot for next year was taken due to our "family dynamic". Very Christian of you I must say....I will def pray for you. If your child goes there think long and hard about it...you never know what could change in your "family dynamic".....very two faced in my opinion!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2011

The principal and staff at St. Luke School educate and nurture the children in a positive and progressive manner that reaches out to every child in their care. They go above and beyond basic education to strive toward innovative ways to challenge each child individually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2010

If you're looking for a quality private school in the Columbus area, look no further. St. Luke consistently achieves some of the highest test scores in the city and at very competitive tution rates. St. Luke is grounded in Christian principles and your children will not be exposed to the extreme materialism found in several other private schools in town. The principal/headmaster may seem a little too self-important when you first meet her, but she runs a first class operation and is very accessible to parents and visible around campus. Aftercare program is unparalleled. Wouldn't dream of sending my children anywhere else in Columbus but St. Luke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

I have just graduated from St. Luke School and I have been there for the past six years. Throughout my time at St. Luke I was challenged to the fullest. The teachers are always willing to help you when you have a problem and take time after or before classes to discuss anything. The faculty is wonderful here. They also have a great after school program. The kids are given a light snack, given homework time, and time to go outside and play. I wouldn't have had a much fun at any other school in Columbus than I had at St. Luke.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2008

I would never send my children anywhere else. St. Luke feeds the mind, body and spirit. My children, both above average test scores in 99th pecentile of testing are challenged and we knowthey getting the best education in a Christian environment. The parents are super involved and the PTO is phenomenal. For a K-8 school the sports programs are incredible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

St Luke School is superior in all categories- excellence of academics, quality of teacher and parent involvement, extra cirricular activities like drama, art, and music, sports, and spiritual development. We could not have hoped for a better place for our daughter, who is academically well above average, to learn and grow. She is challenged, yet supported well enough that challenge does not equate to stress. What an incredible jewel we have in St Luke School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2006

My daughter went through middle school at St. Luke School. She has since moved on to a Magnet Academy for high school and is doing great. She was very well prepared for the high school workload. Thank you St. Luke!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2006

Great school! They are very involved in the community. Small class size 15 students with 2 teachers for kindergarten. High test scores. 100 % PTO participation. Our teacher gives each kid a hug to end the day! We Love Our School shannon
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2004

Information about school is outdated-now grades up to & including 8th. My daughter has attended for the past 5 years and we can't imagine changing. National test scores are very high, class sizes small (4th grade=15/class), and students, teachers, & parents are involved & committed. Outstanding school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 44%
Black 4% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Hispanic 1% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ann McDuffie
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Methodist
Fax number
  • (706) 256-1308

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

318 11th Street
Columbus, GA 31901
Website: Click here
Phone: (706) 256-1301

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Victory Academy
Columbus, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT