Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
482 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Thomas More School 1

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
Stay away from this school. They do not teach the kids anything and they are given good grades. This school does not properly prepare their students for high school, and life. Save your money, and time and invest in your kids in a different school, if you want them to have a promising future. - Former Parent (2010-2011)

St. Thomas More School 5

Posted August 21, 2012
- a parent
Our experience as parents has been outstanding. Each teacher I have met is impressive with their warmth, wisdom and experience. Our son's Kindergarten teacher teacher made detailed,specific observations of our son's aptitude, behavior and talent that left me feeling she knows him well and is creating an environment ideal for him to stay sweet, imaginative and stretch him at just the pace I would wish. Beyond the academics, the values taught would be respected by families of any faith. As a family,you will connect with this school and appreciate the small but important ways they influence your kids (principal sitting at lunch with kids, 8th grade buddies for Kindergarteners, and many more).

St. Thomas More School 5

Posted October 20, 2010
- a parent
In our humble opinion, we love STM and would do anything to put our children there. This is a school that promotes diversity, tolerence and personal development. We have two children there already. I am sure there are better schools, public or private, than STM, but the experience that my children and parents alike are invaluable. You can have teachers with advanced teaching degree and teaching licenses, but these certificates don't mean a thing if the teachers don't care about their students. STM's faculty and staff truly exhibit passon and enthusiasm for teaching in a caring environment. When my third child is old enough, we hope that he will be able to attend this wonderful school as well. Peter & Connie Lien

St. Thomas More School 5

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
St. Thomas is an intimate Catholic School with an excellent well rounded educational program. STM has a seasoned faculty and staff that encourage the children to excel in all study areas. STM has a diverse enrollment of families. I say families and not just students, because our school requires a total commitment of the family not just the student. The PTO is very active in all the activities of the school and in everyway striving to continue to make STM a school of EXCELLENCE and a desired learning institution. We love STM!!!

St. Thomas More School 2

Posted April 04, 2010
- a parent
A life lesson: We learned STM does not seem to stress academics as much as the local public schools, especially Morningside. Ex - In grade 3, STM kids learn how to write a paragraph. At MES, the kids are going through the complete writing process and are writing 5 paragraph essays. The work hanging outside a Grade 2 class at STM would be hanging outside a K class @ MES, imo. Many of these teachers do not have teaching licenses. Kids below grade level are given high grades - is that to please the paying parents?? It seems anyone is accepted, if they have the money. Many local public school kids who struggle come here after trying public school, and that is good for them, as the work is easier. A's for everyone, it seems! (They even let my K boy write his name incorrectly - no corrections.)

St. Thomas More School 3

Posted November 22, 2009
- a student
I like Saint Thomas More,but I just felt like I didn't stand out at all,like I wasn't cool because I didn't have a North Face jacket. Other than that it's a great school.

St. Thomas More School 5

Posted March 14, 2008
- a parent
We could not be happier with our choice of school. They have a very strong academic program and their teaching and administration staff are exceptional.

St. Thomas More School
no rating

Posted May 18, 2007
- a parent
STM is a wonderful school with caring and responsive teachers and administration. The curriculum is challenging with a real focus on Catholic values. Students seem happy and are very kind to one another.

St. Thomas More School 5

Posted May 18, 2005
- a parent
St. Thomas More is an excellent school. The academics are high as are the expectations. They offer a before and after care program for working parents. The focus is education in a catholic setting.They have an excellent religious education program. Students from 2nd grade to 8th grade are encourged to actively participate in serving the community. In reward for each 60 hours of service( 20 for school, 20 for church, 20 for the greater community) they receive an award.

St. Thomas More School 4

Posted May 19, 2004
- a parent
What Catholic education is expected to be. Stresses academics and morals. Committed administration, faculty, and parents make this school work. Great value in the Atlanta market.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Thomas More School
630 W Ponce De Leon Ave, Decatur, GA  30030
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (404) 373-8456
Last modified St. Thomas More School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top