Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-3
Public charter
Decatur, GA
Students enrolled: 320

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Clairemont Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter having attended a private Montessori school for the past several years, I was very concerned about transitioning into public school for the 3rd grade. We were moving to the area and spent quite a lot of time learning about all of the districts and their respective schools. Our first priority was safety. We looked at statistics. Then we looked at test scores and learning models, and talked to people we knew. We visited the districts' and schools' websites. We made the most ridiculous Excel spreadsheet ever! Anyway, all that to say: If you're going through that process right now, look no further. We are so pleased with our decision. Though this is a comparatively expensive place to live (we ended up with a condo, which wasn't our plan) we are so glad we're here. Our daughter loves her new school and her teacher. There is certainly a community feel and it is a great feeling to be able to tell our child that we support her school 100% and believe in its ability to keep her safe and teach her what she needs to know. There is good communication between the school and parents, an amazingly supportive and active PTA and expeditionary learning offers an exciting way to learn.

Clairemont Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a community member
Clairemont Elementary school is excellent. It represents a strong bond between the administration, faculty and staff, parents and students. The school is definately student oriented and the atmosphere is one of positive and exploratory learning.


Clairemont Elementary School 5

Posted March 28, 2013
- a parent
Clairemont is a phenomenal school. I'm so pleased to see it's score move up to a 10. The teachers and administration work so hard to meet the needs of each individual child. The expeditionary learning curriculum is well thought out, and it's truly impressive how the teachers carry a central theme across so many areas. All CSD Elementary schools are great from what I hear. You can't go wrong with any of them.

Clairemont Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
I can't say enough good things about Clairemont. My daughter is in Kindergarten there and not only is she learning a LOT, she enjoys learning and she's retaining what she's learned. The teaching staff are excellent and the facilities are very good, with the exception of there being no indoor gym; the grounds are small. The Expeditionary learning model is doing wonders for my daughter's mind.

Clairemont Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 19, 2009
- a parent
I think this is an excellent school. We are so proud and happy to be a part of it. The teachers are wonderful. The learning is top notch. This school adds a down home style feel with a comfortable and fun way of state of the art style teaching and learning. This school also has a great sense of community. we are very happy here


Clairemont Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2008
- a parent
This school is impressive. It seems like a private school based on the small class sizes, ability to challenge advanced students and awesome parent-teacher involvement. This is our third year at Clairemont, my son did Kindergarten twice there...not only did they keep him challenged but he seems to love learning even more!

Clairemont Elementary School 5

Posted March 29, 2007
- a parent
Clairemont is an excellent school. The Expeditionary Learning program is similar to Montessori curriculum. The Principal, Jan Goodloe is a wonderful advocate for students and teachers. This is a close knit community of folks. The PTA and parents at large are amazingly active. We love this school and think it makes our high city of Decatur taxes worth every penny!

Clairemont Elementary School 5

Posted March 20, 2006
- a parent
Academics are excellent. There's a solid gifted program called LINKS (with a smart policy of adding kids as they qualify during the year, rather than a fixed number). Expeditionary Learning is a wonderful program. Music and art are part of the curriculum. Sports not so much as it's a k-3, but my kids like the PE classes and there's a track club. Parent involvement is truly superior with an annual Holiday Marketplace and various other programs generated and run by parents. We were very very happy at Clairemont.


Clairemont Elementary School 5

Posted March 20, 2006
- a parent
Academics are first-rate. Between expeditionary learning and the gifted program, smart kids are challenged in unique ways. It's a K-3 so it's not abundant with extra-curriculars, but they have a track club and a chess club and otherfun stuff. Parent involvement is out of sight. Strong PTA and LSC... a wonderful marketplace that turns the school into a holiday arts festival.. talent show, etc.

Clairemont Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2004
- a parent
Wonderful learning environmrnt uses ELOB as the teaching method. Top 5 ELOB school in the nation. My son loves learning and is excelling.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Clairemont Elementary School
155 Erie Ave, Decatur, GA  30030
(404) 370-4450
Last modified Clairemont Elementary School is a Charter school that serves grades K-3. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Clairemont Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top