Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Decatur, GA
Students enrolled: 714

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Canby Lane Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2011
- a parent
I moved from NY to Ga (due to family issues) with little belief in the Southern public school system. My son is ADHD so I didn't know what to expect from Canby Lane, my neighborhood school. But I was greeted professionally and was pleasantly surprise with the staff helpfulness. He started there in the first and this year will be attending fifth grade. The teachers and staff have became more like friends and family then instructors. I feel any child which is granted the opportunity to attend Canby Lane Elementary School should feel honored. I would like to thank the staff of Canby Lane.....

Canby Lane Elementary School 2

Posted September 12, 2009
- a parent
Canby Lane is a victim of poor leadership and less than professional staff. A sampling of the teachers care but most seem to collect a check. If you are able to send your child to another school, do not hesitate. When the removed the band instruction for the children, they halted scholarship opps and created a void likely to be filled with violence and poor behavior. The deplorable condition of the school and its leadership is indicative of the style and quality of leadership offered by Dekalb's gym teacher Superintendant.


Canby Lane Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 11, 2009
- a parent
I really love this school and so does my daughter

Canby Lane Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Canby Lane Elementary School 1

Posted December 26, 2008
- a parent
Canby Lane Elementary is a school in need of dire repair. The school is over crowded, under staffed and parental involvement is almost non-existent. The principal removed the best band teacher in the county which caused a significant number of students to lose interest in music. Possibly their only hope for a future scholarship and discipline. The school is the victim of sub par leadership, poor parental involvement and the lack of support from caring parents. If you are able to send your child to another school, do not hesitate!


Canby Lane Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2006
- a parent
Canby Lane is a very good school. Both of my children have attended, my son has since graduated and is now in Middle School. The teachers are highly skilled and every child is encouraged to do their personal best. The principal is a very good leader she knows and cares about each child. The programs that they have on site to help the children are excellent. I really support the school and would definitely recommend this school if you are looking for not only academic excellents but also personal caring about each child from the top Administrators on down to Teachers and Faculty staff.

Canby Lane Elementary School 1

Posted September 16, 2006
- a parent
My child attended this school for several years. The administrative staff is horrible to say the least. The front office personnel is unprofessional. Parent participation is a joke. Anyone can walk in and around the school with little of to no questions asked. I would not recommend this school to any one. Unfortunately, the school system seemingly put all of their money,attention, and effort its theme and magnet schools.

Canby Lane Elementary School 4

Posted May 16, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Canby Lane Elementary School 2

Posted January 24, 2006
- a parent
My granddaught has been at Canby Lane for two years. I have visited the school on several ocassion. My concern is the large number of kids in the classroom. The children were sitting on top of each other, which leads to the kids not paying attention and other kid involvement when other kids are trying to learn. I'm concerned about the lack of parent involement as well as the professionalism and experience of the teachers.

Canby Lane Elementary School 4

Posted January 11, 2005
- a parent
Canby Lane is a good school academically, however, the administration needs to more strict when it comes to discipline problems. I believe the teacher morale is lowering because of the lack of administrative support when it comes to disciplinary problems.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Canby Lane Elementary School
4150 Green Hawk Trl, Decatur, GA  30035
(678) 874-0602
Last modified Canby Lane Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Canby Lane Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top