Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Canby Lane Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
Students are required to work hard and accomplishe task that they feel are too hard for them and in many cases too advanced.

Canby Lane Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
See above text in which I included a response. Suitable to answer this question sufficiently.

Canby Lane Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
Student are held accountable for their actions and required to take responsibility .The are required to be helpful and courteous to teachers and each other.

Canby Lane Elementary School 4

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
The staff is always friendly and helpful. It good to see teachers and staff who love their job and show that love to parents and teachers.

Canby Lane Elementary School 4

Posted March 28, 2013
- a community member
canbylane is a great school but sometimes the kids can be getto there but that is ok the staf is great i love them all

Canby Lane Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2011
- a parent
I moved from NY to Ga (due to family issues) with little belief in the Southern public school system. My son is ADHD so I didn't know what to expect from Canby Lane, my neighborhood school. But I was greeted professionally and was pleasantly surprise with the staff helpfulness. He started there in the first and this year will be attending fifth grade. The teachers and staff have became more like friends and family then instructors. I feel any child which is granted the opportunity to attend Canby Lane Elementary School should feel honored. I would like to thank the staff of Canby Lane.....

Canby Lane Elementary School 2

Posted September 12, 2009
- a parent
Canby Lane is a victim of poor leadership and less than professional staff. A sampling of the teachers care but most seem to collect a check. If you are able to send your child to another school, do not hesitate. When the removed the band instruction for the children, they halted scholarship opps and created a void likely to be filled with violence and poor behavior. The deplorable condition of the school and its leadership is indicative of the style and quality of leadership offered by Dekalb's gym teacher Superintendant.

Canby Lane Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 11, 2009
- a parent
I really love this school and so does my daughter

Canby Lane Elementary School 1

Posted December 26, 2008
- a parent
Canby Lane Elementary is a school in need of dire repair. The school is over crowded, under staffed and parental involvement is almost non-existent. The principal removed the best band teacher in the county which caused a significant number of students to lose interest in music. Possibly their only hope for a future scholarship and discipline. The school is the victim of sub par leadership, poor parental involvement and the lack of support from caring parents. If you are able to send your child to another school, do not hesitate!

Canby Lane Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2006
- a parent
Canby Lane is a very good school. Both of my children have attended, my son has since graduated and is now in Middle School. The teachers are highly skilled and every child is encouraged to do their personal best. The principal is a very good leader she knows and cares about each child. The programs that they have on site to help the children are excellent. I really support the school and would definitely recommend this school if you are looking for not only academic excellents but also personal caring about each child from the top Administrators on down to Teachers and Faculty staff.

Nearby schools

Canby Lane Elementary School
4150 Green Hawk Trl, Decatur, GA  30035
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (678) 874-0602
Last modified Canby Lane Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top