Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 52 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


54 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Duluth Middle School 3

Posted October 23, 2014
- a parent
The curriculum is lacking real world concepts and the teachers do not seem in touch with collaboration. They also found it necessary for some reason to condense the C-range of grades to include the D range of grades. 70% - 74% = D: 75% - 80% = C . How stupid is that, please explain how this is supposed to teach a child to learn.

Duluth Middle School 1

Posted July 28, 2014
- a community member
The teachers are mean, the students are mean, teachers don't see or hear when the kids swear, "twerk", grind on eachother. It's disgusting. Not to mention the fact that teachers can't see bullying. Also, when the really bad kids do bad things, teachers do nothing! Terrible school. Friends are kind of hard to make since many students are stuck up and don't make new students feel welcome. The only thing I like about this school is when the day is over.


Duluth Middle School 4

Posted June 15, 2014
- a parent
We have had a great experience at DMS. Middle school years are tough and challenging. My daughter has done really well at DMS with the support of her wonderful teachers in a challenging & stimulating environment. The Fine Arts Program is amazing!!! Teachers have always responded very quickly to emails and also encourage students to approach them with any concerns. Stay involved in the school environment & with what your kids are doing. DMS is a great place to learn & grow! :)

Duluth Middle School 5

Posted June 14, 2014
- a parent
DMS is a great place to be. It has a truly diverse student body, which really helps kids understand the REAL world around them. They carry excellent test scores and have great clubs/programs here. Even better, they recently acquired new orchestra and theatre teachers - both are award winning professionals in their fields and they really turned those programs around for the BEST! This will be an AMAZING place for your child, if they involve themselves in the fine arts or other programs here, but always...just be involved! The school really welcomes that :-)

Duluth Middle School 1

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
My daughter came from an excellent school experience at Berkeley Lake Elementary School so we had similar high hopes for Duluth Middle. We were so disappointed! The teaching here leaves much to be desired. My child had a mix of probe/reg-ed classes and I can't really say that one was better than the other as far as the quality of teaching. My daughter was left to self-teach and we even hired a tutor to help. She would do excellent in classwork only to fail the test that didn't cover the classwork material. Many conversations with the various teachers to find out the reason my child would get a 90 on one test and then a 50 on the next one. One of the teachers even said that is normal and expected? What? The leadership is also sorely under-involved and it shows. The PTA is pratically non-existent there. Another shock coming from a school with an extremely strong PTA. Needless to say, we pulled her out of DMS and placed her in the Gwinnett Online Campus where she is now thriving in a wonderful environment. Needless to say, I'll really think long and hard when it comes time for my other daughter to attend middle school and the options that are available other than DMS.


Duluth Middle School 5

Posted August 24, 2013
- a parent
I am very impressed with Duluth Middle school. The teachers are passionate about teaching students. The admin staff is wonderful and does a great job to ensure that the school runs smoothly. My child enjoys getting up each morning and going to school. She speaks highly of each teacher and always compliments them on their teaching methods and dedications to each student.

Duluth Middle School 3

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
How is it I pay 3000+ dollars in tax dollars to live in this school district and my tiny 6th grader doesn't even have access to a locker? Back pack weighs upwards of 25 pounds. MAKES NO SENSE. if anything the younger kids should not be hauling this weight around.

Duluth Middle School 5

Posted May 31, 2013
- a parent
The school has great teachers and students. The administration does not seem to have a clue though about anything. A new program every year and careless attitude towards discipline, Hopefully the principal will change soon and Duluth MS will be back to being a great school.


Duluth Middle School 1

Posted May 03, 2013
- a parent
My son went to this school for 3 years and he has never been in trouble. He gets in trouble for something that was not as bad as what other kids have been doing all year. Its not sitting good with me. He did is punishment why punish him more by missing his fun day at school. This is a sad way to remember a school that you been going to for 3 years. I am sadden for these students who are good an try. This school need to redo there school rules because i am not the only parent who feels this way and i find it wrong and unfair.

Duluth Middle School 5

Posted May 02, 2013
- a community member
I have been at DMS for two years now, and it is one of my favorite schools ever. The teachers are nice, administrators keep the school controlled, and the school overall is wonderful. Great for anyone looking to have fun while learning.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Duluth Middle School
3200 Pleasant Hill Rd, Duluth, GA  30096
(770) 476-3372
Last modified Duluth Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Duluth Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. Top