Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Duluth, GA
Students enrolled: 2,226
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Duluth Middle School 1

Posted March 03, 2015
- a community member
okay. I have had it. the fact that this stupid school doesn't see bullying is just sad. They never notice the bullying and when i was in class, this kid was getting bullied. THE TEACHER DID NOTHING.. Never put your child here.. EVER! It is a sick sick place.

Duluth Middle School 1

Posted December 22, 2014
- a community member
This school is boring! No clubs, parties, events, etc. This school doesn't even have lockers and students have to carry heavy backpacks. For some classes, the grade averages are so low, 50%-60% is a good grade! This school is also filled with more delinquents then there are innocent ones. Do NOT put your child in this school if you do not want them to be made fun of because of the way they look, act, what they wear, how they talk! This school has a whole lot of kids who think they will become rich famous by making "music" and yet they are rude and their grades are terrible! Ugh...I hate this school so much -.-
3 people found this helpful

Duluth Middle School 3

Posted October 23, 2014
- a parent
The curriculum is lacking real world concepts and the teachers do not seem in touch with collaboration. They also found it necessary for some reason to condense the C-range of grades to include the D range of grades. 70% - 74% = D: 75% - 80% = C . How stupid is that, please explain how this is supposed to teach a child to learn.
1 person found this helpful

Duluth Middle School 1

Posted July 28, 2014
- a community member
The teachers are mean, the students are mean, teachers don't see or hear when the kids swear, "twerk", grind on eachother. It's disgusting. Not to mention the fact that teachers can't see bullying. Also, when the really bad kids do bad things, teachers do nothing! Terrible school. Friends are kind of hard to make since many students are stuck up and don't make new students feel welcome. The only thing I like about this school is when the day is over.
4 people found this helpful

Duluth Middle School 4

Posted June 15, 2014
- a parent
We have had a great experience at DMS. Middle school years are tough and challenging. My daughter has done really well at DMS with the support of her wonderful teachers in a challenging & stimulating environment. The Fine Arts Program is amazing!!! Teachers have always responded very quickly to emails and also encourage students to approach them with any concerns. Stay involved in the school environment & with what your kids are doing. DMS is a great place to learn & grow! :)
1 person found this helpful

Duluth Middle School 5

Posted June 14, 2014
- a parent
DMS is a great place to be. It has a truly diverse student body, which really helps kids understand the REAL world around them. They carry excellent test scores and have great clubs/programs here. Even better, they recently acquired new orchestra and theatre teachers - both are award winning professionals in their fields and they really turned those programs around for the BEST! This will be an AMAZING place for your child, if they involve themselves in the fine arts or other programs here, but always...just be involved! The school really welcomes that :-)
1 person found this helpful

Duluth Middle School 1

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
My daughter came from an excellent school experience at Berkeley Lake Elementary School so we had similar high hopes for Duluth Middle. We were so disappointed! The teaching here leaves much to be desired. My child had a mix of probe/reg-ed classes and I can't really say that one was better than the other as far as the quality of teaching. My daughter was left to self-teach and we even hired a tutor to help. She would do excellent in classwork only to fail the test that didn't cover the classwork material. Many conversations with the various teachers to find out the reason my child would get a 90 on one test and then a 50 on the next one. One of the teachers even said that is normal and expected? What? The leadership is also sorely under-involved and it shows. The PTA is pratically non-existent there. Another shock coming from a school with an extremely strong PTA. Needless to say, we pulled her out of DMS and placed her in the Gwinnett Online Campus where she is now thriving in a wonderful environment. Needless to say, I'll really think long and hard when it comes time for my other daughter to attend middle school and the options that are available other than DMS.
3 people found this helpful

Duluth Middle School 5

Posted August 24, 2013
- a parent
I am very impressed with Duluth Middle school. The teachers are passionate about teaching students. The admin staff is wonderful and does a great job to ensure that the school runs smoothly. My child enjoys getting up each morning and going to school. She speaks highly of each teacher and always compliments them on their teaching methods and dedications to each student.

Duluth Middle School 3

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
How is it I pay 3000+ dollars in tax dollars to live in this school district and my tiny 6th grader doesn't even have access to a locker? Back pack weighs upwards of 25 pounds. MAKES NO SENSE. if anything the younger kids should not be hauling this weight around.
2 people found this helpful

Duluth Middle School 5

Posted May 31, 2013
- a parent
The school has great teachers and students. The administration does not seem to have a clue though about anything. A new program every year and careless attitude towards discipline, Hopefully the principal will change soon and Duluth MS will be back to being a great school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Duluth Middle School
3200 Pleasant Hill Rd, Duluth, GA  30096
(770) 476-3372
Last modified Duluth Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Duluth Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. Top