Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 82 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chesnut Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Hobgood has done an excellent job in helping my grandaughter adapt to Chestnut. She loves coming to your class at first it was a struggle for her but she is happy to go to school and proud to do her work.

Chesnut Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Hobgood you welcomed my grandchild and she really loves you and your class. She is very proud to be a student at Chesnut.

Chesnut Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
Chesnut has such a small community feel. We had so much fun at Field Day today. What a great experience for all of the children. Thank you to all of the Chesnut Staff and Teachers for the volunteer parent breakfast. It was wonderful.

Chesnut Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Chicoine loves his job and has fun with his students every day. They learn so much in fun ways by building and constructing things based on literature they have read in class.

Chesnut Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
The teachers we have had think outside the box to teach in exciting ways using STEM and fun activities.

Chesnut Elementary School 2

Posted April 16, 2016
- a parent
This used to be a wonderful school under Dr Reid. Sadly, the loss of the charter is one indication of the direction this school is taking under the new administration. Parents are slowly being shut out. It's easy to like a school when your child thrives, but if your child has an additional need for learning or emotional support, the Administration sadly cannot be relied upon to deliver those services. I'm surprised by the lack of communication that comes home from the classroom unless it's for a fundraiser, and whilst I am a willing financial supporter of the school, I'd like to be included in more than that (e.g. Class helper, reader etc). That does not happen across the board in all classrooms. Lack of consistency is a problem. And yes, as with all schools, bullying can and will happen, unless the administration does something to intervene and curb it. This doesn't happen effectively at this school.

Chesnut Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 16, 2016
- a parent
LOVE the teachers! My child has shown great progress this year. Our teachers have always been accessible (even after hours when they don't need to be) and responsive to any concerns we have had. The classes are not as large as most of the elementary schools in Dunwoody. Even though they are not the size of private school classes, my student's teacher is on top of my child's individual academic strengths and where he needs more help.

Chesnut Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 16, 2016
- a parent
Yes, the school develops persistence, grit, and determination. It has a strong STEM focus and the students are taught that trial and error are components of success.

Chesnut Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 16, 2016
- a parent
The school fosters respect. My child respects his teachers and the administration. I only wish some of the parents were better role models.

Chesnut Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 16, 2016
- a parent
We always hear there is a zero tolerance policy on bullying. It is taken seriously.

Nearby schools

Chesnut Elementary School
4576 N Peachtree Rd, Dunwoody, GA  30338
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 82 reviews. (678) 676-7102
Last modified Chesnut Elementary School is a Charter school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top