Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 87 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chesnut Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 23, 2016
- a parent
The work and effort they put in is shown in the improving test scores and the Advance ED stem certification. The children are being engaged via legos , the outside garden etc

Chesnut Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 23, 2016
- a parent
Homework is given each day with the exception of Fridays as well as optional additional learning opportunities such as Math Stars which the students are usually given several days to complete

Chesnut Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted August 23, 2016
- a parent
My experience has been , yes the teachers I have come in contact with encourage their students to be aware of their words and actions. Ms. Landis does a wonderful job at modeling this before for her students each day. You always see older students stopping by and getting a hug

Chesnut Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 23, 2016
- a parent
Each child has access to the same additional opportunities from Math Stars, iXL, accelerated reader, after school clubs. My child is encouraged to try new things and be honest about her failures and successes. She understands now that her failures can be just as important as her success as she learns what works and what does not. The school is so diverse so interactions with her class mates can range from perfect on one day and her being annoyed or hurt by what was said by a friend. She is learning to make her feelings known and try to talk through the situation with her teacher and her peer.

Chesnut Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2016
- a parent
Our family has been at Chesnut for 4 years now, we have enjoyed it. The teachers have been great always suggesting tools to enhance my child's experience with Coding and math. Tools such as iXL, reflecx math are available to all students with their own login we utilized it (iXl) during the summer to keep our child on task. There are extra opportunities like Math Stars and Accelerated reader that you and your child can choose to take part in to enhance their skill sets. We also enjoy the Art our child has made from a hard cover book on Picasso to her yearly framed art pieces. Yeah I am a fan of Chesnut

Chesnut Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Hobgood has done an excellent job in helping my grandaughter adapt to Chestnut. She loves coming to your class at first it was a struggle for her but she is happy to go to school and proud to do her work.

Chesnut Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Hobgood you welcomed my grandchild and she really loves you and your class. She is very proud to be a student at Chesnut.

Chesnut Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
Chesnut has such a small community feel. We had so much fun at Field Day today. What a great experience for all of the children. Thank you to all of the Chesnut Staff and Teachers for the volunteer parent breakfast. It was wonderful.

Chesnut Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Chicoine loves his job and has fun with his students every day. They learn so much in fun ways by building and constructing things based on literature they have read in class.

Chesnut Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
The teachers we have had think outside the box to teach in exciting ways using STEM and fun activities.

Nearby schools

Chesnut Elementary School
4576 N Peachtree Rd, Dunwoody, GA  30338
(678) 676-7102
Last modified Chesnut Elementary School is a Charter school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top