Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Romar Academy

Private | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in East Point

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $70,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 26, 2007

As a new parent at Romar I have found that the school is making great changes; changes for the better. The director has a vision and is making the necessary changes to make this school a Blue Ribbon School of Excellence. My son is learning by leaps and bounds and the aura of the building is professional and high expectations. This is a result of the vision of the instructional leader. Her vision is compelling and will produce classrooms with standards based learning. I appreciate her resilience and willingness to make Romar a better institution of learning and a school that embraces students with arms of love and high expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

I'm the parent of a former Romar Student as well as a current Romar Student. Therefore, I have a relationship with the former Director,Sandra Quash as well as the new Director, LaVerne Nash. Having respect for both Romar Directors as well as the school itself, I can say that Ms. Quash managed Romar Academy, kept the environment stabilized, teamed with the parents and love the kids. It became time for Ms. Quash to rise to higher heights and well wishes went to her. Mrs. Nash is in charge now & has a vision for Romar. She is dedicated to extending the foundation by elevating and maximizing what Romar has to offer. In doing so she too fosters communication with parents and shows a spirit of love towards the kids. Romar is an awesome school Academically and Administratively. The problem lies with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

My son is completing third grade and has been at Romar since kindergarten. Not only has the school prepared him to excel academically (attributable to a challenging curriculum and competent educators), the Romar experience also has helped instill a high level of self confidence (small class sizes and dedicated educators) and a keen appreciation for how he can positively impact the community in which we live (Romar's focus on service). Now, a new principal -- with new ideas and new challenges --is positioning the school to reach still greater heights. It is clear that the Romar experience is laying the solid foundation required for my son to evolve into a man of character who also is prepared to compete and succeed in our ever-challenging society. One testament to that is the large number of doctors and other professionals who choose to have their children educated at Romar.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

Romar was an outstanding school. I want to recognize the staff for hanging in there despite the difficulties they have endured under the current leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2007

Better overall environment under Ms. Quash's leadership. New principal lacks people skills, and does not fit, nor appear comfortable in, her environment. Hang in there Romar teachers, your bright, intelligent and knowledge-thirsty kids (and very-involved parents) need you now more than ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2005

If you are looking for a school where your child can grow and learn, Romar Academy is the place. My son has attended Romar for three years and he loves it. When your child enjoys going to school and learning, you know that's a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

Romar, by far, is a best kept secret in its category of academic learning institutions. My son is a student in PreK-Two class and my husband and I are very impressed and approving of the quality of education the school offers. The teachers recognize the abilities of each child and expounds upon those abilities where learning has no limit. The academic curriculum includes all areas of education, math, science, physical science, english, etc. The teachers also welcome participation of the parents during classtime as well as during extracirricular activities. The Head Master and Directors are knowledgable of all students and greatly aid to the students'academia. I look forward to academic success for my son as well as the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2004

Based on my assessment of the school, it is superb. As a result of my 4 years old son's attendance at this school, my son has grown intellectually, socially and exemplifies Christian values. The teachers and parents truly care and go the extra mile in every aspect of children's educational growth and social develpment. At the age of 4 my son knows all his contients, can speak some Spanish, etc. In addition to the above, it is affordable. This school is a true blessing from God.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2004

Statistically, students are drawn from Fulton, Cobb, Gwinnett, Clayton, DeKalb counties, etc. Many of the students have parents that are third or fourth generation college graduates. The social economic data reflect that parents are upper middle class and they come from areas outside of the zip code of Romar Academy. The parents are executive and professional business owners and very active in PTA and teacher's support. Additionally, the teachers are very proactive in students development and communicate effectively with parents. As a parent I feel that the school has done a superb job of educating my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I love the academic environment! The teachers are very qualified and the students are very enthusiastic about learning. Since the school building is fairly old, the appearance might not seem very impressive to some, however, the level of committment from the faculty and parents (in addition to the educational environment) can't be beat. I know, I've searched a long time for a good school for my daughter. I finally found one in Romar.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 37%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
White 0% 44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2148 Newnan Avenue
East Point, GA 30344
Website: Click here
Phone: (404) 761-3388

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cameron Academy
East Point, GA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT