Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dutchtown Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1059 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 7, 2009

The students are full of energy, diversity and experiences that keep teachers motivated to teach!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Dutchtown middle takes pride in it diversity and determination for the sucess of each and every student. individually and personnally the teachers and administration are strengthened each day by the achievments of the students.


Posted October 6, 2009

The teachers are wonderful and the students are great. We have wonderful parent support and we have great community support. We're a GREAT family!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 5, 2009

We have a new principal, Dr. Cynthia McCray, alone with teachers and other staff members, who has done an exceptional job in creating a first class learning and teaching environment for our children at Dutchtown Middle School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

The teachers care; the students care; there is a great repitoire between all individuals who have a stake in the school's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

We like the school, but next school year 2009/2010. I will like the school to have more for 8th graders moving on, such as field trips to fun and exciting place and a promotional cermony not just a dogwalk my son didnot care to attend. Need to do more. Great School with Teachers who cares.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

Dutchtown Is one of the best schools.My child goes there and he likes the teachers and everything.He also said the teachers teach very easily.They are all nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

I love this school and the faculty they all provide outstanding service to the children and have zero tolerance the first time. Some children need this. My daughter is attending 6th grade and loves going to school she has no issues. I say stay involved and informed. It will be sad that 6th grade will be her first and last at DMS; we moved to another school area and transportation is not provided by the County. We will miss everyone there :( But change is good so I expect her to excel at her new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

I agree, the teachers and staff are more concerned with social class then helping the individual student. As well, my granddaughter was wanting mr to put her into private school. She loved Luella Middle it brakes my heart to see her struggle with trying to fit in. From what she tells the students are aggressive and alot of bulling does go on , but ,again it is a social class


Posted November 23, 2008

The school is very challenging and I love that aspect of it and the teachers are really concerned about the students education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2008

i have been at dutchtown for sixth grade and half of seventh grade. the school is horrible. there are fights in the hallways almost every week and the teachers are too busy trying to settle the students to teach anything. i used to be an all A student. now my grades are dropping to a C average. i am very dissapointed with the teachers and administration.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2008

We have been very pleased with all the teachers that my son has. Our son has excelled in many different aspectsof his education since we moved here and started in the Dutchtown school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2008

Dutchtown is a great school, we have to encourage parents to get more involved and embrass different diversity backgrounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

I`ve been at Dutchtown Middle School for all three years, that they offer. This school is challenging for all students. The classes that I have made me think out of the box and made me look at all aspects in life. The teachers are wiling to help on everything, and you can tell that they enjoy their job. the only problem that brings the school down is the discipline. The program that they have to deal with discipline issues (they are called spikes) is insufficent. Everyday more and more students are put into ISS and OSS because of the spike process. There is also another problem...the administriative department. The principle ms. downs lacks many needed social skills. She does not know how to communicate with the students or teachers. This quality, in which she lacks, is holding the school back.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2008

Work on bus issues and student behavior towards other students aswell as students treated equally as other students - Great teachers though.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2008

i go to school at dutchtown and i think dutchtown is a wonderfull, challenging and nice school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 23, 2006

My daughter attended for one year and will be back in private school next year. Poor acedemics, low parent involvement and kids from other counties are pulling the good kids down. Most of them are leaving.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

303 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

307 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

315 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

315 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

349 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

343 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

358 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

358 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

329 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

332 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
65%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

352 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 65% 37%
White 15% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Cynthia McCray
Fax number
  • (770) 515-7505

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

155 Mitchell Rd
Hampton, GA 30228
Phone: (770) 515-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT