Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Snelson-Golden Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 788 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2014

I am a student of Snelson-Golden Middle School, and I can say that in my eighth grade year that this school has no improvement in fighting/disobedient conduct/ people curse everywhere; I wouldn't say that anyone should go to school. Their staff just walk around and offer no help, and there is a sense of favoritism to the *African American* kids who are non-military than others. The new "Liberty Learning Experience" is such a sham, where kids get to walk around and take nude pictures of theirselves and message others all day during class and play gun games. Many kids use slang such as "ratchet" and get into fights because this is an urban area with many black kids. Girls wear small and tight shorts and I've personally heard many *se*xual conversations in last years classes. Unless your kid is in Advance Placement, your child will be put with all of these cretins. Many of these kids frollocking about and never read anything and the only kids who do are picked on and stuff.


Posted October 30, 2013

This is the worst school any of my kids ever attended. The gifted program is laughable, giving the kids a subject and telling them to teach them self is not exeptable. Not entering all grades before the report cards are issued is negligent. The noise level in some class rooms is deafening. Fights break out daily between the students. The front office staff is always taking personal calls and act rudely when they are interrupted. This is a badly run daycare not an educational institution. The smart kid will skirt through but the average kid is set up to drop out if highschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2013

The band was very welcoming but I can't say much else good for the rest of the school. There is a terrible lack of discipline for the students. I have, myself, witnessed students swearing at teachers and many fights between students break out on a regular basis. The meals are much too over priced for the quality of the food. Substitutes often push their own beliefs upon the students as do some teachers. The social studies/language arts gifted teacher is possibly the best teacher there. But overall there is much favoritism and bullying is a big problem there. If I had kids, I defi itely would not want them to attend this school.


Posted April 30, 2013

Snelson-Golden (SGMS) is a read, write, and think school that promotes extremely high academic standards. It met AYP for eight consecutive years. SGMS employs technology, media, and text to actively engage students in higher level learning. Snelson is progressive. Their many clubs and extra-curricular activities aid to motivate students to attend positive social events, promote school and public fund raisers, and earn academic awards and honors. All students can learn and our students are willing to learn with the support of parents, administrators, teachers, the PTO, our parent coordinator, and our community. Go SGMS!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2013

My daughter attends this school and is a member of the SGMS Honor Band. They just recently attended a trip to Orlando, Flordia and she had an awesome time. My hat goes off to Ms. Nestor for AWESOME job that she is doing at the school. You are an excellent band teacher and I am very proud to have you apart of her success. Keep up the great professional work you are doing Ms. Nestor. Thanks Mrs. Gaines
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2013

My daughter went to this school and all I can say is that she strived wonderfully at this institution. She was put in the gifted program and actually started there in 5th grade. To me some of the complaints on here are a personal situation to their child. Be more proactive. If you know your child is having a problem or is a problem step up as a parent and stop blaming the school at fault. They have several hundred children to deal with and yours is ONE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2013

SGMS is a great school. The students and teachers work together to create an atmosphere of high expectations and family support. Many people have not visited the school to see the great changes that have been made in the last five years. The school is a positive place that house your typical teenagers- all trying to discover themselves. Go Eagles!!!


Posted January 9, 2011

My family and I moved here last year in October 2010. My son always told me that the students are always cursing and throwing things at their teachers. What do the teachers do? Nothing. How does an administration and its teachers let children disrespect them? What are they teaching the other kids that do respect their teachers?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

I am currently a student at SGMS. Snelson Golden is an okay school. I've attend Snelson since 2007, which was my 6th grade year, and the school was still the same then. The amenities are good. The SGMS Chorus is something I would perfer a child to take part in. The chorus teacher is excellent with music and the teachings of music. I'm not trying to flaunt the chorus, but im in the chorus. Well their are some things I have to say about Snelson and Thank You for reading my review.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2009

Snelson-Golden Middle School in my opinion still needs a lot of work. Although after numerous attempts to get certain things in order for my child to achieve this so called 'superb' education, I still find there are flaws in the system. If a child is border-line pass or fail there should be something set up between the teacher and the parent that would ultimately help the child achieve the next grade. After sitting with the faculity at the beginning of the year and explaining to them that my child likes to hide things such as i.e. progress reports, homework, and tests I needed to establish something that I could monitor on a weekly basis. This was to alleviate a shock when report cards came out and we all know by then its to late. They have failed dramatically in this department.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

My daughter has been a this school for 1 year. She was on the advanced team for 6th grade and loved her teachers. They seemed to be very involved and had some interesting projects for the students. She has always struggled a bit in math and I have to say this was her best year ever in that subject! She was in chorus and the teacher is great! A good school in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

Snelson golden is good school to me. Even though we may have some fights but it is a good school. I agree that snelson needs 2 work on disipline but its not always the school fault 2 me it is more of parents fault for there child misbehaven. Snelson gloden also has no favorites out of nonmiltary students and miltary ones.There are a lot of miltary students at snelson.Snelson is kindy of good school 2 me. Plus im in the 8th grade now and never got into any fights are sent to the office cause i did something wrong.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2008

I have a child in this school and I have to say that he has had some teachers take an interest in his learning. He has also had some teachers who just do not seem to care. There are fights that my sons will come home and tell me about and when I talk to the princiaabout it, it doesn't seem to be high on their agenda. The kids have bad mouths and need disipline, but the administrators and teachers have to know that some of these kids who are disipline problems have an underlying reason for why they are acting out. If they can help those children then may everyone can focus more on education. Or maybe they need to take some advice from other schools that are doing better then SGMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2008

This is probably the worst school I have ever seen. I have been in the military for 17 years and have seen a lot of schools. I cannot say it is the school's fault entirely. Unfortunately, the change to school uniforms only put undisciplined children into the same attire. It seems like the teachers are overwhelmed by trying to keep discipline and forget to take care of the kids who are well-disciplined and there to learn. Favoritism is shown to non-military children. If I had a choice, my child would have gone elsewhere. If you buy a home, check the schools carefully before you commit to a purchase.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2007

im not a parent but a student and i have to say the school is alright. Teachers help some but not all. the principles are ok and try their best sometimes but they dont always. there is alot of parental involvement at times. the school does need more funding for better equipment and for a better environment i am in 8th grade and about to pass to ninth grade. i try my best so i can get good classes in high school. but sometiems the teachers put alot of stress on me and other students as well. and it gets alot harder to consentrate on work. the school needs better saftey.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2006

September 2006 sgms is a good school we need to fund the school more so the kids can get better books and equipment. I think the teachers need to help the kids more in class instead of just telling them to do this from the book the teacher need to explain to the kids what they want them to do and then show them a example, not just say do this , my child have said that a lot of the teacher ,not all are not willing to answer there questions or if they ask a question the teacher act like they do not want to response to what they have ask, the lunches have gotten better also, they have added extracurricular programs for the kids to enjoy that's a good thing just need some minor adjustments on discipline the kids are not in the military lighten up some.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2006

my child was a 8th grade student at SGMs and he had the best set of teachers I have seen in many many years he was on tem 8-1 and he was actually excited to go to school. his teachers were so devoted to helping him when he needed it he had the best math teacher mrs. ryan she was a shining star I feel my child is prepared to make that big step into high school! god bless the teachers of team 8-1!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2006

My child has had a wonderful elementary education. The education is not continued at SGMS. Teachers do not spend time helping students, they sit at their desks grading papers and playing on the computer. There is no challenge to school. My child loves the social aspect of the school but is not getting an education that will be beneficial in the work force.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2005

Our son went to an American school for the first time at SGNS and we were very happy with the support he received. It is one school in his life that he will not forget. A happy child in school says more than anything else ever could!Every teacher we met was a true blessing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

Snelson Golden is not that of a great school.The teachers dont help the students that much and does not have that safe of an learning enviroment that I have hoped for.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

230 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

230 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

231 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
65%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

238 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
49%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

227 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 57% 37%
White 22% 44%
Hispanic 10% 12%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Katrina Bateman
Fax number
  • (912) 368-5342

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

465 Coates Rd
Hinesville, GA 31313
Phone: (912) 877-3112

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Grace Baptist Academy
Hinesville, GA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT