Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Duncan Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1169 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 5, 2014

I love this school! But I do have a problem with teachers letting kids go without snack! I forgot my daughters snack, the teacher says that's ok, but doesn't get her anything to eat! I offered the first grade teacher extra snacks, she refused! I can't imagine letting a child go hungry, while others eat! What kind of person lets a 7 year old go without a snack, then expects them to be productive in class!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2014

My child has been at DCES for 3 years now and I and my child love the school. The new principal is amazing and I have had a wonderful experience with the PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2013

I have had children here since 2005. I have seen the downhill spiral it has taken. It was a wonderful school with a fantastic principal who was very involved with the children. The last principal was only okay. The current one is okay so far. The PTA was run better before Pucketts Mill opened. My run ins with the PTA have not been great. Kind of rude and not wanting to step up and correct their mistakes. Mostly because it didn't affect their child. Several incidences of theft just this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

We have 4 children ranging from 5 years to 13 years. We have loved Duncan Creek. I feel administration and teachers want the best for your kids. I have kids in the focus (gifted program) and a child that struggles. My kids are pulled out of class for extra help and to be challenged more. I believe all my kids are getting everything they need. The person who said PTA was not open to all parents. You are very wrong. PTA is always looking for assistants. All you have to do is ask to be part of the team. Our PTA president is very open and always happy to listen to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2012

We completed our first year here and it has definitely been a learning experience. Our 1st grade teacher was terrific and really pushed our child to do his full potential - from an academic standpoint we were pleased. The library system with Accelerated Reader program however has obscure and limiting rules for 1st graders that no one seems to understand - which leaves your child not understanding why they are refused books at the checkout. Why your child simply cannot check out what they want if it is within their reading level is beyond me! This is exclusive to 1st grade. And finally the PTA - a.k.a. P.T.M(afia). The meetings are covert and not published except for an online calendar that you have to sort through day by day to find - parents are not invited to these meetings nor even know where they are held. There is very little transparency and the communication from them only comes when they want your money. I truly expected monthly meetings open for parents - this is not the case. You either run for a position to have a voice - or your voice doesn't matter. It's a disheartening organization that could truly utilize the many parents who want to be involved - but alas - no.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2011

We have been at DCES for the last 3 yrs and we love it. The teachers and staff are very friendly and school it self is awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2010

DCES is far the best. I did a lot of research before moving into the area and still was a little nervous about the transistion of my child coming from a private school into a public school setting. Well, I have been pleasantly surprised by the curriculum, the great teachers, students, administration and principal. The teachers at DCES really care about your children and their learning. My daughter has excelled in all subjects. She's been on the Prinicpal's list for the past two years. She has met so many great friends and bonded with her teacher(s) as well. What an excellent, organized and nurturing environment for your child. We have been very blessed to have absolutely WONDERFUL teachers! We are looking forward to another great year and we have a daughter that will be starting Kindergarten in August 2010.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2010

Excellent in every way!! i love this school. The staff and admin. Is simply outstanding!! if you don't like this school and all they offer the children, it's because you are doing your part in your child's education. My child started in 1st grade and she has excelled in every subject area. I have heard many say they do not trach the test- they teach the student. I can say- this has been my experience under the current leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Duncan Creek Elementary School takes great concern in making sure their students know their material
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2009

My son started kindergarten this school year at DCES. He has learned alot this year. He has excelled farther than my expectations. DCES is an excellent school and I would recommend it to anyone. His teacher keeps us updated on a day to day basis on what is going on with the class. We feel very informed. We love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2009

Duncan Creek is fantastic. We have been very pleased with the staff and the level of education our kids are getting. Its a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2008

I have been extremely pleased with the care and education that my sons have recieved at DCES. The teachers and administration go the extra mile to meet the needs of all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

I have found this school to be excellent. The teachers are very nurturing and caring. There is a high focus on test scores but I find their regular grading and report very informative. I feel that I know what my child is doing at school week to week. I have a child in 3rd grade and another in 5th grade and they love going to school. There is a high parent involvement in the school as well. The teachers also provide extra help twice a month before school. There are also lots of extra curricular activities available. I would have no hesitation in recommending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

This is my kid's 2nd year in this school. Excellent school with caring teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

DCES is not a great school. All they care about is their scores. Academic instruction is not number one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2006

DCES is a wonderful school with caring teachers and staff. Excellence in academic instruction is a number one priority at DCES.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

189 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

190 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

189 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

185 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

184 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

184 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

212 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 44%
Black 13% 37%
Hispanic 10% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4500 Braselton Hwy
Hoschton, GA 30548
Phone: (678) 714-5800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT