Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Big Shanty Elementary School 1

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
This school has lost it's focus on teaching children. It has become militant with a new behavioral policy that has the children very stressed. I have not spoken to one parent who does not have an issue with this new policy- the administration is clueless, despite the numerous parent meetings expressing concerns. Their new stance seems to be head in the sand, disregarding valid concerns from not only parents but mental health professionals in the area.

Big Shanty Elementary School 1

Posted March 15, 2014
- a parent
This school is governed on focusing on the minority who are failing to adhere, rather than continuously acknowledging those that consistently follow the rules. Goals/rules, are so out of whack..... = does not/will not equal success for the students.


Big Shanty Elementary School 1

Posted January 11, 2014
- a parent
Terrible! The teachers are absolutely careless and disorganized. The focus is on behavior and NOT academics. There is no across the board no questions asked behavior expectation. It's based on the kid and the teacher's subjective impression. The negativity runs ramped and the extra carriculars such as festivals, holiday shop, etc are non existant. The administration is cold and careless. To solicit help from these people is like pulling teeth. The cafeteria doesn't even pay attention to diet restrictions placed by parents, etc. There is NO supervision during lunch besides from janitorial staff, and the school is incredibly money hungry with nothing to show for it. Their art program is pathetic. NIGHT AND DAY difference between Kennesaw Elem and Big Shanty. Such a shame! I'm pulling my child and placing him elsewhere next year.

Big Shanty Elementary School 1

Posted December 16, 2013
- a parent
This school is terrible. My daughter goes to this school. Yes racism is there. Due to crowded rooms teacher can't help the bullying and bad manner children are adopting in this school.

Big Shanty Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2012
- a parent
Big Shanty has a new administration and it shows! Everyone in the school is full of energy and enthusiasm. The staff has high morale and the students are eager to learn. Look for great things to come from Big Shanty in the coming years!


Big Shanty Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
I had two children go through Big Shanty, both were challenged and looked forward to going to school everyday. I could not be happier with a school, both my children became independent and ready for middle school.

Big Shanty Elementary School 1

Posted September 19, 2011
- a parent
My oldest child is currently in their 2nd year at Big Shanty and will be taken out at mid year when we can transfer somewhere else. She has always loved school and scores in the 99th percentile on standardized tests. She is a very bright child but we now spend hours each night doing the teaching that she isn't getting at school. This is further complicated by the lack of communication. The rooms are over crowded and the teachers have turned into baby sitters just looking to collect a check The thought that my child should be challenged is an absolute foreign concept. If you have other options, take them - we will be. If you do not have any other good option then prepare to teach your child everything they need without any assistance from the school. I'm sure some of the teachers are fine but it is luck of the draw and not worth risking your child's future to their overall incompetence.

Big Shanty Elementary School 1

Posted July 14, 2011
- a parent
My child attended Big Shanty Elementary School, the worst school ever; I was very disappointed with this school facility. If your child is different they do not pay attention to them, this school is a racial school (yes I said it because it is). The teachers are rude to the kids and do not assist them when they are in need. My child last year was to worst the teacher used scare tactic to teach. Due to that type of teaching my child could not excel, now he's in middle school and he's on the honor roll every marking cycle. Do not send your child to Big Shanty Elementary School if you love your child. Kennesaw Elementary School very good, they care about the kids and they want your child to excel. Awtrey Middle School very good, they too care about the kids and they want your child to excel.


Big Shanty Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2011
- a parent
This is a fabulous school!! We removed our children from private school, placed them in Big Shanty. Because the Cobb County curriculum is superior to many of the private schools, we had to have help in being brought back up to "grade equivalent" in math. They were very helpful in working with us. Communication is stellar, at this school!! Teachers and staff are very good with informing parents of the happenings and "goings ons". The office staff is friendly and helpful. Can't say enough good about this place!

Big Shanty Elementary School 3

Posted May 04, 2011
- a parent
I was apprehensive about sending my child to this school however the teachers that he did have were excellent. He went there for 3rd and 4th grade. If a child is academically strong, they will thrive in any environment. That said, the building and environment of the school leaves much to be desired, the classrooms are overcrowded. On the first day of school, there was no desk for my son and he had to sit outside while they found a desk. The class was so large in size that there was hardly any room to walk between the desks, the children were literally on top of each other. Also not too happy with the adminstration either. Overall the school needs to be updated, and brought up to date with technology and made bigger. Teachers and parent volunteers made this school way better than it seemed at first!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Big Shanty Elementary School
1575 Ben King Rd NW, Kennesaw, GA  30144
(678) 594-8023
Last modified Big Shanty Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 3-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Big Shanty Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top