Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 58 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Big Shanty Elementary School 2

Posted August 10, 2016
- a community member
Principal is clueless and very unapproachable. She has very poor decision making skills and does not support her staff. Her public presence is abhorable and she has very poor leadership skills. I have known several excellent teachers who have left the school because of the unprofessionalism and poor judgment of the current administration. The principal creates an atmosphere of fear and intimidation that is driving away the best teachers in the building.

Big Shanty Elementary School 3

Posted April 03, 2016
- a parent
As with most schools, there are teachers and staff that are awesome and there are others that you wonder why they are in education. One thing that bothered me is that I emailed the Assistant Principal twice regarding a request/concern and I never heard back from her. I feel this is completely unacceptable. However, when I emailed the Principal, I immediately heard back from her. Whenever I email my daughter's teacher, she always responds. That is excellent. Staff in the front office are usually helpful and friendly. However, the teachers in the car line and morning duty are not always friendly in the morning. Again, there seems to be a consistent mix of wonderful individuals at Big Shanty and others that could use some extra training.

Big Shanty Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted April 03, 2016
- a parent
Students have way too much homework -especially for 3rd graders! Subjects should alternate days for homework and none on weekends except reading.

Big Shanty Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted April 03, 2016
- a parent
This school, as do most, does develop competition among students which influences persistence and determination.

Big Shanty Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted April 03, 2016
- a parent
This starts at home, not at school. I hold this responsibility; I don't rely on the school for this.

Big Shanty Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted April 03, 2016
- a parent
I'm not a fan of the Eagle behavior recognition. I don't believe a student has to be perfect to be a great student and deserve recognition.

Big Shanty Elementary School 2

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
We had some good teachers here, but every negative thing you've read below is right on the money. There is a tremendous emphasis on behavior, which stresses the "good" kids out, for fear that they will be yelled at or embarrassed in front of other students for relatively minor infractions, such as talking in the hallways. The school has an almost militaristic quality about it. Awards are given only for lockstep behavior, and not at all for academic achievement. And, despite countless parents echoing these concerns, the administration appears to be indifferent.

Big Shanty Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 08, 2016
- a community member
The teachers do not know how to deal with students that have academic needs and challenges. The principal does not encourage the teachers to learn about these academic and behavioral needs and instead blames the parents and students.

Big Shanty Elementary School 3

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
My child is finishing his first year here. The teachers have been nothing short of fantastic, very flexible and willing to work within a child's limitations. The reason that I can only give 3 stars is the "Excellent Eagles" behavior program. The children carry their agendas around wherever they go and any staff member may mark the agenda, if the child has no marks at the end of a quarter, they are a "Golden Eagle" , if they have 3 or fewer marks, they are a Blue Eagle, there is a big ceremony at the end of each quarter which all students attend, I have several problems with this: 1. Students get marks for missing homework, I don't feel this is a disciplinary issue 2. Once the child has three marks, there is no avenue for her to regain eligibility for that nine weeks. For example, if a child has a really bad day and gets three marks from a variety of staff members, there is zero incentive to behave during the remaining weeks of the quarter. 3. The child who had a bad day is then, possibly weeks later, forced to sit on the cafeteria floor and watch her friends parade across the stage cheered on by parents,,teachers and administrators.

Big Shanty Elementary School 1

Posted March 18, 2015
- a parent
The teachers at this school are not organized. How can I child have only 3 to 4 grades for a grading period? When things are brought up to administration, they will do anything to try to protect their teachers acting as if you're the problem. It's really time for some of the teachers to go and/or retire. They have been there so long until they are really out of touch in how they are teaching. There is a lot a favoritism where they addressed some students behaviors and ignore the behaviors of their ALP students whose behaviors are out of control. This school needs new leadership.

Nearby schools

Big Shanty Elementary School
1575 Ben King Rd Nw, Kennesaw, GA  30144
(678) 594-8023
Last modified Big Shanty Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 3-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top