Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mckendree Elementary School 3

Posted April 24, 2016
- a parent
Discipline seems to be an issue in some grades more than others. Our children's teachers are very caring. There are lots of PTA nights that are fun, and the Parent Center is helpful. I love the new administrator. She seems really on top of things.

Mckendree Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted April 24, 2016
- a parent
There are many teachers who are effective, then there are some who practice outdated teaching. I know because I was once a teacher and now stay at home mom, and our family participates in activities outside of school with families in other schools.

Mckendree Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted April 24, 2016
- a parent
If your family is in kahoots with the principal then your child can do no wrong, even if the child gets in fights or steals. Favoritism is obvious, and our children see it.

Mckendree Elementary School 3

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
I will not rate this school as "bad" because I'm sure there are worse schools. We have been at this school for 2 years and have not had a good experience! I have a kindergartener and 4th grader. Communication is terrible! I have a son that has an IEP and communication (in my opinion) is key to his success. There is no communication between the teachers and parents unless the parent reaches out. My daughter (kindergarten) had learned so many cuss words and nothing gets done about it. I am so happy to be switching schools!

Mckendree Elementary School 4

Posted August 05, 2014
- a parent
I have two children entering the 3rd & 1st. Mckendree elementary as far as public schools go is a great school. Both children have attended since kindergarten; I will say I was drastically more impressed with my sons kindergarten teacher than my daughters. Her name was Karen Vigiliotti & she came early to help get his reading above the required level. I was pleased to let the school do "looping" and have Mrs. Vigiliotti as a first grade teacher for my son as well. However,I was not as impressed with my daughters kindergarten teacher at all and it was an opinion shared by MANY of the parents. I wish I would have pulled her. I don't feel it's the teachers sole responsibility to teach OUR children; however when over 75% of the class ( I could tell from the charts in the room throughout the year) is BELOW reading level by year end, I do feel that is a reflection of the teacher. From this years meet and greet I am very optimistic about the 14-15 year. BTW my children attend on a permissive transfer, this is my 4rth year of having to drop them off (no busses for transfer) I choose to do this because of stability and it is an overall good school from the teachers and all staff.

Mckendree Elementary School 4

Posted July 14, 2014
- a parent
I had good experiences with this school overall. Some things are just apart of the process and because I was involved, I was able to get a good hold on things before they got out of control. Both of my children did great. However, I was very involved. I hope the same for this year.

Mckendree Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
McKendree Elementary School is a great school teachers work hard with the kids and keep parents up to date on a daly bases. Base on they academics and behavior which I love. We have a close relationship with my child's teacher he's great with her and her other teachers. I will recommend anybody to this school

Mckendree Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
McKendree is my child's school. So far, I have been very happy with it and look forward to another good year.

Mckendree Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2012
- a parent
My child is in k i so proud of this school because they help him and the teacher are all nice.

Mckendree Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2012
- a parent
This is my daughter 2nd year at Mckendree Elementary. Her kindergarden teacher was very caring and supportive about my daughter education she recognize my daughter's potentials. She alway exceeds in each subject. This year she is in the 1st grade and there's not enough words can explain how awesome her teacher this year is. I'm extremely satisfied with the staff members at this school and the academic program.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mckendree Elementary School
1600 Riverside Parkway, Lawrenceville, GA  30043
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (678) 377-8933
Last modified Mckendree Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top