Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hopkins Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1780 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2013

My two daughters had a great year of 2012-2013 both teachers were awesome,The parent center is a great resource for the parents. I just wish they could have more afterschool activities for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2012

My niece is in first grade and goes to this school and the things they're teaching her is the stuff she already knows from us teaching her at home. I think the school caters more to the hispanic community because they are the majority and i guess most of them are behind and they're having to go backward to try to get them up to the level of learning they're suppose to be at. We have been thinking about home schooling her because we dont want her to be falling behind when she's suppose to be working at a first grade level and not at kindergaten being taught her ABC's. I will say that everyone there is very nice and i will give them 5 stars for that but a 2 for the education part.


Posted April 11, 2010

i will say that the administration and the teachers here seem to care for the kids and that they try their best to help them succeed. However, first impressions stick with you. Upon entering the school i always feel unwelcome by the door greeter. She always seems to look at me as if i am an awful person. Although when i volunteer for the pta she is very nice then. i would change her position if i could. she shouldnt be the first person parents see when they come to the school. Also, my son was put into esol when the only language he speaks is english and i wasnt informed of this till 4 months into the school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

I am a new parent to the Hopkins school this year, and have been impressed with the community spirit and the love for children that is evident from everyone. I am always greeted with a smile, and sometimes even a hug, from the office staff. Everyone seems happy, and there is a sense of warmth everywhere. The parent center is a great resource for the parents, and we have participated in several events offered for our kids and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2009

Foucus to revise the way that parents are poorly greeted by Ms Rushin, she is a total turn off. It's not a warm feeling upon entering the doors of Hopkins. The academics are outstanding and the encouragement given to our children to be more involved in expressing themselves through writing and also in the fluencecy of reading, those efforts are appreciated. Emphasis should be placed in after school activity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

I found this school to be great.They send notices to he family to keep us informed.They are teaching my seven year old spanish.They send their work home for us to review.One complaint when ever they have an out side activity they leave us the parents out side in the heat of 105 temperature.Also I rememeber during the cold standing out side for the xmas concert.Pleaase open up the school activity area or lunch room and make us feel welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

My daughter has attended this school for 2nd and 2nd grade. We lived in Dekalb county before and had attend a 'good school' but there test scores did not campare to Gwinetts.. Dekalb county offered an afterschool program which helped me a lot but my child was not challenged in school. At Hopkins the teachers acknowledged that she was gifted and had her tested. She was fortunate to get teachers that love their jobs. I can not fault the school system for my child not learning as much as she could. I do alot of extra stuff on my own at home and during the summer months. It is clear the the GA school system is not the greatest in the country so we as parents have to take responsibility for our part in making sure that our children are learning. I loved our Hopkins experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

I dis like this school, I can't wait to May 20th when school is out, My son will not be returning, there is no parent involment, the teacher don't know how to cummincate to the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2007

My son will be starting school this fall and he will be attending Hopkins, I am very excited for him I have 2 other kids that have attended this school one of whch is still there she will be in the 4th grade, my oldest one attended this shcool in kindergarten and 5th grade during the 2nd grade thru 4th grade she attended Meadowcreek Elementary and from what I seen between the 2 oldest one I feel that Hopkins does a great job with the kids, I regret having my oldest one going to Meadowcreek and not being able to attend all her elementary years at Hopkins. I see the difference with the one that has always attended Hopkins she has learned so much and the teacher are great. If I had to choose right now the school for my kindergarten with no doubt Hopkins would be the one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

My daughter started Kindergarten at this school but I removed them before the year was over because I didn't feel she was being challenged enough. This school and many others in the metro area really need to change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2005

My son attended this school from K-5. We had a wonderful experience. I felt the school did a great job with activities for the kids. The teachers my son had were great! They were all very caring, dedicated teachers who worked hard to see he had the best education possible while there. As far as safety, there were a couple of issues I was not pleased with but overall they work hard to make it a safe enviroment for all!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

302 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

305 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

302 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

323 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

328 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

323 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

287 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

285 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

297 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

298 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

262 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 68% 12%
Black 21% 37%
Asian 6% 3%
White 3% 44%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Penny Clavijo
Fax number
  • (770) 931-7010

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1315 Dickens Rd NW
Lilburn, GA 30047
Phone: (770) 564-2661

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT