Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westside High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2009

I am the grandparent/guardian of a recent Westside graduate. My congratulations to the principal, administrative staff, counselors, and teaching staff of Westside High School. With a student population of many ethnic groups and diverse social & economic backgrounds, the personnel of Westside has managed to pull together a working educational environment conducive to effective learning. This is an outstanding achievement worthy of praise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

westside ais a really good school...i love it and its also a really big fashion show...but i still love it...we are hard to beat in all of our sports espically football...eveyone loves football season at our school...
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2008

As a parent who is an involved parent, I am aware of the changes that have been made to move Westside in a positive direction. Where once parents felt ignored at best, they are now welcome. Although Westside is a large school, we are seeing the beginning of a family atmosphere that has been developed since the new principal began there last year. Academics are a priority but the entire child is the focus. I am more than satisfied and in fact, quite proud to be a Seminole!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2006

Westside has always been wonderful, and it has just been getting better and better by the moment with Mrs. Perkins as our new principal. Mrs. Perkins is not only concerned with our academics, and passing, but she has also planned many new activities for us. With all the hype about the football season, and scheduled pep rallies that we didn't have last year, many students found themselves engaged in school spirit, while having fun. But that doesn't mean Mrs. Laura Perkins is all about game, she is also concerned, but not overly concerned with dress code. The way she subtly administers last year's harsh dress code rules gives the teachers more time to teach, instead of preaching useless rules. On top of this, Mrs. Perkins is friendly and finds time to get to know the students. I love how engaged she is in enriching our experiences at Westside High.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2006

As a graduate of the Bibb Co. school system and a successful college student at Spelman College, I don't believe that it's the education system that is the problem, it's our 'microwave' generation who wants things given to them quickly and easily rather than work for it. It's not about what is given, it's about what you take out of it. However, I do believe that dress code is a joke. It's especially difficult because the dress code rules are so out of touch with what manufacturers make today. The clothes that are in dress code are near impossible to find.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 8, 2006

Westside is all about dresscode, rather then teaching. Although we make the AYP and all the others, I believe as a student that the school is more worried about who is wearing what when who is learning what. In my years at Westside, it has been overcrowded and i feel the teachers are afraid of some students. They do not treat students equally as far as dresscode.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 12, 2005

Most of the staff is more concerned with the children's clothing rather than what they should be learning. I had the opportunity to substitute teach there and I watched a teacher stop class to measure the heel of a shoe. I'll let you be the judge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2004

Westside is the greatest! Parents who criticize may need to look at their own involvement. Teachers work hard to teach; it should be our job to get the children there and to get them there with the necessary supplies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2004

A hard look needs to be taken at the schools. The students per teacher at westside is not what is reported. The real numer is around 30 to 1. Councilers and other non teaching staff have been included when they should not be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2004

Good school with faculty and staff taking a 0 tolerance approach to disruptive behaviors while continuing to nuture the students. As an involved parent I have been pleased with the system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2003

Counseling is a joke. My senior did not pass one course 1st semester and cannot take the alternative next semester as it is not offered. Options now are to pay $400 to take class outside of Westside, don't graduate, or go for GED....what does this say about our schools? Seniors are to order rings, announcements, pictures, etc 1st month back after summer vacation but who knows if they will actually graduate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2003

The Bibb school sytem is more worried about what type of clothing the kids are wearing rather than what they are learning
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

207 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

187 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

206 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

204 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
57%

2009

 
 
80%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
63%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
51%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
2%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
64%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
37%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
25%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
53%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 86% 37%
White 10% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Laura Perkins
Fax number
  • (478) 757-5525

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2851 Heath Rd
Macon, GA 31206
Phone: (478) 779-3813

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT