Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public charter
Marietta, GA
Students enrolled: 2,636
 

4 stars
Based on 84 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


90 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Walton High School 5

Posted January 26, 2015
- a parent
Walton has consistently been one of the best schools in the state, according to various national magazine rankings. The graduation rate is 99 - 100%, and the percentage of graduates moving on to college is above 95%. High quality curriculum, top educators, a broad range of AP classes, and a variety of extracurricular activities make Walton the top choice for parents who want the best education for their children.

Walton High School 3

Posted January 04, 2015
- a parent
Walton High School is an okay school. It could be a bad school if you get bad teachers but if you get the right teachers you should see a successful semester ahead. Lots of families are moving away from this school because it wasn't as good as they had expected. For example, is that some teachers here aren't good at their job. They add zeros for work you have done sometimes and they get mad if you ask students questions(even though the teacher isn't talking) or other reasons to contact your parents and get mad at you. There are good things about Walton too like WEB help sessions(Take advantage and get an A in a class!). I went to my Honors Bio sessions almost every WEB and I had a 92 in the class. High school counts so let go of social media, texting and expect a ton of studying for these 4 years. Already messed up a chance of getting into a good college. If you stay, enjoy being a Walton Raider!

Walton High School 5

Posted June 30, 2014
- a student
Walton is the best school in Cobb county by far! When I was a freshman coming to Walton from out of state I was greeted with open arms and made so many great friends. The academics are challenging but not overwhelming like others say. The teachers go above and beyond to help you get the grades you want and honestly want to see you succeed. The extracurricular activities are everywhere! There is definitely pressure to go to college but I think that is the best part because it helps students set academic goals and improve themselves as all-around students. If your ready to work hard and make your four years count, Walton is the place to be
1 person found this helpful

Walton High School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
It really is a top rated school deserving of top rating. It is academically challenging for all levels with different degrees of rigor for all levels of student. It is no joke of a school. You get educated from her & will be able to achieve in college.

Walton High School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
The best thing about Walton is the encouragement to go to college and parents and school staff's commitment to make it happen. It is a community base school not just a regular school.

Walton High School 5

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
Not a Charter School! Good overall,AP great very competitive. Maybe too much. Sometime staff take themselves to seriously-Walton Parent

Walton High School 1

Posted January 19, 2014
- a student
This school is awful. You get so much homework each night that there is not enough hours in the day to finish it. It has WEB days almost every week which is just another opportunity to get more homework instead of being able to get caught up. They have incentive for finals. It is nice except people show up to school sick and the Walton plague gets passed around. The people who go there are very snobby. The school itself is disgusting. They have an agricultural program, its called the bugs. All the classrooms except for the science rooms have carpets. They are cleaned once a semester. The school is pretty dirty except when they have the SAT going on, then the halls and bathrooms are actually cleaned. The staff is more focused on painting over the writing in the bathrooms then actually cleaning them.
2 people found this helpful

Walton High School 5

Posted December 31, 2013
- a parent
Our family recently downsized into a smaller, older house from where we were living out in Canton, GA so that my daughter could go to Walton. The move has been so worth it. This school's focus on developing well-rounded students was missing from our previous local high school.

Walton High School 3

Posted December 28, 2013
- a community member
Great academically, but lacks diversity. If you'd like an all white population, it's the place for you.

Walton High School 5

Posted December 07, 2013
- a student
I'm a senior and overall I had a great experience at Walton. Walton seems to be pretty well-known throughout Atlanta but here are some of my pros/cons about the school. Pros: AMAZING teachers (for the most part) who genuinely love teaching and are clearly not here for the paycheck; students who (again, for the most part) are well-rounded and competitive but not cutthroat (I really don't know where this misconception comes from since I'm pretty average and don't feel out-of-place attending Walton); WEB (Wednesday Enrichment Block) which gives students a couple hours every Wednesday to seek one-on-one help from teachers in any class; sports and activities (there are so many available and the student body is so active outside the classroom!!) CONS: Lack of true diversity (especially true economically - most students are from middle to upper middle class backgrounds with a few really upper class students thrown into the mix) probably doesn't match the real world outside of the East Cobb bubble; Cobb district budget cuts (some classes are larger than they used to be, although the PTA and local businesses have helped offset some of the cuts; two feeder middle schools vs.one
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Walton High School
1590 Bill Murdock Rd, Marietta, GA  30062
(770) 578-3225
Last modified Walton High School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Walton High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 90 reviews. Top