Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain View Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 841 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, September 28, 2014

Great school and friendly teachers! My daughter has been there 2 years now and she loves it.I wish they would offer more clubs/sports for free but besides that my daughter and I have been happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2014

Excellent teachers, very friendly and helpful front office staff, superb and involved principal, very active PTA who ensure everyone is involved and communicated with if they want to be. Can't speak highly enough about the school. I have 2 children there and this is our 5th year in atttendance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

My granddaughter is the 3rd generation to attend Mt. View. It has certainly changed from my day (the dinosaurs are no longer a problem at recess) and from my daughters years - they have changed the buildings around. But my granddaughter is very happy and seems to get the support she needs.


Posted April 11, 2012

I have had 3 children at this school, and I have mostly been unhappy with it. While my kids have had some really great teachers in the last six years, I have been extremely frustrated with the school's emphasis on fund-raising (booster-thon, ugghh!), the administration's focus on policy over what's best for students, and the general feeling that this school is stuck in the 1950s. I've overhead teachers speaking very unkindly to students on many occasions, my kids have spent countless hours doing useless homework (worksheets, etc.), teachers appear to quit engaging kids by mid-March to practice for the CRCT (that's another story!), and the school lunch is pathetic (why are they selling flaming hot cheetos?!). The front office staff is friendly & the PTA is very involved, but I'm a public school teacher & I know that Mtn. View could do a better job providing a creative, engaging, welcoming environment. IMPORTANT NOTE: this school is divided between three high schools, which affects the sense of community here. The majority of kids live in North Hampton Subdivision (Lassiter)... the Sprayberry & Pope students/parents often feel left out. Other nearby schools are kept together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

I think Mountain View is a top notch school. The teachers are fantastic and the staff is caring. The building is older but the not lacking in facilities. The principal is tough but fair and I think she does wonderful job. I can't say enough good things about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

This school is excellent but the building is small for the amount of students. They need to expand. My son loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

Three of my kids are going to this school. We moved them from a private school.Its a wonderful school and my kids are really happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2007

Mountain View Elementary is a great school with excellent leadership, fantastic teachers and phenomenal parent support. The school just started a parent foundation to support the school above and beyond funds provided by the PTA and the County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2007

This is my daughter's second year at Mountain View and I truly believe in the educational environment that are providing. The teachers are truly top-notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2004

Three of my sons go or have gone to Mountain View and I think it is the best school in the world. They truly individualize the teaching methods used to reach each individual child and they truly care.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

147 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

147 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

147 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

133 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

134 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

133 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

137 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 3%
Black 6% 37%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3448 Sandy Plains Rd
Marietta, GA 30066
Phone: (770) 578-7265

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Pathways Academy
Marietta, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT