Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 57 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hillgrove High School 1

Posted February 06, 2016
- a community member
The Post on August 12 2015 is exactly right. Communication with the IEp team to be little to none. The teachers spy on students that already have a reputation when they have goofy conversations with other student and report negativity to administrators to get the kids suspended. They work very poorly with troubled kids.The teachers are there for the check and not your kid so don't expect any support from them. Their policy of working with your child only if they are straight A students. These children all are the future of this country and should be with a dedicated staff showing and praising all student from the straight f students the A students even troubled kids but that is not the case. Expect very little feedback on your child's progress. The staff and the teachers and administrators are not there for your kid, you have to be the advocate for your child. They truly do have unfair discipline practices. Lack of communication and lack of support for all students is the main focus for them. They are very discriminating toward their students and pick and choose students who are going to succeed and who will not. Getting an education should not have the extra negative baggage they put on the kids they consider less fortunate and trublesome to succeed. This scars a kid for a lifetime because how your treated at school especially in high school leaves a lingering affect for a life time.

Hillgrove High School 2

Posted August 12, 2015
- a parent
This school is probably great if you have an average child, but if you have a child with special needs or any type of IEP don't expect much help. I have found the communication between deparments to be not on par and my childs counselor to be very apathetic. I thought by transferring my child to a better school district I could expect better services or at least decent services , but I'm very disappointed thus faf

Hillgrove High School 5

Posted August 02, 2015
- a parent
Love this school. They have great leadership and teachers. They also have great sports teams.

Hillgrove High School 5

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
LOVE IT! This is a great school with a lot of opportunities and a lot of good kids. My daughter has had great classes, teachers and friends here.

Hillgrove High School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a community member
Former student. This is a great school and I feel like I was pushed and learned a lot.

Hillgrove High School 2

Posted April 07, 2014
- a community member
Before attending hillgrove I was at a high school in which barely had rules. Rules might be good but hillgrove is overboard with it. We have 6 minutes to get to class and If we don't we automatically get a detention, what about a warning? Not everyone can afford cars and what parent wants to be late to work because hillgrove staff cares more about sucking up to administrators than what a students home life might be like. I've never seen so many teachers suck up to the administrators it's disgusting. The dress code is off the wall. I'm sorry leggings,shorts, and slippers might just be the only thing someone can afford. Not everyone wants to dress up for school it's uncomfortable and makes people not want to learn. But hey if you're popular or pretty don't worry the administrators won't care what you do. I would never send my kid to a school that seems like a prison. Or where they can't walk in the hall with out being judged by not only students but teachers. Trust me I've heard the teachers talk bad about students.

Hillgrove High School 5

Posted June 30, 2013
- a community member
I just graduated and absolutely loved the school. We have some of the best teachers, administators and principle in the state, by far. To put it simply I had a great four year and I will really miss Hillgrove.

Hillgrove High School 3

Posted November 07, 2012
- a community member
You can't judge this school unless you are part of the staff. Teachers are terrified of losing their jobs or not having their contracts renewed. Everyone is sworn to secrecy. No one knows why teachers suddenly disappear. If they say anything, they are told that they will lose their jobs. Even the food court workers are afraid of losing their jobs because of all the rules. All classroom doors must stay locked during class. In such a large school, students only have about 6 minutes to get to class; they don't have time to go to the restroom or lockers. They have to carry their very heavy book bags all day. Teachers have their own rules about allowing students to go to the restroom. If students misbehave, it's always the teacher's fault. Rules are so strict that it doesn't take much for a faculty member or student to break a rule. Girls, for instance, can wear shorts but they can't wear a sleeveless shirt or blouse.

Hillgrove High School 3

Posted October 30, 2012
- a student
Being a student who has attended Hillgrove for all four years, I do have to say Hillgrove is a nice school but sometimes feels like a prison, you almost never leave the main building unless you have a p.e. class which is kind of suffocating at times. The school is full of cliques, just like any other high school I suppose. Most of the teachers are amazing, really helpful, still has those "bad apples" though. The administration is... STRICT STRICT, did I mention strict? It's really ridiculous at times. I understand you want to keep and maintain a structed environment but Kattoula/Shaw take some things way to far. When Boland left after my freshman year, everyone's mood changed for the worse. As a whole, Hillgrove is a really nice school -education and environment wise- administration on the other hand... Let's just say I feel bad for the students still there. CLASS OF 2012!

Hillgrove High School 5

Posted March 08, 2012
- a parent
My son goes to this school and I could not be more pleased! I think this is one of the best high schools in the West Cobb area.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hillgrove High School
4165 Luther Ward Rd, Powder Springs, GA  30127
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. (678) 331-3961
Last modified Hillgrove High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top