Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Ridge Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 728 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2011

The teachers at Lake Ridge are phenomenal! My son just finished his 5th grade year and attended Lake Ridge since he was in kindergarten. Every year he had the most awesome teachers. They were very down to earth, easy to communicate with, and very knowlegeable. I received phone calls not only when my son wasn't doing well but I also got calls and notes to say that he was doing a good job. I hope that I can have the same rapport with his middle school teachers. Lake Ridge felt like a family and I will miss being there. I am sure that my son will too. It takes a village to raise a child and Lake Ridge was part of our village. Hopefully Lake Ridge will be spared from all the nonsense that is going on with the superintendent's desire to make so many ridiculous changes that not only affect those employed by the county but also the well being of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

ive been at lake ridge since i was in kindergarten and it is not a very good school as people say. they rate it 3 out of 10 but to my stand point it is a 0. im in 5th grade and this is my last year i could tell you that the teachers there have bad communication skills and the principal is horrible the assistant principal has no say so. it is so hard to meet expectaions and when you do they want to just make seem like you have to start all over again i do not recommened this school to anybody


Posted August 31, 2009

In my experience with Lake Ridge, the teachers have been great, but the principal is unprofessional, rude, and has very poor communication skills. She constantly maintains a demeanor of being irritated with the kids, as well as the parents, and does not seem to enjoy her job. Her communication skills leave much to be desired, and it really sets a bad tone for the school as a whole. I see similar complaints dating back for a few years, and can't help but think lack of parental involvement is the reason she has been able to continue on in this manner. The teachers have been more than phenomenal, and the office staff, especially Ms. Davis, is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I've been in love w/this school since we moved here to Ga. The staff is wonderful especially Ms. Davis the school secretary & Mrs. Williams a teacher's assistant at that time (3yrs ago). They actually love the kids & their jobs. My son has been here since kindergarten & he loves it. Keep up the excellent work our kids need you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

I will have to agree with some of the previous ratings. There is a lack of leadership from the principal and leadership staff. There is poor parental involvement. I personally feel that the school is not operating on a level to prepare our students for the next step and the real world. There have been no math competitions, spelling bees, science fairs, etc. to help kids achieve in school. I believe that the problem starts at the head and the saying goes, if the head isn't right, then you can't expect much from the rest of the body. It seems as if no one is ready to expect greatness from this school and to hold them accountable for their actions/nonactions
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2008

I agree with previous posters. The lack of positive leadership at Lake Ridge is a major problem for this school. Please check the teacher and staff turn over rate since the current principal has been in place. I am a former teacher; moral was very poor and had a negative effect on instruction.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2007

I totally agree with those who believe that the current Principal IS the major problem. She has an ego problem, and is ignorant about how kids really learn.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 19, 2005

I think this is a great school with great leadership. Because of the leadership of this principal, the school's test scores have reached and surpased expectancy. The school environment is one of high standards and great moral turpitude. The teachers and counselors are highly skilled and trained and are very helpful to parents. The music and art programs are wonderful. The students have an opportunity to participate in a variety of extracurricular PTA, Black History, Cinco De Maya activities that are directed by the Art and Music programs. Parental involvment is average, but steadly increasing. The newly hired assistant principal is really bringing about some innovated changes in the existing discipline plan. The students have a zeal to learn and to be taught. The school environment is one that encourages learning and successful achievement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2005

I am very dissatisfied with the atmosphere and morale at this school. There is nothing in place to elevate the learning of children based on individual performance. Rather, all the children are being taught on the same level-crazy! Also, there are NO Parents or Teachers involved in PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2004

This was a great school. The principal that is present now is one of the worst I have seen yet. She has poor communication skills for a principal and she will not let the Parents and Teachers run the PTA program. The children are suffering at this school because of her and all the exceptional teachers are leaving or gone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

This school was at one time one of the best schools in the county. Since this principal came it has just gone down hill. If you look at how many Staff members have left since this principal came you will see there is definitely a problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

115 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

114 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

116 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

114 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

114 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

114 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
52%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

108 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 59% 37%
Hispanic 38% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
White 1% 44%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • marsha hood
Fax number
  • (770) 907-5185

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7900 Lake Ridge Cir
Riverdale, GA 30296
Phone: (770) 907-5170

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Solid Rock Academy
Fayetteville, GA




Christian Academy
Fayetteville, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT