Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sweet Apple Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 791 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 16, 2005

My children have attended Sweet Apple for 4 years. We could not be more pleased with the teachers and the administration. My kids have always felt safe, and we feel they are challenged academically. The art and music programs are superior to our old school, and the program for gifted kids is terrific. I do feel they need a little more recess. The research I have seen indicates that recess is connected to academic success in the primary grades. They can only pay attention for so long w/o a break. Discipline has gotten much better since the new Assistant Principal has come on board, as has cleanliness throughout the building. The only complaint I have is that the PTA is very cliquish, and if you do not live in the right neighborhoods, you are pretty much cut off.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2005

My child has been at the school for 3 years. The quality of teacher has varied from year to year. This is due, in part, to the loss of a very good assistant principal, and 2 years of good teachers leaving to follow him. I rate the teacher quality lower than I would have a year ago due to the loss of good teachers, and the replacement by new to teaching teachers, rather than experienced ones. There is significant parental involvement in the classrooms, but as others have said, that too can vary depending on the receptiveness of the teacher to that involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2005

My two children have been at this school this year. I am continually disappointed in the teacher communication between classroom and home in one class. Some teachers don't communicate easily, seldom send notes home, or return emails. The other teacher I have only been able to volunteer ONCE the entire year (it's April)- I have been practically begging to be involved. Inconsistent is the word I would use. The PTA and parent involvement/volunteer aspect etc is minimal. I am so disappointed in this aspect, we are going to try and move out of this district. I do feel the school is very safe, and it is clean. I find the office and administration fair, and easy to talk with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2005

This school is probably the worst school my child has ever attended. Although he has had some good teachers...overall, his expierence here has been poor. The principal is not involved within her school. We were so glad when our child moved on from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2004

If your child does not conform to their standards, they stereotype the child(ren)as differnet and treat them as such.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2004

This school has proven to be one of the better schools in the area. The parental involvement is fantastic and the students are top notch performers. I am somewhat disappointed in the emphasis placed on bring underperforming students up to par, while much less attentions appears to be given to students performing well above average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2004

My child has attended Sweet Apple for 2 yrs. with 2 wonderful teachers and is very happy. The parent involvement is outstanding along with the PTA. The things that my daughter has learned just amazes me and my husband and we couldn't be more satisfied or at a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2003

Great school with high quality teachers and high level of parental involvment. Great focus on music and arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

128 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

128 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

128 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

152 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

152 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

152 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

125 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 44%
Black 6% 37%
Asian 5% 3%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12025 Etris Rd
Roswell, GA 30075
Phone: (770) 643-3310

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Porter School
Roswell, GA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT