Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Cottage School

Private | 6-12 | 128 students

 
 

Living in Roswell

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $279,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

162 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2014

If your child/teen is in an EAP in a public school and struggling, this is the place for you child/teen. If your child's/teen's grades have gone south and yet you know they can do the work, this is the place for your child/teen. If they are having trouble fitting in or no longer enjoy sports because they're considered - not good enough - this is the school for your child/teen. If they want confidence, to enjoy learning from their teachers, and to participate with other kids/teens in a small classroom structure - this is the school. In addition, the learn accountability - they might not always grasp it but the school has a big focus on this. They have reward trips and activities for those that fulfill their obligations. I can't say enough good things about The Cottage School. The middle-school & teen years are a challenge and The Cottage School is focused on this age group. They have a mix of female and male teachers - great for this age group. We receive a weekly status call from our kids' homeroom teacher not only updating how our kids are doing and upcoming events but answer any questions we might have. This school has been a life-changer for our family of teens!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2014

My son has been at TCS now for almost two years. We came from a public charter school where he was bullied consistently. He was so unhappy socially. And academically with the large size of the class and one teacher he was not getting anything he needed. He never knew what to expect day to day. He felt sad and alone. At TCS he has turned into a very different child. He is organized, responsible and is making great grades. Because of this he is happy and self confident. I could not be more happy with the turnaround we have seen in him. No school is without flaws but I am so thrilled with the close, caring environment he is in. He actually told me one day "mom, the teachers here actually like us!" To top it off the athletic dept is amazing. They have given my son the team experience he has never been able to experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2014

The approach draws the most out of my son. The opportunity to be involved in a variety of extra curricular activities, while also getting a specialized education is wonderful. School is not easy for my son, but they work with him to help him succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

The Cottage School is exactly what our daughter needed! We are thrilled to have found such a loving, caring and supportive learning environment. We tried public school and another private school close by but they were not good fits for my daughter. She struggles with executive function issues, memory challenges, processing issues and social interactions. Just yesterday she informed me that she was excited to participate in class because 'the teachers see her'. She loves going to school now! That is huge! TCS teaches so much more than the curriculum - they teach lifelong lessons... such as cause/effect, budgeting, social interactions, conflict management/resolution, self advocating, and much more. I would highly recommend TCS - especially if your child seems to 'fall between the cracks' in other learning environments. Tuition is high but right in line with other private schools in the area. But we have found it worth every penny and are glad to reenroll for 2014-2015.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

The Cottage School has changed our son's life. The teachers and staff are the best around, and the sports program is top-notch. Worth every dollar spent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

We are so delighted in our second year at The Cottage School. The teachers (are there long term) and really care about their students. Their revolutionary system (where they treat school like a job) empowers students to do their best and to work independently. My child is happy, learning and thriving in middle shool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2012

Staff very friendly, however tuition is unjustifiably expensive @ ($24,000/yr)....and lunch is extra! My biggest concern academically... that graduates from TCS can perform well at college level in their freshman year at a good 4 year institution. Most graduates go on to Reinhardt Univ., community college and the like, not too many upper tier state institutions. My feeling is that for severely challenged students this school could be a solution, albeit an expensive one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2012

I was sent here from public school in the 9th grade. My experiences here were nothing but a joke. Sometimes I look back and feel I learned little in my high school career. Half of the kids are 'special needs' and are spoon fed the A's, and the other half are behavioral problems and arent in an environment where they can succeed. The whole levels thing is a joke as well. Preparing a child for the real world does NOT mean teaching them that they can get whatever thay wan't with minimal effort because theyre 'special needs'.


Posted March 28, 2012

The Cottage School provided just what our daughter needed to get through the difficult middle and high school years. The teachers and staff were always willing to go above and beyond the basic requirements to get her the help she needed. Probably the most important thing they gave her was the ability to see herself as "normal" and the self-respect that went with that. Their structured approach seems to work very well with students needing special education. Even after graduation they have been a continuing help to her in finding a path to independence. Their sports program was an important part of the experience and it was very well-managed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

The Cottage School represents a unique niche in education that heretofore was left sadly empty. Their dedication to each and every individual student is unmatched, and their staff is always willing to go above and beyond at every opportunity. If a student finds themselves struggling in their coursework, every teacher makes sure they find the time to help that student achieve success. The faculty often forsake their off-lunches and morning planning times to make sure students are accommodated. They give liberally of their own free time and ask nothing in return. There is no charge for any extra help. Each step in the TCS process builds on the last. No student is issued a diploma without a concrete post-secondary plan in place, monitored and approved by the administration and discussed extensively with the student and his/her parents. What each student chooses to do once they have left TCS with their diploma and post-secondary plan is out of the hands of the school at that point, but the Cottage School does everything it can within its doors to ensure that no student ever walks away without having had every possible opportunity to find their own flavor of success!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 17, 2012

My daughter was sent to this school by other family members. As her mother, I needed help with behavioral issues. I was promised I would be kept in the loop from the school, but that didn't happen. I was also disappointed to discover teachers were charging very large sums for tutoring of subjects that were to be taught at school. Oh - I am a teacher. Bottom-line, my daughter is now 18. All the "planning for the future" was worthless. She is not doing what we all thought would happen. I would NOT recommend parents spend such outrageous sums of money for a school that doesn't deliver what they claim. It took 3 years and the aftermath to realize how much the school failed all of us, but especially my daughter. The "sound" good, but don't deliver. One positive.... they have a fabulous sports program for all the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

The Cottage has provided an environment from which our child could gain social ground and experience academia without the distinction of a label. The founders and staff alike are dedicated and driven professionals who unite for one purpose, the growth and development of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

Because it prepares the students to enter life, not just make time and grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2010

Cottage has top quality staff, which is a key element responsible for their success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2010

The best place in the world for children with learning disa!bilities. It has made my daughter what she is today
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2010

Young students who otherwise would have been forgotten along with their amazing talents, are redeemed and given their deserving place in society


Posted October 29, 2010

It gives children a chance when no other school can! What a wonderful school to support!!


Posted October 29, 2010

The Cottage School is Outstanding! My son now loves school...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2010

It is a great school thathelps special children


Posted October 29, 2010

The amazing and gifted faculty and staff are the almost "magical" force behind the numerous success stories to come from The Cottage School - our son is one among many. This incredibly dedicated and talented group educates, guides, mentors, counsels and coaches our underperforming and discouraged youngsters and leads them into confident and productive adulthood. My family will always be grateful for what The Cottage School does.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 44%
Black 12% 37%
Hispanic 12% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school public schools
private schools
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Italian
Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Jacque Digieso, Ph.D., Executive Director
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • CEC
Fax number
  • (770) 641-9026

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • The parent association (pac) and athletic booster club provide volunteer support to the academic and extracurricular programs at the cottage school. parents assist in community service activities with students, organize fundraising projects benefiting the school's tuition assistance and building funds, participate in "lunch and learn" and "breakfast for dads" educational gatherings.
More from this school
  • Since 1985, The Cottage School has provided a challenging college prep academic curriculum tailored to the needs of individual students. Small classes, varied instructional methods, enhanced technology, and a workplace atmosphere not only prepare students for post-secondary education, but also provide the real-life skills needed to be successful in the workplace.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
public schools
private schools

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
two and four year colleges
technical colleges
College preparation / awareness offered
Summer college prep programs
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 Grimes Bridge Road
Roswell, GA 30075
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 641-8688

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Swift School
Roswell, GA



Atlanta Country Day School
Sandy Springs, GA


Eaton Academy
Roswell, GA


Eaton Academy
Roswell, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT