Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

18 reviews of this school


Covenant Christian School 1

Posted May 14, 2015
- a parent
I was very disappointed with our experience at CCS. The homework load is excessive and the actual material covered has no practical value, for the most part. I have found that many children who leave CCS in the middle grades are actually BEHIND their peers in academics. What bothered me the most was the lack of love, care, and grace shown to students that I would have expected from a Christian school. The children are definitely treated like robots are are not allowed to be children and enjoy their experience!

Covenant Christian School 5

Posted April 18, 2015
- a parent
Our three sons have all attended this excellent neighborhood school; we are going on seven years at CCS. The fellowship among parents and teachers has been such a blessing to our entire family. We love living in Smyrna, and are thankful we don't have to leave the area to find a first-class Christian education and preparation for high school for our sons.

Covenant Christian School 5

Posted April 14, 2015
- a parent
My oldest son attended from K4 - 8th grade. I currently have a son in 4th, who has also attended since K5. I cannot say how much of a Blessing this school has been for our family. My sons have been challenged academically and have excelled. The school has worked with us in the growth and development for our children and has helped equip them with a loving and kind spirit, a love and concern for others and immeasurable gifts to share as they continue to become valuable contributors to society. I cannot say enough about the school, the staff (and we have had just about all of them), and their devotion to the children and their commitment and concern for the parents.

Covenant Christian School 1

Posted April 03, 2015
- a parent
The below statements are TRUE!! The administration will come back and make comments to dispute this because her daughter finished from the this school. Other points are that girls are favored over boys because most of the staff either have girls and no children at all. So if you have a boy beware! They are disciplined harshly when a lot of the solution could be exerting energy. The school does not think physical activity is important and will have the students working during recess time or walking the line and lets not forget silent lunch. Socialization is not encouraged. Students are treated like robots going through the motion. A lot of rote memorization. If your student has a great memory then great because the teachers will go over the math and grammar test and then take it. Not giving the students the opportunity to study at home with parents. The preparation is not for long term memory learning. Too much bible timeline memory and the writing process needs to be updated. Curriculum needs to be revamped to the state standards and common core so that the students will be competitive. After all the SAT has to be taken. K4 students do not go outside but work so hard

Covenant Christian School 1

Posted April 03, 2015
- a parent
This school is not what it once was. From unequal treatment of students, discipline issues and several harsh teachers the school lost its way. The math curriculum is antiquated and rather than propelling your students ahead they are in fact falling behind. The grammar is top notch and our students are able to perform well in language, spelling and writing, they are excellent orators and can speak and recite well. The failure is the math and science, both are deficient at best. In all fairness the school provides a strong foundation in the early grades but beyond that there are hours of homework, constant rote memorization and a disconnect from valuable basic knowledge. The nightly homework often extends to working on memorization over breaks, holidays and weekends. Tons of information is poured onto the kids each week, much of which they are tested on the same week, yet months and weeks later they can't tell you anything about what they have learned.

Covenant Christian School 1

Posted March 30, 2015
- a parent
There are a few pros. We have encountered some really great teachers. CONS:The homework load is ridiculous. They spend 8 hours in school and 3 hours on homework. There is no time for your family. The students are studying things that will not benefit them in the future. Much of the curriculum is outdated and needs to be reevaluated. The focus is on memorization of history time lines but the students don't really learn about the what happened during the various periods. Everything is rushed. There are many discipline issues that are handled poorly and good families are running away. The teachers don't get the support needed with discipline issues or children with special needs. Some teachers are great at managing their classes while others have no clue. The classes seem to be imbalanced. Between grade levels, one class has all of the smart well behaved kids while the other has just the opposite. This school has lost sight of what is important.

Covenant Christian School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
One of the Great things about CCS is the way in which the school strives to honor Christ in all areas. The school invites input from all stakeholders to push for improvement. We have been more than happy with this excellent school for years. CCS have been in Smyrna for 40 years and it continues to provide an excellent Christian classical education. The rigor of the program is NOT for all students, and there not a whole lot of 'bells and whistles', however, our children are getting a top notch education for a great tuition price that is being delivered by people who truly love Christ and these students. We LOVE THIS SCHOOL!!!!

Covenant Christian School 2

Posted June 09, 2014
- a community member
This school is not clean,it is old,it is very small,and it has no gym.I would not recommend this school to anyone

Covenant Christian School 5

Posted September 08, 2012
- a teacher
In the last 13 years, I have witnessed Covenant Christian School from the perspective of a parent, a school board member, a teacher, and now as an administrator. The story of CCS is truly one of God's continued faithfulness and grace. CCS is a place of love and learning in a culture that is characterized by joy, respect and order. CCS serves Christian families, but has NEVER in 37 years required parents be members of SPC. Our faculty is outstanding and our families are such a blessing! If you are looking for a great place for the classical Christian education of your children, consider Covenant Christian School in Smyrna. Soli Deo Gloria!

Covenant Christian School 5

Posted March 12, 2012
- a parent
CCS is amazing. We have a K5 and 1st grader. Christ is front and center. Education is structured around strong fundamentals to prepare the kids to exceed all standards. CCS has many after school activities track, chess, acting, music, etc. and many family events through out the year. Parent involved is great from our perspective. School has grown to over 200+ students and reached it's 2015 plan/goals in 2012. There is a wait list at many grade levels. We do not go to the church that the school leases space from and have not been asked to leave due to that. We also have not heard of anyone being asked to leave due to that (other than the review below). The school is separate from the church and operates independently. There is a discount for church members who attend the school, but we have never been pressured or even asked to attend the church. One parent is required to be a member of a church...wherever that may be.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Covenant Christian School
3130 Atlanta Rd SE, Smyrna, GA  30080
(770) 435-1596
Last modified Covenant Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Covenant Christian School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top