Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Nickajack Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 960 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

63 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 16, 2012

Nickajack has come full circle since many of the less desirable reviews from 2005. The Principal, Mrs. Parks, the staff and faculty are a wonderful family in education. In 2008 we pulled our oldest child from Private school and started her at Nickajack in 4th grade. She has excelled and moved on to Middle School. Our younger daughter was a candidate for special education and would never have gotten the kind of one on one support in the private school system (outside hiring a private tutor). She has been there 3 years and is thriving after having amazing teachers each year. When the economy reduced county budgets, a group of dedicated parents formed a Foundation to raise funds to hire additional staff and other educational support. There is a reading club for Dads and participation levels are inspiring. Parent involvement is critical in a childs education. Nickajack provides more than their share.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2011

When we relocated to the Smyrna area 2 years ago we were very conflicted on which route to take regarding school choices and decided to just give Nickajack a try and we are so glad that we did!! We have three children that attend and each one LOVES school!! Most teachers have continued their education and are over-qualified which is to our benefit!! The gifted program is phenomenal and expects the students to go above and beyond! Our principal, Mrs. Parks, is always available. She loves our children and extinquishes any issues before they become problems. Nickajack had a score of 8 here on GreatSchools website when we first started our journey. I am not sure why the score has dropped because as a parent on the inside, I cannot see where anything has changed for my children or the level of education in which they receive. I can truthfully tell you that this score does not reflect the joy that we receive by being a part of Nickajack's family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2011

Wow what a great second year we are having at Nickajack. The teachers are exceptional, the homework is spot on where my daughter needs to be, and my daughter comes home everyday happy. What more could you ask for in your school. We are looking forward to sending our other child to Nickajack next year to start Kindegarten. Thank you to Mrs. Parks for taking care of her school and making sure they are teaching our children above and beyond what is asked of every teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2011

My daughter started kindergarten this fall at Nickajack and we have been thrilled. She has caring, smart teachers that individualize her work and the school has constant activities going on. Very happy with Nickajack.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

The principal and teachers at Nickajack have surpassed my expectations! After several years at private school, we decided to take a chance on the public school. I was worried that my children would "backtrack" in public school but they are actually being more challenged because the school is required to take each child at their current level, and then push them to go farther. The teachers quickly started finding supplemental services for my children to keep them progressing at a "private school" pace. Mrs. Parks, the principal, is really a class act and the PTA and foundation are very strong. The foundation (only in its 2nd year) has already paid for 2 years of a computer lab instructor. I can only imagine that more "extras" will be in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

Our autistic son has been with Ms. Bryant for the last 2 years in the special needs pre k and I can't express in words how amazing that class has been for him. Ms Bryant and all the staff in the SNPK rooms are the best. They get five stars from me, My oldest son had a wonderful experience in the multiage class as well. if you plan to use the after school program be warned, some of the staff they use is just horrible. We have had several problems with the rude staff ( not all of them are terrible just a few rotten apples, the mother / daughter team that does asp are so sweet). So if you can afford better after school care for you kids I would highly recommend steering clear of nicknack asp
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2011

As a parent of a child that will attend next August, I'm so frustrated as this seems like a great school. Wonderful, caring, very responsive stafft, Parent involved, great PTA. Why can't they get these scores up! I want to be a part of a school people WANT to get in. I am going help with the PTA as I want to be involved and don't want to stand idlly on the sidelines complaining. If you are a parent (and can) lets help get these scores up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

WOW, this is a hidden gem in the West Cobb school district. I am really impressed with what this school has to offer students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

They take the time to make sure the children are learning and the teachers are great communicators
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2010

Nickajack is a terrific environment for our child. The teachers are extremely dedicated to making sure each child has what they need to be successful. Principal Parks is always available. The PTA is involved in so many aspects of the school's success. It is like one big family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2010

This school has been great for our child. The teachers are caring and take great pride in what they do. Mrs. Parks in incredible! She takes pride in Nickajack and is dedicated to making Nickajack a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

We recently relocated to California where my son is now in 1st Grade ... all I can say is ... I miss Nickajack! I miss the school and how well organized everything is (even lunchtime), the principal, the teachers, the standard of education and the parents (who are so involved). The staff are caring and compassionate. My son was taught at his advanced level and was challenged. I have truely left a gem behind. I too, had considered private schooling, but could not have been happier with my son at Nickajack. Nickajack is an awesome school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2009

This past school year was my daughters first year at Nickajack, I must say that I was not that impresssed. Principal was awesome. Fundraisers it seemed like every other week. Her previous school was in urban Atlanta, and was much more nurturing, staffand parents just really seemed to care, I felt that the vibe at Nickajack was sorta phony..........meantime, my child had a great experience at Nickajack.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

We were extremely pleased with the Kindergarten program at Nickajack this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2009

We transferred from Gwinnett County schools this year and I can honestly say that Nickajack has restored my faith in Georgia Public Schools. Everyone from the principals to the lunchroom staff to the teachers to the ASP workers are truly committed to not only the education of their students but also the development of strong character. I love this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

This is a great school that works hard to get parents involved and is very much interested in the community. My son will be returning next year for first grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

I have been very impressed so far - my son is in kindergarten at NES and just loves it. He is actually very advanced in his reading and math skills so I was curious as to how NES would respond to his abilities. Within the first few weeks they had placed him in advanced programs and an accelerated reading program. I visited several private schools prior to sending him to NES and am very happy about my decision. He is thriving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

we recently transferred to this school this year from another school in the area. and words cannot describe how AWESOME Nick A Jack is... I bought a Townhouse in the area because the school is do great..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

Mys son has been going to Nick-a-jack since kindergarden and he is now in the 4th grade. He loves this school as well as I do. The teachers and principal Mrs. Parks truly care about and only want the best for all of the students. His teachers has always gone over and beyond and truly challenges their brains. I could've been blessed for a better way to start his education!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

Our daughter started at Nickajack Elementary this year and we absolutely love it. We considered private school and a charter school, but after visiting several times, knew that Nickajack was the place for us. The teachers are excellent and the principal is very impressive. It is so organized and cheerful. As a kindergartener, she is receiving the right amount of challenge and her reading is at a whole new level within the first month of school. She has a little bit of homework Monday through Thursday nights and she really enjoys it; she gets recognized for reading books, so she now asks to read every night, when before school started she lacked confidence and it was a fight to get her to read. Our daughter really looks forward to going to school every day. The PTA is extremely active, and there are countless waysto get involved. We highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

144 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

144 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

145 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

130 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

130 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

130 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 48% 37%
White 34% 44%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4555 Mavell Rd SE
Smyrna, GA 30082
Phone: (678) 842-5814

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Whitefield Academy
Mableton, GA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT