Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

North Henry Academy

Private | PK-8 | 150 students

Our school is best known for academic excellence.

 
 

Living in Stockbridge

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $98,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 19, 2013

My daughter has been here since preschool and will be leaving at the end of this year after finishing 8th grade. I'm so thankful for the spiritual and educational foundation she has recieved at North Henry Academy. The staff of NHA has been an outstanding partner in helping me raise my daughter, and I know that because of their help she is ready for the next stage of life as she goes to high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2012

We relocated from out of state and NHA was the answer to our prayers! Our children have thrived at this school and are growing so much spiritually and academically. We are truly blessed to have them and North Henry Baptist Church in our community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

NHA is the greatest! I have 3 children who attend NHA!!! The teachers truly love the Lord and love the children! The academics are awesome, abeka curriculum used. We will be there until 8th grade definately!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2009

My son loves going to school here. He is in K-2 and I feel that he is in a very structured learning environment. I hope that he can continue to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

Incredible school. The staff is awesome. My daughter has learned more here in 2 years than all her years combined. She will be in 8th grade this year. I hate to see her have to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2009

Incredible school! I was so impressed with my childs change in attitude over learning from pre-K at a public day care to his K5 year at NHA. The teachers I have encountered at this school really know how to engage a child and get the most out of them. Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2009

I love this school, my kids have been there for 5 years now. I hate to leave next year. This is the best school ever. I love the way the teachers just talk to the parents. Like you are their best friend. It's great. My kids have learned so much from the teachers and the principal. Go mrs. Thompson! we love you and will miss you next year! 4 out of 6 of my kids will be at austin road elem. Next year. I hope it is as good as nha! the mcfall family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2008

My daughter started there in K3 and is a K5 now. She has gorwn so much her spirituality has grown as well. Learning computer skills in K5 is great jump start. I pray NHA stays strong there a great group of Teachers and Administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2008

Excellent and growing Private School, reasonable rates,low student to teacher ratio, Many programs and activities. Good Academics with emphasis on learning. A safe, secure learning enviroment in a sea of sub-par schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

Not at all what I expected. The academics are great, but the happiness of the child suffers. They expect their kids not to talk all day, even at lunch. Minimal special events, library is the only special activity. They only do paperwork all day, minimal play time, no creative thinking or arts and crafts. Look closer before signing up. If you are looking for a military type school with academics only it will work for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2007

NHA is wonderful! The teachers and staff are exceptional. It's such a wonderful environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

I went and it was the best school I have ever been to. The teachers are so nice and help the students excellently. They have parties for certain holidays and they are the most fun. I if you are looking for a school for your child to go to in Georgia, I recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2007

Nha has been the best school i have seen yet. My daughter went to 6 different schools before first grade. I started her here and here is were she will stay. Crystal daniel
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2005

I am so impressed with this school, it is money well spent. My daughter has learned so much in such a short period of time. All the teachers are just great. My daughter will continue on going to NHA. Lisa McClendon
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2004

This is my daughter's 2nd year in NHA and I wouldn't put her anywhere else. In fact, it just started out as just a year in Pre-K but for as long as I can afford it, my daughter will go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jeannie Thompson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • SBACS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • ABeka Curriculum
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$2000 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Creekside Christian Academy
New Creation Christian Academy
Public School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1093 Flat Rock Road
Stockbridge, GA 30281
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 389-1591

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT