Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Thomasville High School 1

Posted April 04, 2012
- a community member
Even when coupled with the "Scholars Academy", less then 60% of students pass the graduation test. They are in their 5th year of "school improvement" which means if they don't make AYP this year, the state could come in and take them over. Fortunately, the newspaper would never thing to publish anything about academics and as long as people can afford the tuition at Brookwood, the private school, no one is too concerned about a failing school system.

Thomasville High School 3

Posted February 05, 2011
- a parent
I think there's a lot of room for improvement and everyone likes to get behind the underdog... so it's all uphill from where the school is today to where it's going tomorrow.


Thomasville High School 5

Posted February 16, 2010
- a parent
Well I was once a student there at ths and loved it and it hasnt changed much but the teachers are very involved with the kids. I would persuade you to send your child and let anyone else you know about ths. They have one on one time eith you unlike tcchs.

Thomasville High School 5

Posted August 11, 2007
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Thomasville High School 3

Posted June 05, 2006
- a parent
basically i am satisfied with school system. it has some hang-ups about different things, but basically THS is right on target. A lot of schools nationally graduate their students, but the students don't have a clue. at least with this pre-graduation test, you can tell who's ready. and i do understand that students have pre-test anxiety, but the school system is giving the students about 5 times to re-test if failed the first or second time starting in the 11th grade, so it really is not a excuse.


Thomasville High School 2

Posted October 20, 2005
- a former student
Unfortunately, this town's education system does not develop its students the way a school system should. I graduated from this high school 6 years ago, and had a sibling recently graduate, and have found that they are severely unprepared for the real world. Classes are not challenging to the brighter students because the curriculum is aimed at those at a lower level. With the exception of a few, the teaching staff has grown increasingly apathetic and have very little interest in challenging the students. Taking into consideration the exceptional standardized test scores of some of the students, it is sad to see very few making it to top-tier schools. On the national academic acheivement index, THS ranks a 1.1 on a scale of 1-10. It also graduates around 50% of the students. I hope Dr. McCall can turn things around.

Thomasville High School 0
no rating

Posted April 25, 2005
- a former student
I went to this school and it is a great school. There is something that could be done about getting the students more involved in activities and clubs because I have found that, it will increase the students level of interest in worldly events and also prepair them for their future. Whatever it may be.

Thomasville High School 3

Posted March 16, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Thomasville High School 4

Posted January 25, 2005
- a parent
The school seems fairly strict with discipline. I've only had good experiences with the staff and the teachers seem to be well qualified. The principal is highly engaged in what's going on.

Thomasville High School 4

Posted August 16, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thomasville High School
315 S Hansell St, Thomasville, GA  31792
(229) 225-2634
Last modified Thomasville High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thomasville High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top