Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sandy Creek High School 5

Posted July 13, 2016
- a student
Sandy Creek is a good school. Lots of students think it is "lame" or "boring" simply because there are no fights. The school administration is new and needs some work but the school is not bad. I would rather go to Sandy Creek where there is diversity than any other school in Fayette County. Sandy Creek's problems are like every other High school problems.

Sandy Creek High School 1

Posted March 29, 2016
- a student
Sandy Creek is terrible. If you want to send your student to a "Great School", don't send them here. The administration is trash and the teachers are even worse. Most of them have severe attitudes you would expect from a teenager. The teachers don't care about the students in any way. The few teachers that do care typically teach AP classes or are leaving within the next year. If you're the type of person who is concerned with academics, I would suggest ANY OTHER SCHOOL in Fayette County. This place used to be great, but that is long gone. Everyday I wake up, I dread going to this horrid place (the feelings of 95% of the students). If you are a parent considering sending your child/children here...DONT DO IT! Instead of Sandy Creek, it should be called Sandy Trash. I couldn't think of a worse place to spend 4 years. I probably could've gotten a better education at a poor, underdeveloped inner-city school. My experience here has truly been terrible and I wish I could re-do my high school experience somewhere actually worth attending.


Sandy Creek High School 2

Posted January 02, 2016
- a parent
My child goes to Sandy Creek, and the teachers at this school do not support the student's academic success. They are so focused on the EOCT testing, but they don't give your child the proper tools or attention to give them a more in depth education. These teachers lie about their availability to assist your children and support them as it relates to succeeding within their classrooms. They are focused more on keeping this non-existent image of what the school used to be in comparison to the true reality of how the school is failing our kids. Our kids are failing severely at this school, and the new principal runs that school like a military boot camp, and because of these new rules he's establishing, it has both teachers and students feeling stressed out and uncomfortable to teach and learn. The teachers and administration need an overhaul. We miss Principal Dr. Evans because he was an awesome principal who really cared about the kids. However, because he helped struggling kids, they ran him out of there, but that's typical in Fayette County. God help us with this school and the new leadership. This school is extremely overrated, and parents please don't buy in that this is a top performing school in Fayette County. Yes, I would evaluate it as a safe school, but it's not a top performing school by no means to help your child grow academically.Close Quote

Sandy Creek High School 5

Posted December 20, 2015
- a community member
Great school, great teachers and good performing students. The parents are very proactive with the school, their children, sports, and the over all community. Excellent principal...keep up the good work! Parent in Tyrone, Georgia Fayette County

Sandy Creek High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 10, 2015
- a student
I have been a student at this school for 3 years now. I can honestly say that I have never met better teachers. The teachers here care about students' performances and really push us to be the best we can possibly be. I look forward to going to school everyday.


Sandy Creek High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 10, 2015
- a student
I can say this school is very competitive both inside and outside of the classroom. A lot of students want to perform well, so it's always a competition between us. We never get bored.

Sandy Creek High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 10, 2015
- a student
The counselors and the teachers like to understand each of their students on a more personal note so they will know how to go about teaching.

Sandy Creek High School 5

Posted July 10, 2015
- a student
The teachers are wonderful and really get us(the students) involved. The teachers I've had care about how we are going to perform in the real world, so they take it upon themselves to sometimes teach outside of the curriculum because they know that the stuff we are "required" to learn won't help us 10 years down the road.


Sandy Creek High School 5

Posted February 14, 2015
- a parent
Compared to other schools in the county, I know for a fact Sandy Creek is the hidden Jewel of Fayette. I moved my child out of McIntosh to integrate them into a more diverse environment. I value my child's education, but I also need to focus on her cultural aspect. McIntosh 3+ years ago had very little diversity, which not only formulates an unhealthy society, but it also corrupts the mind's of our little ones. The real world is where they will be, we must not coddle the children. I expect high grades from my child at Sandy Creek because most teachers are experienced in what they teach. It's a free learning zone; that offers A.P. and accelerated classes. I would not have transferred my daughter if I knew it were to be a mistake. She has never been happier and on track.

Sandy Creek High School 2

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
We need help!! it is sad this school is going down the hill! we need better teachers. We have just a couple of great teacher unfortunately those are not my kid's teachers. Please somebody have to do something!! EDUCATION IS THE FUTURE OF THIS COUNTRY but with these teachers , I'm really worry about the future!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sandy Creek High School
360 Jenkins Rd, Tyrone, GA  30290
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. (770) 969-2840
Last modified Sandy Creek High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top