Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shirley Hills Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 26, 2013

This school is so bad my child home school too next year. It has worse .I'm obligated to. too bad the school system . My child has lived for violence in school.Unresolved complaints to. for this school stuff and especially principel ( hugeee 0 ) no star does not deserve. wellcome to the school violence area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

My cild has attended SHES from Pre-K through 2nd grade. The teachers at SHES work harder than any I have ever seen. They not only love the children, but they feel 100% responsible for their success. As an educator and parent, I can say that this school is not very "warm and fuzzy", BUT the children experience REAL learning. Many of the students at this school are from low-income families where both parents work, so there is not a lot of parent involvement, and many of the children come to school without knowing how to read. However, children make real, positive, and long-lasting connections with the teachers at SHES as they learn how to become successful students. The school's technology is currently being updated with new computers. There are SMART boards in every classroom, and the media specialist ensures that lessons, technology, and books are kept up to date. The principal is not very warm. She is exactly as described in the other comments on this site. She creates an institutional atmosphere where most of the faculty are miserable, but, they make the best of it, and they don't transfer any negativity to the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2013

My son has attended this school for 3 years, prek-1 grade. This school is so bad that I am now pulling him out to home school him next year. It has progressivly gotten worse and I dont want to see how bad it gets next year. The facility is old and falling apart, which makes me think they dont know how to budget for updates and repairs. I dont care if the school is blue ribbon or not, to me that just means they were able to fudge the numbers enough to look good. The principal and many of the staff think they know what is best for your children and parents should keep quiet. My son tells me how they watch tv almost everyday, yet only get about 30 minutes total reccess time. Students are not taught the basics, such as spelling, but are still expected to know how to do it. Students are unable to participate in celebrations if thier attendence is not meet requirements, even if the missed days are due to illness or family death and have been exused. I strongley recommend that you do not live in this school district if at all possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2012

We might be moving to this area and we are from the north. What is the best elementary school and area that we should look at ? The school that we are currently at is top notch and not familier with the area at all in georgia
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

We recently moved here from out of state. I am a little disappointed with the school in the sense that it seems as though they aren't really "on top of things". Compared to the school my kids used to attend, this school doesn't seem to be as academically challenging- both of my children are very intelligent, but it scared me a little when my youngest child's teacher (Kindergarten), was shocked that he could read. 90% of his class in the school we moved from could read... And my older child isn't really being challenged at all- even the gifted program seems like "fluff"- Not sure that this school is a good fit for us. And as far as the discipline goes... The first week of school, I was in awe. I heard children of all ages cursing at each other, pushing, shoving, hitting, and being disrespectful in general. And there are a lot of high school and middle school kids that loiter out front, supposedly waiting to walk their younger siblings home, but about 50% of them are just hanging out with their friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2011

as far as the going outside weather permited, not always true, because he tells me about watching tv when it is sunny, and dry. The principal i have seen get in a parents face, the first year my child was there, acting all ghetto. She may do what she is suppose to, but she should be nice, and setting an example for the kids. She has never once spoken to me, even after i said hello to her. The school does what is has to, i dont see any "excellence" or trying to go above and beyond. That is based on my experience
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

The principal does what she is supposed to do. She runs the school, handles day to day problems, hires and manages the staff, works to maintain a high academic standard, controls the budget, and gets to know the kids. My kids love Dr. Jackson. She may not always be warm and fuzzy but she is an awesome principal. Our test scores are rated 9 out of 10. Most schools can't say that. We are higher than the state average. The school started installing SMART boards in all the classes which has really improved teaching methods and opportunities to use the internet and interactive lessons for entire classes. I know that afterschool care takes the kids to the playground everday weather permitting. The kids can also do homework or visit with other kids. Watching TV is just oe option. Budgets are tight everywhere and yes there is room for improvement. But overall it is a great school with a caring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2009

I believe that the teachers at this school are probably qualified. But performance here is not good. My son deserves more than this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2009

The teachers here seem to care. But that is not enough apparently. Kids rule the school here and the lack of discipline here has really made things go downhill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

I have two children at Shirley Hills and they have had nothing but positive experiences! SHES has laid a great foundation for my childrens education! They show that they care for thier students and get parents involved in as much as they possibly can!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

This is my grand daughters 5 th and final year at shes. We both have enjoyed.. A great bunch of teachers and staff... We looking forward to another all a+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2007

Shirley Hills is a very small, close-knit, school. The faculty and staff honestly care about the students and I believe my son is recieving a top notch education. Thanks to all the wonderful teachers and staff at SHES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2004

It's definately 'Great to be a Mustang'! Fantastic school! We have 2 there now. Soon to be 3. From the principal, to the faculty, to the teachers, the parents and the PTO....we are more than blessed. And I only see it getting better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2003

My son has attended this school for 1 year, and it is one of the best public elementary schools we have experienced! I have a daughter who has graduated, and another son in middle school, so I have plenty of experience with public and private schools, since 1987. Shirley Hills is an excellant little school, we are proud to be a 'Mustang'!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2003

We have had children at Shirley Hills for 12 years now and are extremely pleased with this school. Our staff and principal are wonderful. We agree 'It's great to be a Mustang!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2003

My son is in 1st grade. He finds the rules to be easily understood and finds lots of positive reenforcement for positive behavior. We are happy to attend the 'Home of the Mustangs'.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

87 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

57 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

57 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

57 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 44%
Black 41% 37%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Traci Jackson
Fax number
  • (478) 929-7121

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Mary Ln
Warner Robins, GA 31088
Phone: (478) 929-7824

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Russell Elementary School
Warner Robins, GA


Miller Elementary School
Warner Robins, GA




Parkwood Elementary School
Warner Robins, GA


Westside Elementary School
Warner Robins, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT