Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain Road Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2014

I called this school to receive info about enrolling my daughter and the receptionist who answered the phone was rude, and incompetent. This is not a great first impression we are moving to Ga soon my daughter will never step foot in this school.


Posted July 15, 2013

This is a fabulous school! Teachers are the best in the county. The PTA is also the best. They donate a lot of their time and efforts in coordinating activities, special events, etc. for students and staff. One negative is the counselor. She seems to not do much around the school. I had an encounter with her where she was very negative with me and my son. I think her name is Ms. Hall. I have seen her walk around being in everyone's business instead of working with children. We could use a better counselor. I gave Principal Leadership one star for the old principal. She was never seen outside of her office. Not very social. Very excited to have a new principal!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

My daughter went here for 3 years this is the best school she has been to in 7 years. The staff does care all of them. My child is now terrified to go to the new middle school in the area . Because she does not feel safe. She is in Sp Ed. I wish we had a MT. Rd. Middle School. This is by far the best school in Cherokee County..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Mountain road Elem. is truly a school that has staff that cares for its children! Mountain road has a wonderful special Ed program that is dedicated to caring for these special students in need. My son has thrived and has developed a passion for reading, helping others, and a bright outlook for what he may become in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2009

Excellent school with a very involved PTA. It is smaller than other elementary schools which gives it a private school feel with better individual attention per child. I have two children at Mountain Road and they have thrived here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2009

My younger son has learning disabilities, and will be going to this school this year. We had Kindergarten transition meeting, and there were 5 professionals in the room to discuss a plan for my child. Very impressed. My older daughter has behavioral problems, but through the support of the school counselor and her Kindergarten and Grade 1 teachers, she is improving each year. In spite of her inability to concentrate, she scored well on the Grade 1 standardized test, and is very passionate about education. Teachers are the most valuable asset of this school. The school itself is safe and nurturing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

I am a proud parent of 4 children that have attended this school from the start of their school career. I cannot praise these teachers enough. every one of them will be remembered for their kindness. Thank you Mountain Road teachers, keep up the good works in all your students to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

This school is unbelievable. I went to 10 different schools by the fifth grade as a child. The amount of support my child has received I believe would only be found in a private school. They actually assigned a team of people to help my child. He has a high I Q which was confusing to them, but yet he was having problem learning. The have spend 2 years of diligent effort with different experts to help him. I think that says it all. He is doing better. They have an excellent handle on the children s conduct. In six years I have not heard of one fight in the school and I have sent 3 children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

We have attended this school for 2 years. The parents are storngly involved and encouraged to be a part of the schools environment. With reading days and special PTA events. Parents are encouraged to visit the class room and teachers are great at communication
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

We have been in this district for the past 8 years. Our oldest in now a junior in high school and is attending honors and AP classes. My two youngest children have been in Mountain Road since Kindergarten and have received a great education - sadly we are moving and will miss this wonderful school. The PTA has wonderful activities. The school offers basketball and baseball that many children enjoy. The environment is very safe and employees are very helpful. We will miss Bingo Night and Movie Night, the talent show and all of the fun yearly activities. You won't regret enrolling your children at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2006

My husband and I fell in love with this school on our son's first day 4 years ago. We're going to try and stay in this district so that ALL our children will have the wonderful experiences that Mountain Road has to offer. You get a real since of family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2006

It was about two years ago when I switched my kids from a private school to Mountain Road and I have noticed that my kids have been learning more and they actually seem interested in what their learning! I wouldn't want them to go to any other school than Mountain Road!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 21, 2005

Mountain Road is a wonderful school! The staff is very loving and attentive and they do a great job adjusting their teaching styles and methods to suite the children's needs. Mountain Road welcomes parents into the school and has a great PTA. You cannot go into the building and not find multiple parents helping out. The only negative is the constant change in principals. My oldest has attended for 4 years and we've had 3 different Principals and we will get a new Vice Principal in the fall. Amazingly, the constant changes in leadership has not had a negative impact on the school. I believe the parents and teachers deserve the credit for maintaining the warm family feel of the school despite the revolving door to the Principal's office.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2004

This Cherokee County school's 2000-2001 Stanford-9 Math score places it in the top 1% of 1000+ Georgia elementary schools. This is the highest overall school math score in Cherokee County for this period. The SAT-9 verbal comes in at at top 5% for the state on the national standardized test.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

81 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

81 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

81 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

76 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

77 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

76 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

75 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 44%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Black 4% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

615 Mountain Rd
Woodstock, GA 30188
Phone: (770) 664-9708

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Mill Springs Academy
Alpharetta, GA




The Porter School
Roswell, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT