Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pearl Ridge Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded | 603 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 9, 2012

Yes, emphasis on scolastics is rigorous, but at what cost? My daughter attended Pearl Ridge from K through mid-5th grade, and she's still damaged by the treatment she received in 3rd (being yelled at & humiliated when assignments weren't completed), 4th (the entire year was horrendous and her teacher should not be in charge of young children), and 5th (marginalized and ignored). She had outstanding 1st & 2nd grade teachers, but once No Child Left Behind was implemented everything turned ugly. Not only was she bullied in class (I had to scare her 4th grade teacher into stopping the humiliation), my daughter was shunned by the other girls once she was placed in the GATE program. A girl who had previously been her best friend became envious and turned all the other little girls against my daughter. I documented many incidents and met with the school principal, the school counselor, teachers, after-school staff -- anyone in authority who could have intervened but ultimately nothing was done. My daughter is 13 now and an honor student who plays 2 instruments and just applied to a fine arts high school. But unfortunately she's still damaged by the experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2010

Excellent school. The three teachers that my child has had thus far are all excellent educators as well as role models. I take a very active role in my childs educational progress, and try to observe what he is learning on a daily basis. It never ceases to amaze me, how much he learns each day at PRE. The curriculm is challenging, as it should be to grow a young mind. The PTO here is awesome as well. Much of a childs academic failure falls on the shoulders of parents not teachers. As for the Principal and the V.P.? Any concern that I've ever had was dealt with right away and in a professional manner, and the office clerks are on the ball.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2010

I agree with the previous post. How did the Principal help your child get accepted to a private school? She needs to learn a few lessons from the teachers! The teachers are the ones who deserved this recognition. The administration should thank the teachers for doing such an outstanding job! Without the teachers, there is nothing special about Pearl Ridge. Thank you PRE teachers for always going beyond your call of duty for the kids. Your superb job is much appreciated!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

Your kids got into Private school thanks to the Principal????? Thanks to the current Principal or the previous one? I will agree 110% your kids got into private school thanks to the TEACHERS! but THIS Principal? The teachers are excellent with the students! They are just awesome, but the Principal? I agree with the previous post: "family oriented atmosphere" is sadly a thing of the past"! This is sooooooooooooo true!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

What a personal attack on the Principal. If the person had a clue they would realize that it was not a career trajectory she is focused on but that she is concerned with the students and staff. If she was concerned about a career trajectory she would be at an Intermediate, Middle or High School. Get a grip. My kids got into a Private School thanks to the Principal and Pearl Ridge teachers. If you don't like it you should move your kids out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

The principal at this school is a politician, pure and simple. Her focus is on her career trajectory and not on the students and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2010

Pearl Ridge Elementary is definitely over-rated! Academics is sub-par, not excellent as it once was. The caring, skilled teachers and staff have either retired or moved away. Our children are left with "employees" that are simply there to get a pay check....how nurturing is that? The GENUINE friendliness, support and so called "family oriented atmosphere" is sadly a thing of the past. For those of you who may be thinking of a GE to this school....forget it, you're better off somewhere else! Oh and a heads up to the gossiping staff member & teachers (you know who you are)....your degrading insulting attacks should be done in your own office/classroom.....those of us standing outside the window can hear every word...shame on you...AUWE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

We love this school. Our son is doing so well here. Friends have always said that we were fortunate to have purchased our home in the PearlRidge Elem. disrict. Now we know why. The teachers and staff are all awesome. From the extra push that the kids are given by the teachers, to the warm greetings from the office staff and administators in the morning, I can not imagine my kids going anywhere else. This is a school that truly cares.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

This school really cares about its students. All issues are dealt with immediately. Additional programs are offered for enrichment. It's a very friendly environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

Pearlridge Elementary is a very good school. Their English reading program has exceled my children's English proficiency. Teachers are attentive and caring. Principal has a very high standard. My children came from a 6 rating school and have improved tremendously with the guidance and discipline from the teachers. They were also nominated to the gifted talented classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

I think that Pearlridge Elem. School is the best! The staff are awesome, helpful and loving! They provide the ultimate best care for the children and their needs. Thank you Pearlridge Elem. for doing such a great job!!! We love you!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

I just love this school! My daughter use to attend Alvah Scott Elem. from K-3 and wasn't doing to well. I heard that Pearl Ridge Elem. is a very good school. So I got a GE and she improved so much. The teachers are very dedicated to the students. My daughter's teacher would volunteer her time to tutor her after school. Which helped out a lot! The parent-teacher communication was excellent. After school the kids are supervised by the staff, so you don't see them out of control and running around. It's amazing, all the kids sit on the ground quietly until the parents pick them up. I highly recommend sending your child to this school! I'm very satisfied with Pearl Ridge Elem.!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

Our daughter attended Pearl Ridge from kindergarten to first grade. Unfortunately, we had to move to VA before the end of the school year. We are satisfied and happy with the good foundation she acquired in reading, writing and math. Her teachers were very dedicated to quality learning and discipline. You don't hear them screaming to their class to get their point across. The curriculum was more structured and excellent with emphasis on the basics. The school gives out Maikai awards to students that excel and exemplefies the school's standards. They also instill love and respect to self, others and the environment. Examples of these are: recycling campaigns, canned goods drive, and clothing donations to help the homeless and less fortunate. Parent participation is great. PTA fundraising and efforts are exceptional, helping the school obtain new computers for the students. Great school and staff. We miss you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2007

This school is great! They have programs for the Gifted & Talented which my oldest son was in. Maika'i student of the quarter, which makes the children study hard to achieve this. The staff is friendly and always lets you know how your child is. The school tries to get all the family involved and has a lot of family fun nights. All my children have learned a lot from this school and will carry the memories from this experience. If your child attends this school you will enjoy the environment, I know we did! We will surely miss this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2006

I Love this school my daughter attends kindergarten there on GE and I am pleased with everything this school has to offer her and they also encourage a family envolvent. In my opinion this school is all for their students and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2005

My 5-year-old daughter is a high-functioning special-needs child who benefits tremendously from Pearl Ridge Elementary. The school takes an integrated approach, accomodating special-needs children into regular-ed classes as much as possible. Teachers and staff are friendly and caring. Quality of education is high. (For instance, kindergarteners learn Hawaiian words, how to count up to 100, and to read and write words such as 'jump' and 'where'.) Parents are well involved in their child/ren's education, as well as volunteering and fundraising activities. The drawbacks are: the school lost an excellent principal to retirement (2004); no gymnasium. Pearl Ridge students are proud of their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 49% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 19% 34%
Two or more races 15% 8%
White 8% 14%
Hispanic 6% 6%
Black 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

98940 Moanalua Rd
Aiea, HI 96701
Phone: (808) 483-7250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT