Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6 & Ungraded
Public
Hilo, HI
Students enrolled: 387

4 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Chiefess Kapiolani Elementary School 5

Posted December 24, 2013
- a teacher
Chiefess Kapiolani uses a caring, student-centered approach to education that invites parents to be part of the process.

Chiefess Kapiolani Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 25, 2010
- a parent
I would like to commend all of the teachers and staff at Kapiolani School! Being a small school they give the children and their families a sense of Ohana. All of the teachers make a special effort with all of the children. I would like to thank them for the success both of my sons have had in their academic achievements! Mahalo!


Chiefess Kapiolani Elementary School 4

Posted July 23, 2009
- a parent
My son originally started in a charter school for Kindergarten. I heard of Kapiolani and switched. My son has never learned to read so fast and well. Mrs. Shebata is the best Kindergarten teacher. Assertive and understanding. Perfect!!!

Chiefess Kapiolani Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Chiefess Kapiolani Elementary School 5

Posted April 04, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Chiefess Kapiolani Elementary School 1

Posted January 03, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Chiefess Kapiolani Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 25, 2004
- a staff
I would like to respond to the May 2004 parent review. As the Student Services Coordinator at Kapi'olani, I would like to encourage you, the parent, to call me to discuss your concerns. My phone number is 808-9330957. I am a 12 month employee so call me soon. I am at the school site daily. Hope to hear from you.

Chiefess Kapiolani Elementary School 3

Posted May 17, 2004
- a parent
My daughter has attended Kapi'olani for the past four years. She hates her school. She tells me every single morning that she doesn't want to go. She is 'singled out' because of her skin color and when I spoke about this to her teachers, each acted as though there was nothing they could do. My daughter performs well and is well thought of by her teachers, yet racial problems are still a major concern even after four years! I wished there was a better spirit of aloha at this school. We moved to Hawai'i to feel the 'Ohana not to be treated like an 'Invasive Species'. Push for better treatment of all children in our public schools and teachers, please be the example! Mahalo

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chiefess Kapiolani Elementary School
966 Kilauea Ave, Hilo, HI  96720
(808) 974-4160
Last modified Chiefess Kapiolani Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Chiefess Kapiolani Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top