Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kamiloiki Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 370 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2014

Excellent school. Great teachers, Principal, counselor and staff. In our child's first week there was a concern of feeling intimidated by other kids. The teacher dealt with it immediately. They've given kids the tools to deal with conflict at such a young age. I go there everyday and observe; I know many of the kids thru outside of school activities and there is no fear and a lot of support among each other. Enrollment has consistently increased in the last 4 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

Kamiloiki Elementary Honolulu, Hawaii The principle is very hands on and gets involved with every aspect of the school. She is always pleasant and greets everyone. She get to know all the parents and students. My son's teacher offers study time before and after school. She teaches them to time manage, which I feel is very important in life. She is always there to help her students and she communicates well to the students and the parents. My daughter attended Kamiloiki and is now at middle school. What she had learned at Kamiloiki has helped her succeed in middle school. The skills she had learned at Kamiloiki helps her balance her school work and outside activities. She is able to balance playing volleyball, modeling, cheerleading, coach volleyball and community service. Balancing all of these activities and helping with the family, she is able to achieve great grades in school. Kamiloiki is a GREAT SCHOOL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2013

The administration is outstanding and consistently strives to support the students and teachers. The principal is very dedicated and has made significant positive changes to the school in order to assist the staff. As with all schools, there is bullying and foul language within the student population, but it is dealt with promptly and very thoughtfully when brought to the attention of the principal. This is a very caring staff dedicated to encouraging young minds to grow in intellect and mannerism. They encourage and teach students how to resolve issues between each other and are available when assistance is needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

The Principal is very hands on and knows what is going on around the school! (not always the case in Hawaii Public Schools) Staff has been so helpful in helping my children transition mid-year! Thank You
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2011

Excellent principal, teachers and staff! The school deals with teasing and bullying promptly and they nurture the children to mentor others to caring and respectful to everyone. Bullying at this school is "not cool" and they focus more on developing positive self esteem and inner strength in each child. Parents are much more involved now than before. The school is now working towards becoming an IB school. The east honolulu schools rock!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

Very disappointed alot of kids that bully and nobody does anything about it. This is two times and they let it go. I had to pull my child out of school, and I am not the only one who has done this. I just hope they realize before anyone gets hurts because they are scared to tell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2011

i could not be happer with Kamiloiki Elementary school my son who is in the 1st grade was attending a priviate school from YP and P and I am just as happy with where were at now. He is getting a great education and the teachers and principal and admin staff are wonderful. thank you for the excellent care and teaching and we look forward to each year at this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

Kamiloiki has many great after school enrichment programs which I am always looking out for. It's so nice to have these classes right at school - very convenient and good facilities. My kids are in the ukulele class. I was so impressed with how quickly they're able to start strumming and playing songs. They enjoy it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2010

great teachers and programs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2010

Kamiloiki is a great school that offers a nurturing environment for all students. A highly dedicated staff committed to providing each students with the tools needed to achieve their potential. A great special education department with wonderful teachers who provide support for both parents and students with special needs. Many after school programs with tutoring are offered. A hard working and caring principal who dedicates long hours to help the school provide "quality" education for every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

This school has a strong emphasis on math, science and technology. Teachers are dedicated. Kamiloiki had a renovation recently and the campus looks great.


Posted October 13, 2010

We love the Cougar Cubs! Our school is a wonderful place to learn. We are a Math and Science Technology signature school. Music, Hawaiian, Mandarin, robotics and other enrichment programs give our students a well rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

Everyone at our school (admin, teachers, staff, parents and students) is on a journey to make Kamiloiki the best school! Our mission is to make Kamiloiki a premiere Math And Science Technology Center that emphasizes exploration, discovery and achievement within a global community. We work on a culture of kindness to others where everyone is special and learning is fun and meaningful. We also have partnerships with the UH, HPU, Chaminade and the University of Phoenix where we learn from each other and true life long learning is practiced. We also have a wide range of afterschool programs includeing Robotics, Hula, Ukulele, Golf, Art, Mandarin, Japanese, Chorus, Band and Orchestra. It's a great place for students, teachers and parents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2010

Kamiloki is a fantastic school. There is a good sense of community pride practiced here. The teachers are great and encourage parent participation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

Great school! The principal works extremely hard.


Posted September 22, 2010

Great teachers and wonderful educations! The numerous afterschool programs are fun, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

My child completed grade 5 in 2009. Thanks to the administrator and staff working together he was able to receive additional tutoring and is now doing well in middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

Kamiloiki parents and teachers are working hard to make it a better place. There are problems with the principal, who doesn't support parent/teacher efforts to improve the school. This website shows the school's test results. Our teachers are trying hard but they lack support and are responsible for doing PE, Art and Music where other schools have paid staff for those subjects. Our teachers regularly take work home due to lack of time at school. They are working hard but their burn-out is evident.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

This school has it's problems like all schools. I agree that the principal is not very accessible. I just now have started to see her at the beginning of school with the children now that school is over in 2months. The teachers, some are great, and others lack professionalism in dress and in control over there class rooms. Some are very uninviting to students and show favoritism in the class room between classmates. There is minimal fine arts / PE given to the students. These are mostly done by volunteers or by a part-time teacher that is only paid through the school fund raisers. Hawaii is very lacking in the public school system due to the lack of urgency to change standards. There seems to be the minimum standards and few push to go beyond that. Kamiloiki is good for Hawaii public schools, this is why so many use private education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2006

Great school with exceptional teachers. Parent involvement seems to be growing rapidly. New programs keep being mentioned as well. It is definitely a school with a lot of positive momentum.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
50%

2009

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 43% 35%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 23% 34%
White 16% 14%
Two or more races 13% 8%
Hispanic 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7788 Hawaii Kai Dr
Honolulu, HI 96825
Phone: (808) 397-5800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Holy Trinity School
Honolulu, HI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT