Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hokulani Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2013
- a parent
We are very satisfied with the education our three children have received at Hokulani School. The homework load is rather heavy and parents need to be on top of things by spending time and going over it with their children. I found the teachers to be very responsive to any concerns and questions regarding our children's homework, academic progress and overall well being in school. The students are well mannered and there is careful monitoring of student behavior and conduct by the teachers and staff in order to maintain a positive learning environment. Hokulani recently received a national "Blue Ribbon" award for academic excellence in 2012. Mahalo, to the teachers and staff at Hokulani School!

Hokulani Elementary School 5

Posted July 30, 2012
- a parent
RE: This school is great for older children If I may ask, who was your child's K Teacher?


Hokulani Elementary School 4

Posted June 04, 2012
- a parent
This school is great for older children. My girl's teachers were motivated and listened to our concerns, also offered after-school help/time to alleviate their homework load this past year. However! I must warn incoming kindergartener families that they should be a lot involved with their teacher and class so you can get as much information and support for your child. Otherwise you won't know what they are learning just from their homework, and status about your child until the first quarter grades are out. Communication is challenging with the teachers, as they are not open-minded. Principal is hard to talk to since he tends to back up his teachers only without trying to hear you out. Those K teachers obviously need help and inspiration as they exhibit irritability and lack of affection. Expect lost papers, very little smiles to children. Lack of adult supervision causes accidents and avoidable misbehavior. I had to help my child write an apology letter at home (?!?) for his misbehavior. You will definitely miss your "happy" child. As long as your child can perform well academically through the year, just bear with it until s/he reaches the next grade level.

Hokulani Elementary School 1

Posted January 21, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hokulani Elementary School 5

Posted June 06, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Hokulani Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2008
- a community member
My two sons attended Hokulani from kindergarten through grade 6. It provided them with an excellent foundation for middle, high school, and college. One son attended Santa Clara University and the other attended Loyola Marymount University. Both graduated in four years and have completed their Master's degrees. One son participated in Hokulani's cultural exchange program, going to Japan in the fifth grade. It is an excellent school.

Hokulani Elementary School 1

Posted May 08, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hokulani Elementary School 2

Posted August 27, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Hokulani Elementary School 4

Posted August 04, 2004
- a parent
Hokulani School benefits from the prior experiences the students bring to school and active parent involvement. The students are generally of high average intelligence and conduct themselves appropriately in the school setting. Many of the teachers implement creative curricular projects that engage, challenge, and encourage creativity. There still needs to be more articulation among faculty and the administration to establish a spiral curriculum that is consistent throught the grade levels. While most teachers are nurturing, some can be autocratic.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hokulani Elementary School
2940 Kamakini St, Honolulu, HI  96816
(808) 733-4789
Last modified Hokulani Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hokulani Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top