Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Governor Samuel Wilder King Intermediate School

Public | 7-8 & ungraded | 2 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2010

I am currently a seventh grade student at King Intermediate. I have been observing this school for about a year now, and I have come to the conclusion that the teachers are great regarding academic lessons. They don't necessarily know how to discipline the troublesome students. The curriculum of Hawaii public schools is typically below average, and so is King. The Principal and Staff try their best to encourage the students to strive for success and stay out of the drama, but the students don't care. Most of them think the world revolves around them and Hawaii. Many of the students show a significant amount of ignorance to cultures other than Asian/ Pacific Islander. I do believe there are decent Public Schools in Hawaii, but unfortunately, I can't count King as one of them. I recommend Private Schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2010

I am a student from king inter. And i get good grades and score very well on all my tests including H.S.A i did how ever participate in a fight but there are not many at this school the teachers care about your learning and help in alternate ways and to all you people who think this is a bad school you should understand what your talking about befire you say things
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2010

i am a 7th grader at king and no matter how much fights there are. the fights make me reasure myself that i never want to fight. king is a great school! just give it a chance.. the teachers and staff are trying to do there best. you should try to help them stop fights and see how hard it is.. :) from student :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2010

Ok listen people. I am an 8th gade student attending king school. The education is great, the respect and control is terrible. Read more... Way too many fights, arguing, cool people vs other cool people. People ditching class almost everyday. Kings control over students is really down hill. I already heard that some people in the school are not virgins anymore, and other sexual problems. And not too long ago there was 4 fights in one day, people eho fight are idiots. The kids run to the fights omg stupid. Well thats all i got to say. Yeah... Latest news on king school peepl...
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 6, 2009

this school is good. exept for a few rotton apples in the bunch, everything is good. our new principal is doing a good job as to keep our school respectful by NOT gettling into fights. there are almost no fights at all this school year. our test scores are not bad either. believe all the rumors you want about this school we are doing good. *to the message with one star, how can you critisize our school when you dont even know ho to spell??!!*
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2008

I was skeptical at first, but have been very happy with my daughter's education for the last 2 years. We found that teachers at King are very passionate about what they teach and care about their students' well-rounded education. There is great communication between faculty and parents. They've always responded to my emails within a day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2008

Some people want to believe that king is a bad school for their children. But if your children are good you don't have to worry about fights. I can't lie and say that there is no fights because there are lots. But king has great programs like podcasting, cross country, track, volleyball, basketball, rugby, clubs, and their is lots of ways that you can get help for homework. There is things here to please everyone. King is a a great way to get your future planned out. I'm a student here at king. Band is a great way to meet new friends and learn a whole lot. Teachers here encourage us to strive and find ways to please us. New students come all the time and we always make them feel like they belong. Right now at King I have a 4.0 gpa and I'm proud to be a King Cobra!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2008

This is a terrable school. They have a lot of fights and most of their test scores are very bad. I do not recommend this school to any parent that wants their student to suceed in life.


Posted October 9, 2006

I have only good things to say about King Intermediate. This school has a great academic program for the children. The staff is awesome and very helpful. My child is currently holding and A average and enjoying school. I am proud to say that I am a King Parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

318 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

317 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

289 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 29% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 54% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 26% 34%
White 11% 14%
Two or more races 5% 8%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Black 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

46155 Kamehameha Hwy
Kaneohe, HI 96744
Phone: (808) 233-5727

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT