Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Haleakala Waldorf School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Kula

Situated in a rural neighborhood. The median home value is $540,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,503.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 29, 2013

My child has been at this school for 4 years now and is excelling in this environment. Her teacher really takes the time to know her and the community is very supporting. The new governance model is improving the quality of the curriculum and supporting the teachers to become even better. I am so excited that Haleakala Waldorf School is now starting a high school and my daughter will be able to continue the Waldorf curriculum right through high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2013

I think others should know that this is not an academically strong school. If your child is inquisitive, intellectual or an independent thinker this school will stifle their development. The school could improve if it did not try to impose its system and doctrine across the board .. also beware of wealthy parents who have too much influence in school decisions including which teachers stay or go seemingly at a whim..I think the new academic leadership team has destabilized the school and alienated many. Parents are easily intimidated knowing that if they express concerns their tuition assistance might be cut. Think hard before enrolling your child...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2013

This school is really a sham. It is more of a feel-good New Age entity than true learning facility. The school could improve by stressing learning and life skills for the coming decades rather than spending a lot of time on Hawaiiiiana which is useless..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

My child been at the school for 9 years and we have been pretty happy with most aspects. The last two years things have changed - and not for the better. There is a new so-called governance model which strips the teachers of most of their say, and there is a great disconnect between the leadership on the one hand and the teacher-parent-children body on the other. I am no longer comfortable with the direction this school is headed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

It is a profound school that touches the heart and the soul. The teachers are knowledgeable and caring. The children get nurtured and the learning is very deep.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

This school offers everything that a parent would want for their kids -- safe and nurturing environment, truly caring administration and staff, teaching staff that live and breathe for their students, an involved community with like minds and goals -- I could go on and on. Children here are cherished, and their childhood is protected so that they need not be rushed into growing up. At the end of their 8 or more year journey at Haleakala they are transformed into WHOLE individuals with the intellect to succeed in a complex world, the empathy and social skills to navigate the perils of high school with confidence, and the skills to create beauty around them which is the ultimate ego boost for their self esteem. Our children are SOOOO happy here. What else do you want for your children?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

we have been at this school for 10 years with both our girls starting in pre k. Love everything about this school. Wonderful teachers and a great spiritual and academic environment. Excellent whole education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2007

I just think Haleakala Waldorf school is one of the greatest schools alive. The teachers are amazing and the students learn quickly. I think it is far better than any other school i have looked for. If i had to choose a school right on the spot the first thing that would come to mind would be the Haleakala Waldorf school. Great Thanks! p.s. When I talked to a few students there they said that it was there favorite school out of any other they went to.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 14%
Two or more races 16% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 34%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Black 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AWSNA
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Waldorf
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4160 Lower Kula Road
Kula, HI 96790
Phone: (808) 878-2511

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT