Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Kula, HI
Students enrolled: 235

3 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Haleakala Waldorf School 5

Posted July 29, 2013
- a parent
My child has been at this school for 4 years now and is excelling in this environment. Her teacher really takes the time to know her and the community is very supporting. The new governance model is improving the quality of the curriculum and supporting the teachers to become even better. I am so excited that Haleakala Waldorf School is now starting a high school and my daughter will be able to continue the Waldorf curriculum right through high school.

Haleakala Waldorf School 1

Posted July 01, 2013
- a parent
I think others should know that this is not an academically strong school. If your child is inquisitive, intellectual or an independent thinker this school will stifle their development. The school could improve if it did not try to impose its system and doctrine across the board .. also beware of wealthy parents who have too much influence in school decisions including which teachers stay or go seemingly at a whim..I think the new academic leadership team has destabilized the school and alienated many. Parents are easily intimidated knowing that if they express concerns their tuition assistance might be cut. Think hard before enrolling your child...


Haleakala Waldorf School 1

Posted June 24, 2013
- a parent
This school is really a sham. It is more of a feel-good New Age entity than true learning facility. The school could improve by stressing learning and life skills for the coming decades rather than spending a lot of time on Hawaiiiiana which is useless..

Haleakala Waldorf School 2

Posted April 10, 2013
- a parent
My child been at the school for 9 years and we have been pretty happy with most aspects. The last two years things have changed - and not for the better. There is a new so-called governance model which strips the teachers of most of their say, and there is a great disconnect between the leadership on the one hand and the teacher-parent-children body on the other. I am no longer comfortable with the direction this school is headed.

Haleakala Waldorf School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
It is a profound school that touches the heart and the soul. The teachers are knowledgeable and caring. The children get nurtured and the learning is very deep.


Haleakala Waldorf School 5

Posted June 11, 2009
- a parent
This school offers everything that a parent would want for their kids -- safe and nurturing environment, truly caring administration and staff, teaching staff that live and breathe for their students, an involved community with like minds and goals -- I could go on and on. Children here are cherished, and their childhood is protected so that they need not be rushed into growing up. At the end of their 8 or more year journey at Haleakala they are transformed into WHOLE individuals with the intellect to succeed in a complex world, the empathy and social skills to navigate the perils of high school with confidence, and the skills to create beauty around them which is the ultimate ego boost for their self esteem. Our children are SOOOO happy here. What else do you want for your children?

Haleakala Waldorf School 0
no rating

Posted April 22, 2009
- a parent
we have been at this school for 10 years with both our girls starting in pre k. Love everything about this school. Wonderful teachers and a great spiritual and academic environment. Excellent whole education.

Haleakala Waldorf School 5

Posted February 23, 2007
- a parent
I just think Haleakala Waldorf school is one of the greatest schools alive. The teachers are amazing and the students learn quickly. I think it is far better than any other school i have looked for. If i had to choose a school right on the spot the first thing that would come to mind would be the Haleakala Waldorf school. Great Thanks! p.s. When I talked to a few students there they said that it was there favorite school out of any other they went to.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Haleakala Waldorf School
4160 Lower Kula Road, Kula, HI  96790
(808) 878-2511
Last modified Haleakala Waldorf School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Haleakala Waldorf School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top