Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mililani Ike Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2007

My child has attended Ike last year and overall, I was not happy with that school in general. First of all the class sizes were outrageous. There was not interaction between the teacher and parents. My child also had a total of three different teachers while attending 3rd grade. In the third year of the schools operation, there were not enough classrooms to accomodate all the student. That meant some students had to in portables while others occupied high tech class rooms. Overall that school is to over populated and the students are being deprived of deserved attention by the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

We have been disappointed in the environment since our son started K+. Now,in 2nd grade, no homework routine, the teacher seems very disorganized with regards to the daily classroom activities and nightly homestudies.My child is also enrolled into the 'Guided Reading Program' in which he hasn't been seen in 3 weeks. All of which causes multiple phone calls to the school to discuss.There are more Teacher Workdays than Holidays. Principal and Staff are focused on 'The Numbers and accreditation' than the child.Extraordinary no. of children who go to school there but don't live in the district. The Faculty and other 'local' families are not friendly nor do they go out of their way to try to be. Being a Military Family we were also looking for the 'best' but have been very disappointed in this school and surrounding Mililani Ike Community w/regards to how Military Families and Military Children are treated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2007

Overall I think 'Ike is a good school as far as Hawaii public schools go. However I am concerned with the mathmatics ciriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2007

There is no question that Mililani 'Ike is one of the state's best schools. Mililani 'Ike is a great school because my children have received a rich and rigorous education from caring and compassionate teachers. All of the teachers, counselors, and even the office and cafeteria staff are nice and will go out of their way to help you. The principal is also a great leader who has won multiple awards and moved his school as a foremost state leader. I also am impressed by the number of teachers who earn awards at the school. Talking about awards, I am also very happy that the school received a full 6 year accreditation without a review! In addition, my child has thoroughly enjoyed the extra curricular activities such as track and cross country. Beyond athletics, the school provides video, flag, and an orchestra that you can't believe. Mililani 'Ike is truly a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

I am disappointed that one parent's concern can lower the parent's rating of Mililani 'Ike. I believe that Mililani 'Ike is an excellent school because the school focuses on the Hawaii Standards versus old...traditional...outdated textbooks or reading basals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

There is no question that Mililani 'Ike is an excellent school. The school just received a 6 year accreditation (without review) and so many of the teachers and principal have earned awards for their leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

My child has been attending Mililani 'Ike for since it opened 4 years ago and I am so happy that such an excellence school can exist. Everything from the teachers to the principal are barnone and it is obvious that the school has become one of the states best performing schools. Beyond winning multiple awards for excellence, the school has always been approachable and positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

Ike compares to the best private schools in Hawaii. I am so pleased with the school and the emphasis on a quality education. What makes this school special is the pride in this school. The principal, teachers, staff, students and parents. Parent involvement is remarkable!! Mr. Nakasato the principal has put together the finest staff and encourages all to be a part of of the education process and this great school. This is a wonderful school that anyone would be proud to be a part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Well, I must say that this school is one of the best I have seen. The staff is great. One downfall that I do Not like is how the kids have to be too independent. They are strict on being on time. I mean, like one min after that bell, your kindergartner has to get a late pass! Even if u walk them to class. Sorry I think that's ridiculous, hes 5 and they are usually late because of the working parent. If you are moving from the mainland, this school is a little advanced in reading. We moved here from NC, where my son had already finished kindergarten and was not yet reading in his old school, and was very out of place when we got here. Very discouraging for a child who is normally very eager to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

Brand new school so no test scores are out there but the Mililani schools are by far the top rated and Ike looks like it will follow that pattern. The staff and kids take a lot of pride being part of the school. I can't think of a single downside unless you are looking for a more ethnically diverse school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 65% 34%
White 11% 14%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 10% 34%
Two or more races 7% 8%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Black 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 4%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

951330 Lehiwa Dr
Mililani, HI 96789
Phone: (808) 626-2980

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT