Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 87 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pearl City Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2016
- a community member
The teachers at Pearl City Elementary really care about their students. They strive to foster the whole child. The school provides free tutoring during all breaks and many extra curricular activities.

Pearl City Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
My kids have been here since kindergarten and they love it! We have had great teachers every year and they are above grade level. We are sad to move this year.


Pearl City Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
I believe he was a support staff that works with children with special needs. Thank you for your help!

Pearl City Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
There are notes around campus that share the teacher's background and schooling. Very proud of their background to share with parents and their students.

Pearl City Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Again, staff members made my husband and I fee at ease. I honestly felt my worries were quelled after having a meeting with their support staff member. He was very professional and seemed to know his stuff relating to children with special needs.


Pearl City Elementary School 4

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Excellent staff to assist me all of my questions and concerns. Made my husband and I relax after hearing stories about their principal.

Pearl City Elementary School 1

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
This school is soooo slow at doing anything. Their website is NOT updated on time, they do not have help for student (i.e. tutoring) for K-1, I had to hire a tutor because my child was not getting the attention needed and there is very little or delayed communication from the teacher to the parents (i.e. in class performance & grades on their tests, we don't see that until the following week). I do not know about you but my child gets rewarded for having a good week and getting 100% on his tests, but what kind of reward is it when it is not until the following week? There are simple ways to solve the schools short comings but it is if they truly want to; 1. Update and continuously update your website (i.e. calendar, teacher lists, events). 2. Have an online classroom for parents to look at to make sure their child is doing the homework and has their daily/weekly progress reports (FOR ALL GRADES!). This would alleviate sooo much miscommunication between teacher and parents. (i.e. homework online used for online access to homework assignments, study materials and lesson notes and a parent portal that provides parents access to student attendance, progress reports, and report cards).

Pearl City Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
A+ staff. They do an outstanding job with very little and they do not get enough credit.


Pearl City Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
Full of excuses as to why they don't understand why some of their students just don't get it. I am a parent and you "should" have a degree in teaching and I know why they don't get it. They need to get out of the classroom to learn. Common core is not an excuse to take your students outside to teach them about science or collect stuff for math. I made a hop-scotch for my child's sight words to learn. Teachers are lazy and just want to get paid for nothing.

Pearl City Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
So the school finally got an online classroom and it is great if it was setup for individual students. But it is defaulted to the weekly homework. My child comes home with additional work that is not on there and is suppose to do it. That just tells me that it is the lazy man's online classroom.

Nearby schools

Pearl City Elementary School
1090 Waimano Home Rd, Pearl City, HI  96782
(808) 453-6455
Last modified Pearl City Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top