Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Iliahi Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2011

Iliahi from my personal experience is one of the better schools that I know of. My son atends there and is involved with the Ukulele ensemble and recently returrned from a Waikiki Tour along with the Wahiawa Middle Shcool Jazz Band and they were fantastic!!. The staff puts their heart into the childrens development whether in core education and the arts. I would recommend if ever you move to Wahiawa and are in the neighbohood, have your sons or daughters attend Iliahi Elementary. You and your child will be in for a good expereince.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2011

good school, plenty homework for the kids... be prepared! Overall, excellent school for children. Probably one of the better ones in central oahu
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2009

Iliah was a very great school for me! We had great Staff and Teachers! I wished that I would not left the school for middle school....
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2008

This school is not all that it is cracked up to be. The teachers are wonderful but the Principal has got to go. According to the state ranking system Iliahi used to be in the Top ten before this Principal came along. Every year that he has been there it has dropped significantly. They are now #100 out of 175 schools. Yes they are the best School in Wahiawa but that doesn't say much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2007

I have sent three children through Iliahi. It is a great school academically and also for overall character building. The teachers genuinely care about the children, they are hardworking and dedicated. Most teachers have been there for years! This is a testimony of their love for the school and community and above all, the children. Iliahi also has awesome parent support. This is the best school in Wahiawa.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2004

As a proud alumni of Iliahi Elementary School, I know firsthand the benefit of being part of the smallest and best school in Wahiawa. I'm looking forward to enrolling my son in kindergarden next year.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 17, 2004

I rate this school the best school in Wahiawa. It has great students and staff. I really like that school. I wish I did not have to leave to go to middle school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 17, 2004

This is a great School, My son has really succeeded with this school. The teachers and staff don't just teach the child they really truly care for them and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2003

I rate this school an A. My child has succeeded so much due to the great teachers that he's had in the past..And the overall school faculty.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Hawaii used the Hawaii State Assessment (HSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in reading and math, and grade 10 in biology. The HSA is a standards-based test that measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Hawaii. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Hawaii Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 41% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 30% 34%
Two or more races 12% 8%
Hispanic 9% 6%
White 6% 14%
Black 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2035 California Ave
Wahiawa, HI 96786
Phone: (808) 622-6411

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT