Advertisement
Advertisement

Lanakila Baptist Elementary School

Private | K-6 | 60 students

Over 40 years of service to the surrounding communities!
 
 

 

Living in Waipahu

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $403,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 23, 2013

We were looking for a safe, structured, family-oriented school that focused on academics with a strong and diverse curriculum as well as one that would help us incorporate Christianity into our son's life. A school with academic excellence that would also strengthen his morals, values and character. We've found it here at LBES. We feared there would be such a big adjustment from his preschool, with 4 times as many students. But he quickly adapted and looks forward to school everyday. When asked how he likes his new school, his reply, "I love my new school! Can I stay at Lanakila til college?" What more can we ask for? He's happy, thriving and amazing us everyday with all that he is learning not just core subjects but Art, Music, Computer & Japanese in Kindergarten! We love the personal attention he gets with the small class size and the special relationship we've already formed with other parents and his Teacher and Principal. They genuinely care about each and every student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

We chose this school over several larger and more expensive schools mainly because of its small class sizes, fabulous curriculum and teachers. The building itself is old but well cared for and clean. We love that all teachers take the time to personally know both parents and children names even if they are not teaching that child. The love and genuine care for your child's education is abundantly clear from day one. I have had both my boys at Lanakila since Kindergarten and we are very pleased as they both have tested EXCEPTIONALLY well on SATS. They introduce this at Kidnergarten so your child is well prepared for testing on a national level from a young age. I have recommended this school to many friends and they too are happy with the academics and care this school supplies. For a small school they sure do offer alot of after school activiites such as Basketball, Piano, Computer and Tempo Karate, along with great after school care..... Way to go Lanakila Warriors!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

This is my son's second year at Lanakila Baptist. He started in Kindergarten. It is a small Christian School, which we like. I would have to say that my son is thriving in his studies. I feel the teacher-to-student ratio helps a great deal. He loves going to school and gets very excited with the subjects being taught. He comes home excited to share with us about his day in school; and assignments to be completed. The staffs are very caring. The parents are also very friendly. If you are looking for a small Christian School with caring staffs, where your child will thrive. This school is a perfect fit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2011

This a sweet and loving school. The principle and staff love each child and make it their mission to help each child get a great education. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2011

Lanakila Baptist is a great school to place your child in. If you are looking for a low student to teacher ratio and small school atmosphere you will find it here. At Lanakila the teachers really care about the students and the curriculum is great. According to the Standford Achievement Tests. Lanakila Baptist Schools scored 1 to 2 years above their grade level. I was amazed. When I placed my child in this school I couldn't believe that the Kindergarteners were writing in cursive and reading. The Mathematics curriculum is challenging and fun and my third grader came home with what looked to me like elementary algebra. That right there showed me the educational pace that has been set. Sincerely, Very Pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2004

Our son attends this school (2nd grade) and we are very impressed with the school overall. The class sizes are small...2nd grade is the biggest class with 22 students. The teachers know all of the children in the school and they genuinely care for them. The school uses the ABeka curriculum and has very high standards for academics and behavior. The emphasis on Christian character is strong and exemplary. Students are expected to memorize scripture and apply it to their school experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 7:30 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Maria S. Pauley
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • A Beka Curriculum
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Junior Police Officers
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Lanakila Baptist Elementary School is a private school that is committed to giving your children an excellent Christian education founded on the absolute values from the Word of God. Respect, Responsibility, Citizenship, Trustworthiness, Caring, and Fairness are our core values and they are integrated here at L.B.E.S. to prepare students for a life that will flourish. The A Beka curriculum is a Christian based curriculum that we use to educate our students. Please schedule a tour @ 8086770731
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
60
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
75

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Hawaii
Grand Canyon University
Chaminade
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

94-1250 Waipahu Street
Waipahu, HI 96797
Website: Click here
Phone: (808) 677-0731

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Joseph School
Waipahu, HI






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT