Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Summerwind Math & Science

Public | PK-5 | 404 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 6, 2014

Our son has attended Summerwind for 3 years and our daughter will start in the fall. The teachers are great and there are a lot of opportunities for parents and students to get involved. We highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2013

My daughter started kindergarten this year. We live within the boundary of another school, so we got into Summerwind by lottery. When I visited the school, the two teachers I spoke to both indicated that they plan to stay at the school long-term and commented that they like the new principal (who is one of only two men on campus!). So far, I'm very pleased with Summerwind. The communication from the school is good--we get a monthly newsletter from the principal as well as the classroom teacher. My daughter already knew how to read heading into kindergarten, and her teacher is doing a wonderful job of keeping her challenged. We had a recent issue with a child mistreating our daughter, and the staff has been very helpful in dealing with the situation. Summerwind offers several "extras" that I like--the principal was very informative about the new Common Core standards at a parent night, they hosted a math night, they have lunchtime running and reading clubs, career-day type assemblies, plus after-school activities like chess club and the jumprope club. My daughter is happy and I feel like she's getting a great education--what more could I ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2013

Summerwind works to keep parents involved and informed. I like to keep involved in education process of my grand child and they have made it easy for me to keep informed. Thank you Summerwind staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2013

We have had mostly positive experiences with Summerwind. In general the teachers are likeable, capable, caring individuals. The kindergarten teachers are the best there is. IEP for my son's speech were non intimidating and helpful. PTO does a good job supporting the school programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2011

The principal and many teachers there only care about standardized test scores and nothing else. This place is a glorified day care center. You could count the number of parents attending a PTA meeting on one hand...sometimes one finger. Thank you Summerwind, for showing me what a school shouldnt be. My children are now elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

When I transfered away from this school I thought this school was okay. the school I transfered to wasn't as good. there are good things at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

My twins attended Kindergarten at Summerwind and it was an amazing year. They had a wonderful teacher who loved them and much as they loved her. They attended a different elementary school farther out in Meridian, for the first two weeks of 1st grade, because we were going to move. It was a huge let down compared Summerwind. One of the main reasons we ended up not moving was because I strongly disliked the school. We are at Summerwind again and my twins couldn't be happier. Their teacher provided a fun, yet structured and challenging learning environment for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

We have been at Summerwind for several years, We loved Mrs. Meyer, she was always involved with the children and had a loving caring attitude. Sadly she left last year. The new principal is more concerned with policy than she is children and actual people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2009

Wonderful teachers very involved principal Great support staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2005

My child attended Summerwind and as a first grader he loved it. I was very impressed with the quality of teachers and how he was placed in his class. The principal was very warm and thought first about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2005

This is the ultimate best school in Idaho and the principal, Mrs. Meyer, is so helpful and involved with the kids! The community is great and I'm sorry we had to move to another state. Another plus is this is the home of the Summerwind Skippers...national jumprope team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2003

The principal is wonderful and knowledgeable. We love Summerwind and its wonderful staff. we are moving and will buy a house within it's boudaries because we like it so much. They are focusing on each child individualy trying to improve each one's scores and reading skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 73% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 83% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 90% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 80% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students79%
Female85%
Male73%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students91%
Female97%
Male84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female91%
Male91%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students86%
Female79%
Male91%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Special education40%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students86%
Female76%
Male94%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Special education30%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female83%
Male97%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Special education40%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students77%
Female87%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students58%
Female43%
Male68%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female78%
Male84%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students60%
Female52%
Male65%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 78%
Hispanic 11% 16%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Black 2% 1%
Asian 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3675 North Jullion Way
Boise, ID 83704
Phone: (208) 375-0210

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





DaVinci Charter School
Garden City, ID



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT