Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Marks Elementary School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Boise

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $113,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

What an amazing school. Happy kids means happy Dad. The community of St Marks has opened the door to excellence in education for my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

A wonderful school. Great scores, and faith and a great community. Lots of volunteer opportunities for families and lots of opportunities for kids to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

My children attended this school in the 2009-2010 school year. This is a wonderful Catholic school. It was a privilege to be a part of the St. Mark's family and the church community. The teachers are great, and the principal is awesome! My kids received an outstanding education here, and there is no comparison. We had to move back to California due to a family illness, otherwise we would have stayed at this school. No question about it. If you are looking for a quality CATHOLIC education, look no further than St. Mark's School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2008

We have had our children at St. Mark's School since 1st grade. They have excelled as students at St. Mark's in both academics and religious teachings. They have a well rounded education system that promotes the child's desire to learn and grow in knowledge. There are many extracurricular activites for children to be involved in, if the child and parents so desire, that lead the children to grow in their faith, character and physical fitness. There is an emphasis on stewardship and community service. We highly recommend St. Mark's School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

The comments of the parent of April 16, 2007 are very nearly dead on. This school promotes Catholic values and a family environment but not once have we ever felt welcome. The few times we have had an issue with our child we are convinced that he/she is the only child to have acted up yet 5 or more kids need to be kept apart in the classroom. To their credit they have met with us anytime we had a concern however the follow through/plans were non-existent. I will disagree partly with the academics standards however as our children have gone to both public and private and as active parents we see a difference. If it were not for the fact that politically you have to go to a parochial elementary to get to the only private High School, Bishop Kelly we would have a problem justifying staying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2007

The academics are similar to the public schools, however, classrooms are overcrowded. Somewhat poor extracurricular activities due to resources. High parent involvement. No programs for accelerated students. Found administration to be unresponsive to problems. Not good at adapting for new programs, or evaluating teacher performance. Advertise a family environment, but don't support families when their child needs academic or emotional attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2004

We have been very pleased with the staff and curriculum of St. Mark's. Our son attended 6th,7th and is currently finishing 8th grade at St. Mark's School in Boise,ID. We highly recommend this school for a positive, progressive education to prepare students for their high school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 78%
Hispanic 7% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Black 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Boise
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7503 West Northview Street
Boise, ID 83704
Phone: (208) 375-6654

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT