Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lighthouse Christian Academy

Private | K-8 | 62 students

We are best known for hands-on curriculum.

 
 

Living in Coeur d'Alene

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $164,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2012

I love the sincerity of the staff in this school. They are truly there because they feel God has called them to be there and to give their best. The students are loving and kind as a result of the environments promoted in their homes and that attitudes encouraged at school. The academics are thorough and well thought-out over the life of the school. I'm not super intersted in my child achieving leaps and bounds above others but want a solid educational foundation and I feel that Lighthouse provides that. I really appreciate that this school feels like a large family walking together in their faith and the parental involvement is requested and integral to the success of this school. I want my children spending their educational hours in a setting that promotes all that we value at home and I feel that I have found that at Lighthouse. It is worth a visit to decide if the fit is a good one for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2012

I am an old gradurate of Lighthouse and it gave me such a great background to live by. It is an amazing school that has absolutly wonderful teachers and is such a great place.


Posted February 23, 2012

If you want to have your child to be educated at a high academic level and have their self esteem built at the same time, then this is the school for you. This school exceeds all of my expectations. The hands on learning approach helps children see the real results, the dots connect and it is a solid connection. My children have come from this school knowing that they are equipped and fully able to tackle high school and life beyond. They have self esteem and confidence. They do the nationwide testing (Iowa Basics) and the average student is placed in the 90th percentile! My children have learned to be organized, communicate well and to have self confidence! A child going to this school will thrive. This is the whole package, your child will learn and in the way that he/she is taught will lead to lifelong growth. It is a positive place with positive peer pressure, the friends made here are life long and the teachers are very experienced. When you decide to tour this school, ask the principle about the past alumni and the doors that have been opened to them due to the foundation that they learned at Lighthouse Christian Academy. It is astounding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2012

I first learned about this school from a very enthusiastic parent that was literally gushing about how much she (and her kids) loved Lighthouse. Now that two of our children attend, I can echo the excitement that was first shared with me. My husband and I feel so blessed to know that our children are being educated not only in a creative environment but also in a loving one. The support and dedication offered by the staff is priceless, we feel very blessed to have our kids attend here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2012

My child has been at lighthouse for two years now. He has advanced dramatically both spiritually and educationally. I would recommend lighthouse for any parent looking for a great school that well represents Christ!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2012

I feel truly blessed to have my daughter at this school. She LOVES going to school every day and always has such good things to say about her teachers, other students, etc. She has attended another private school as well as a public school in the past....she has never been happier since attending Lighthouse. Her teachers are absolutely precious - they are truly gifted. I HIGHLY recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2012

This school is a hidden treasure in our town! Tucked into a residential neighborhood, it is a bit hard to find, yet worth the hunt. Our children have attended the school for the last 4 years. The teachers are remarkable; patient, kind, nurturing and fun. The learning style is definitely hands on, and you can often find classes playing tug of war to observe gravitational pull in outer space, classes playing Jeopardy in order to learn History dates, or classes writing and acting out their own plays. It is a creative, academic delight. The students are in classrooms, yet the vibe of the school is that of an old fashioned one room schoolhouse. The eighth graders are gentle and helpful with the younger students, and the little guys just admire and look forward to seeing their "big" friends at recess and activities. The Christian education is truly all- encompassing, and Christ is at the forefront of each and every subject. The children are learning the values we teach at home for 8 hours a day and we are so content with our school choice. Please do not hesitate to find the right school for your child, where they will, above all be valued and nurtured. LCA is that place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2012

Three of our four children have graduated from Lighthouse Christian Academy. The school has a welcoming, family atmosphere, challenging academics, and teachers who mentor students actively. The close-knit nature of the school allows all ages of children to interact with each other, fostering trust in the youngest and responsibility in the oldest. Our children came out of 8th grade confident in themselves, having developed strong skills in public speaking and presentation, creative problem solving, leadership, and language arts. The integration of biblical principals with the curriculum and the genuine demonstration of Christian faith by their teachers was key in helping my kids exercise their faith in all parts of their life--not just a "Sunday" faith, but an everyday one. The building the school operates in is very casual and not at all fancy, and those who are looking for flashy facilities might be put off by its unconventional setting; I would encourage visitors to look to what really matters--the quality of the staff, the mission of the organization, and the quality of Lighthouse graduates as a measure of it's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2008

This school has been the best thing for our daughter. The hands on learning environment and family atmosphere are just what she needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2008

I just love the school's philosophy in their 'hands-on' approach! I have 2 children at the school and they both learn concepts, in different ways. At LCA, they make sure that every child learns in his/her own unique mindset ,therefore no child is left lagging behind as they learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2008

The small class size and family atmosphere is a great feeling for all of the children. Each and every one of them is noticed and treasured.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2008

Lighthouse has been the greatest thing to happen for my kids. I suspect that in a public school setting they would have been labeled 'troublemakers'. Instead they were challenged and kept busy. All that and a Christian worldview and truly interacting with their faith throughout their academics.!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2008

This school is the best thing around for 'out of the box' learning. The staff are very loving and capable, and everyone there fosters a love for learning and for Jesus. Small class size and affordable tuition contribute to the sucess of the school. I love teaching there and feel like we are a big family.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 22, 2008

Progressive, smaller class sizes & Christian oriented studies are just a few of the things that make this school Great! Our son loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 80%
Hispanic 5% 15%
Two or more races 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 3%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Black 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Catherine Scheiber
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Creative writing

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
More from this school
  • Lighthouse Christian Academy opened in the fall of 1987 in an effort to provide a loving Christian environment and challenging curriculum for gifted students. Our founder, Colleen Fouché, believed that children learn more effectively with creative hands-on curriculum and small class sizes. Today, we teach students in the Pre-K through 8th grades using curriculum, gathered from many sources, specifically chosen to integrate faith with education and offer challenging, cross-discipline learning. Additionally, we limit the number of students in a classroom to 18. Lighthouse has a homeschooling heritage, having been originally formed by a small group of homeschooling families who felt they could work better together than alone. This heritage is evident today in the family-friendly atmosphere, the creative can-do attitude of the faculty and staff, and the expectation of active parent involvement at Lighthouse.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Coeur d'Alene Charter Academy
North Idaho Christian School
Any one of three area public high schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

720 East Poplar Street
Coeur d'Alene, ID 83815
Website: Click here
Phone: (208) 667-1655

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bryan Elementary School
Coeur D Alene, ID


Borah Elementary School
Coeur D Alene, ID


Lake City Jr Academy
Coeur d'Alene, ID


Winton Elementary School
Coeur D Alene, ID


Sorensen Elementary School
Coeur D Alene, ID


Fernan Elementary School
Coeur D'alene, ID


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT